Outdoor adventures made easier for you at Go Wild!
- Contact information
- For registration questions, contact:
- Customer Service
Snowmobile Trail Pass
2014 Wisconsin Act 142, effective July 1, 2015, expanded the snowmobile trail pass requirement to include snowmobiles registered in Wisconsin and increased the nonresident snowmobile trail pass fee. Beginning with the 2015-16 snow season, all snowmobiles operating on a Wisconsin snowmobile trail or corridor must display a valid snowmobile trail pass whether registered in Wisconsin or another state.
The following snowmobiles are exempt from displaying a trail pass:
- a snowmobile owned by the U.S., another state or political subdivision thereof if the owner's name is displayed on the cowling.
- a snowmobile that is present in this state for a period not to exceed 15 days provided it is used exclusively as part of an advertisement being used for the manufacturer of the snowmobile.
- a snowmobile that is 35 years or older and displays antique registration.
The snowmobile trail pass is:
- an annual pass valid until June 30 each year.
- separate from snowmobile registration.
- a 3” x 3” decal required to be permanently affixed to the bottom center portion of the snowmobile windshield.
- not required to operate on private property, on a snow route, or on frozen water if not on a marked corridor.
Snowmobile trail pass types, fees and how to order
The snowmobile trail pass fee is dependent upon whether the snowmobile for which you are purchasing the trail pass is registered in Wisconsin and whether the owner of that snowmobile is a member of a snowmobile club and the Association of Wisconsin Snowmobile Clubs (AWSC). Trail pass fees are non-refundable. You will need your Wisconsin registration number or, for a nonresident snowmobile trail pass, the make and model.
- Wisconsin snowmobile trail pass for club members ($10) – for a snowmobile registered in Wisconsin and owned by a person who is both a member of a snowmobile club and a member of AWSC. Passes may be ordered through the AWSC website or their office in DeForest. Trail passes are delivered by US mail. A temporary trail use receipt is issued to operate legally on snowmobile trails. Carry the receipt with you until your pass is delivered by US mail and affixed to your snowmobile's windshield. Please visit www.awsc.org for more details.
- Wisconsin snowmobile trail pass ($30) – for a snowmobile registered in Wisconsin. Available online, or at any DNR sales agent. All Wisconsin snowmobile trail passes will be shipped by US Mail within 2 business days to the address specified. A temporary trail use receipt is issued to operate legally on snowmobile trails. Carry the receipt with you until your pass is delivered by the US mail and affixed to your snowmobile's windshield.
- Nonresident snowmobile trail pass ($50) – for a snowmobile registered in or in the process of being registered in another state, province or country. Available online, or at sales agent. All Wisconsin snowmobile trail passes will be shipped by US Mail within 2 business days to the address specified. A temporary trail use receipt is issued to operate legally on snowmobile trails. Carry the receipt with you until your pass is delivered by the U.S. Mail and affixed to your snowmobile’s windshield.
Note: Snowmobile trail pass fees are non-refundable. The department will not honor refund requests if the snowmobile’s owner purchases a full priced snowmobile trail pass and later purchases a club member pass at the discounted rate.
Owners of snowmobiles 35 years or older and registered as antiques are no longer required to display a trail pass while operating on a public snowmobile corridor. To legally operate the antique snowmobile registration decal must be prominently displayed on both sides of the cowling.
All snowmobiles with a Wisconsin commercial dealer registration require the dealer purchase and display a valid Wisconsin snowmobile trail pass. Dealers registered in another state are required to purchase and display a nonresident snowmobile trail pass. Commercial dealers may affix the annual trail pass and dealer registration to a plate that is a removable and temporary but firmly mounted to the snowmobile.
How is snowmobile trail pass revenue used?
The revenue generated from snowmobile trail pass sales directly benefits snowmobiling in Wisconsin by increasing the snowmobile segregated fund, which is used to pay for maintenance and development of snowmobile trails. The discounted club member pass provides incentive for membership in local snowmobile clubs, whose members provide the majority of the labor and equipment used to maintain the snowmobile trails.
Questions on snowmobile trail passes?
For more information on the nonresident or Wisconsin snowmobile trail passes sold by WDNR, contact our Call Center staff at
1-888-936-7463, available 7 days per week, 7 am – 10 pm.
For more information on the discounted club member snowmobile trail passes please visit www.awsc.org