LRP - Licenses

LRP - Regulations

LRP - Permits

Recreation - Statewide

Recreation - Trapping

Recreation - Fishing

Recreation - Hunting

Env. Protection - Management

Env. Protection - Emergency

Env. Protection - Resources

To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please enter your contact information below.

a natural area by name.
a natural area by county.
Explore outdoors
and find places to go.
Use our interactive map
to find natural areas.
and help care for SNAs.
Contact information
For information on State Natural Areas, contact:
Thomas Meyer
Natural areas conservation biologist

Natural Areas Preservation Council

In 1951, the state legislature established the State Board for the Preservation of Scientific Areas. This official body, now called the Natural Areas Preservation Council (NAPC) advises the department's State Natural Areas Program on issues relating to the establishment, protection and management of SNAs. It is composed of 11 members with backgrounds in conservation biology, botany, zoology, ecology and geology. The laws establishing the council and their official duties are found in Chapter 15.347(4) Wis. Stats.[exit DNR] and Chapter 23.26.[exit DNR]

Baraboo River Floodplain Forest SNA, photo by Thomas A. Meyer
Council members

Councilors are appointed for 3-year terms by their respective appointing institutions.

Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts and Letters

Eric M. Anderson (Chair)
Emeritus Professor of Wildlife Ecology
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Stevens Point, WI

Marcia Bjornerud
Walter Schober Professor of Environmental Studies and Professor of Geology
Lawrence University
Appleton, WI

Thomas L. Eddy
Adjunct Professor of Biology
Marian University and Ripon College
Green Lake, WI

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources

Drew Feldkirchner (Secretary)
Bureau of Natural Heritage Conservation
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
Madison, WI

Craig Thompson
Program Integration Section
Bureau of Natural Heritage Conservation
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
La Crosse, WI

Milwaukee Public Museum

Christopher Tyrell
Research Curator
Milwaukee Public Museum
Milwaukee, WI

Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Kevin Anderson
Science Education Consultant
Department of Public Instruction
Madison, WI

University of Wisconsin System

Kenneth R. Bradbury
Director and State Geologist
Wisconsin Geological and Natural History Survey
Madison, WI

Sharon L. Dunwoody (Vice Chair)
Professor Emerita
Department of Journalism and Mass Communication
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Madison, WI

David Mladenoff
Professor of Forest Ecology
Department of Forest and Wildlife Ecology
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Madison, WI



Evelyn A. Howell
Professor of Landscape Architecture
Department of Landscape Architecture
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Madison, WI

Joy B. Zedler
Aldo Leopold Professor of Restoration Ecology
Department of Botany and Arboretum
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Madison, WI

NAPC documents
Mission and core values
Guidelines for state natural areas
Meeting minutes

Older meeting minutes available upon request.

Last revised: Tuesday November 12 2019