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LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

Hook and line, spearing, bow fishing (bow and arrow, crosshow), minnow trapping
or taking fish by hand requires a fishing license, unless the person is a resident and otherwise
exempted from purchasing a license (i.e., under 16 years old or residents born before 1/1/27).
(Note: Nonresidents under the age of 16 do not need a license to fish with hook and line, but do
need a license to spear, net, trap, or take fish by hand. Nonresidents under the age of 18 who
have a parent that is a Wisconsin resident may obtain a fishing license at the resident fee).

Netting. No fishing license is required for residents taking minnows, smelt or rough fish with a
dip net, landing net or minnow seine. All nonresidents, regardless of age, are required to have a
Wisconsin nonresident fishing license for harvesting smelt or taking rough fish or minnows with
dip nets, landing nets, seines, or minnow traps.

Turtles. A fishing, small game, sports, patron or resident setline, set/bank pole or commercial
Mississippi River license is required for taking turtles, except for residents who are exempt from
purchasing a license. Nonresidents of any age need to have a license, unless under age 16 and
only taking turtles by hook and line.

Crayfish and Frogs. A fishing, small game, sports, or patron license is required to take cray-
fish, except for residents who are exempt from purchasing a fishing license. Sales of crayfish or
frogs for fish bait requires a bait dealers license. Nonresidents may not sell crayfish or frogs for
fishing bait in Wisconsin. Frogs may be taken and possessed without a license.

Leeches and aquatic insects. No license is required except a DNR permit may be required for
dredging depending on the method, location, and amount of bottom material disturbed. Search
for“water management specialist”at dnr.wi.gov for additional information.

Minnow harvest and sales. A wild bait harvest permit is required to harvest minnows and
transport them away from any water of the state live. A bait dealer license is required to sell min-
nows or to possess over 600 minnows unless the person is exempted as a resident under 16 years
of age who can sell less than $500 annually and can have up to 5000 of each species. Because of
the VHS fish virus, minnows may not be collected in VHS-affected waters and minnows from other
locations must be health certified before sale. Non-residents may not sell minnows for fishing
bait. Check the DNR web site for further details about bait harvest and sales regulations.

Rough fish sales. Rough fish may only be sold to the final consumer unless the seller is licensed
as a wholesale fish dealer or commercial fisherman. Netted suckers taken with dipnets, landing
nets or seines may not be sold. Non-residents may not sell smelt or minnows (including suckers).

What is a minnow or rough fish? By Wisconsin law, minnows include suckers, mudminnow,
madtoms, stonecat, killifish, stickleback, trout perch, darters, sculpins, and all species in the
minnow family (except goldfish and carp). Rough fish include suckers not listed as threatened
or endangered, common carp, Asian carp (bighead, black, silver and grass), goldfish, redhorse,
freshwater drum, burbot, bowfin, gar, buffalo, lamprey, alewife, gizzard shad, smelt, mooneye,
and carpsuckers.
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GENERAL RESTRICTIONS
YOU MAY NOT:

& transport water in boats, vehicles, trailers, containers, fishing equipment, or gear
of any type when leaving any state waters, banks or shores, or entering Wisconsin over
land for use on any water of this state. This does not apply to any drinking water or up to
2 gallons of water being used to hold minnows purchased from a Wisconsin bait dealer
or registered fish farm, which can be legally transported.

® transport or operate any vehicle, boat, trailer, or object of any kind on any public
roadway with any aquatic plants or animals attached. Inmediately after leaving any
waterbody and before leaving any landing or associated parking area, you must remove
all attached aquatic plants or animals.

& transport any live fish or live fish eggs away from any state waters. There is an
exception for minnows obtained from a Wisconsin bait dealer or registered fish farm.
These minnows may be transported away live and used again:

« on the same water, or
- on any other waters if not exposed to any lake or river water, and no other
fish were added to their container.

@ use or possess any fish trap or trammel, cast, gill, or hoop net, or any other kind of
fishing net that might take, catch or kill fish except areas where it is specifically autho-

rized. Cast nets are illegal to possess or use on any state water, except for taking suckers
on Wisconsin/lowa boundary waters.

@ possess or control any bow and arrow, spear, atlatl (spear and thrower) or similar
device on or along any water that might be used to take, catch, or kill fish except where
authorized during the specified open season for rough fish.

& use firearms, explosives, air guns, or poisons for disturbing or taking any fish.
& fish with nets, traps, seines, spears (including bow and arrow, crosshow) or by hand

in refuges, other closed areas or trout streams (except it is legal to take rough fish by
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hand in a trout stream). Rough fish may be taken by hand year-round or by hand-held
spear June 1to August 31 where spearing is allowed within 200 feet of a fishway, lock
or dam. Note: An atlatl (spear and thrower) does not meet the definition of a hand-held
spear and would not be allowed.

@ possess a hand-held spear, or other spear, within 200 feet of a dam, lock or fishway
on any boundary waters.

# fish with hook and line from a boat while in possession of a dip net.

@ leave any dip net or seine unattended within 25’ of the edge of the water.

4 fishin any other manner while operating a dip net or seine .

€ havein possession any threatened or endangered species without a permit from
the department. These include but are not limited to: some species of fish, frogs, mus-
sels, and turtles. See the DNR website, dnr.wi.gov, for more listed species information.

@ cut, use, or maintain an ice hole larger than 12 inches in diameter or square for
the taking of fish in any manner through the ice except taking fish with dip nets or skin
or scuba diving, taking minnows with minnow traps, spearing on Lake Superior, or
sturgeon spearing on Lake Winnebago system waters.

SPEARING RESTRICTIONS
Spearing is defined as fishing with a device consisting of a shaft with an attached sharp,
barbed point or points and includes spears, bow and arrow, crosshow, spear guns, atlatls

and other similar devices.

@ No person shall have under his control any spear or similar device in any enclosure
on the ice or waters of the Embarrass River in Shawano County from the Pella Dam
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downstream; the Wolf River from Shawano Dam downstream to the Fox River and on
the ice of the Fox River from Johnson Creek in Green Lake County downstream through
Lake Winnebago and all connecting lakes of both streams except when authorized dur-
ing established sturgeon spearing season.

@ Spearing ice hole restriction: No person may cut, use, or maintain an ice hole larger
than 12 inches in diameter or square for the taking of fish in any manner through the
ice except spearing on Lake Superior, skin or scuba diving, or sturgeon spearing on the
Lake Winnebago system.

@ There may be local public safety ordinances that prohibit the use of a bow and
arrow or crosshow in some areas. Please check with your local law enforcement office for
further information.

@ Spearing by methods other than bow and arrow or crosshow is restricted to sunrise
to sunset on all waters, and only during the open season for spearing rough fish on
those waters.

Spearing Bag Limits: There are no bag limits on rough fish, except the limit for suckers is
600.

FISHING WITH BOW AND ARROW or CROSSBOW
YOU MAY NOT:

® Take rough fish with a bow and arrow or crosshow
unless the arrow is equipped with a metal barbed tip that
is attached to the bow with a tethered line that allows for
the retrieval of the arrow and the fish.

@ Release or return any rough fish taken with a bow
and arrow or crosshow, whether dead or alive, to any
waters of the state.
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# Leave any rough fish taken with a bow and arrow or crosshow, whether dead or
alive, on the ice or banks of any waters of the state.

4 Violate local ordinances that prohibit the discharge of bow and arrow or crosshow
within their area of jurisdiction. Check for local ordinances on the use of bow and arrow
or crosshow within city, town, or village limits.
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LEGAL HOURS: On all inland, outlying, and boundary waters with an open season for
spearing rough fish, the taking of rough fish with a bow and arrow or crossbow on that
body of water is allowed at any time of day, including from sunset to sunrise during that
open season. Lights, including laser sights, are legal to use at night for spearing rough
fish with a bow and arrow or crosshow.

Underwater Spear Fishing:

Itis lawful to take the following fish species with the use of spears and spear guns by
skin and scuba diving in all waters where spearing for rough fish is permitted from
sunrise to sunset during the listed spearing seasons: white bass, yellow bass, rock bass,
crappie, bluegill, perch, pumpkinseed (sunfish) and bullheads provided that the season
for these species is also open on the same water. Daily bag limits and length restrictions
also apply.

ROUGH FISH SPEARING SEASONS
(Refer to map on page 7)

It is lawful during specified open seasons for any person to take rough fish by means of
spears, bow and arrow or crosshow, and spear guns and spears while skin and scuba div-
ing, unless otherwise specified, in the inland waters or from the shores of inland waters
excluding trout streams as follows:

Continuous Season: There is a continuous open season for spearing rough fish in all coun-
ties except Ashland, Bayfield, Forest, Iron, Menominee, Oneida, Price, Sawyer and Vilas
counties, and for all Lake Winnebago System waters (see below).

*April 21 to February 1: All Lake Winnebago System waters ( includes Poygan, Win-
neconne, Butte des Morts, and Winnebago and all their tributaries from their mouths
upstream to the first dam including the Fox river from Lake Winnebago upstream to the
dam above Princeton and all its tributaries from their mouths upstream to the first dam;
the Wolf river from its mouth upstream to the dam in the city of Shawano and all its
tributaries from their mouths upstream to the first dam including Cincoe lake, Partridge
Crop lake and Partridge lake in Calumet, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Marquette, Outaga-
mie, Shawano, Waupaca, Waushara and Winnebago counties).
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December 15 to January 31 : Burbot may be speared sunset to sunrise only in the Amni-
con and Nemadiji Rivers and the Black River upstream to the Soo Line Bridge in Douglas
County and the Bad River, Ashland County.

Waters Closed to Spearing: No person shall have in his possession or under his control on
any of the inland waters or shores of inland waters at any time any spear or similar de-
vice that might be used for the purpose of taking, catching or killing fish in the counties
of Ashland (except in the Bad River where burbot may be taken by means of spears from
sunset to sunrise December 15 to January 31 inclusive), Bayfield, Forest, Iron, Menomi-
nee, Oneida, Price, Sawyer and Vilas counties and the Menominee River in Florence and
Marinette counties.

Exception: Saturday nearest May 20 to July 1: Rough fish may be taken with bow
and arrow or crosshow only in Fish Creek Slough (Bayfield Co.) from its mouth
to the junction of North and South Fish Creeks.

SPEARING AND NETTING IN BOUNDARY AND OUTLYING WATERS

Wisconsin/Minnesota and Wisconsin/lowa boundary waters: It is unlawful for any
person to use a spear, bow and arrow, crosshow, atlatl or similar device in any manner at
any time for the purpose of taking, catching or killing any gamefish of any variety, or to
have in possession or under control any fish spear or spring gaff in a fish house (shanty).

Wisconsin/Minnesota boundary waters: Rough fish spearing season: Saturday nearest
April 21 to March 1; Rough fish may be taken by means of spears, bow and arrow, or
crossbow sunrise to sunset only except for bow and arrow and crosshow, which may also
be used on the Wisconsin side of the river from sunset to sunrise.

Wisconsin/lowa boundary waters: Rough fish spearing season: Continuous open season.
Rough fish may be taken by means of spears, bow and arrow, or crossbow sunrise to

sunset only except for bow and arrow and crossbow, which may also be used from sunset
to sunrise. Cast nets no larger than 7 feet in diameter or mesh of more than 1/2” stretch measure
may be used to take suckers only.

Wisconsin/Michigan boundary waters: There is no open season for spearing on the Wisconsin/
Michigan boundary waters.
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Outlying Waters — Lake Superior, Lake Michigan, Green Bay, Sturgeon Bay, Sawyer’s Harbor and
the Fox River from its mouth up to the dam at De Pere:

«+  Itis unlawful to spear any game fish except that white bass, yellow bass, rock bass, panfish
and bullheads may be speared while skin diving or scuba diving during the open season for
rough fish spearing, provided that the season for white bass, yellow bass, rock bass, panfish and
bullheads is also open on the same water.

++  Northern pike may be speared through the ice in Lake Superior.

++ Taking rough fish by bow and arrow or crosshow is also allowed from sunset to sunrise on
outlying waters.

HARVESTING FLATHEAD OR CHANNEL CATFISH
BY BOW AND ARROW, CROSSBOW or BY HAND

Bow or Crosshow. - Channel and flathead catfish can be harvested with a bow or cross-
bow during the open season for spearing rough fish (so in most cases, continuously),
except in waters with an existing season (or fish refuges). Daily bag limit: 5 channel
catfish, 1flathead catfish. In waters with a specific hook and line season or minimum
length limit, those restrictions would apply for bowfishing as well.

By Hand. - Channel and flathead catfish can be harvested by hand from June 1 -
August 31. Gear such as hooks, poles, grapples, gaffes, artificial nests/spawning boxes,
snorkel or SCUBA gear are prohibited — anglers may only use their hands. Daily bag
limit: 5 channel catfish, 1 flathead catfish. In waters with a minimum length limit for
hook and line fishing, that limit would apply for handfishing as well.

Boundary waters. - Channel and flathead catfish may only be taken by bow, crossbow
or by hand in boundary waters within the territory of Wisconsin. For reciprocity, that
means Minnesota, lowa and Michigan licensed anglers could go into Wisconsin waters
and take catfish by these new methods, but Wisconsin anglers could not go into the
other state’s waters and use these methods, even though they can hook and line fish
under the reciprocity rules.

For the application of the catfish rules by specific water, season and length limit, see the
Guide to Wisconsin Hook and Line Fishing Regulations, 2019-2020 .
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NETTING

A Dip Net is a net suspended from a round or square frame but up
to 8 ft. in diameter or square and designed to be raised and lowered
vertically to take rough fish or minnows.

A Landing Net is a net suspended on a frame with an attached handle
that is used to help an angler in landing a fish caught with hook and line.
Landing nets may also be used to take rough fish where authorized to
use dip nets to take rough fish.

A Seine is a net made of circular, square, or long webbing of course
twine fitted with floats on the top and sinkers on the bottom. The
net forms a bag near the center that entraps fish as it is pulled
through the water. Seines may be used to take minnows, white-
fish and cisco, and smelt on some waters.

NETTING RESTRICTIONS
ITIS ILLEGAL:

@ To take any fish, other than smelt, from Lake Superior, its bays and tributaries, the St.
Louis River, and the Montreal River downstream from the Superior Falls dam with traps and
nets.

@ Tohave in possession at any time any kind of net or nets or fish trap except landing net,
minnow seines and traps, whitefish and cisco seines, dip nets (may only be set or used from
sunrise to sunset), crayfish traps and turtle traps in the following counties: Adams, Barron,
Burnett, Calumet, Chippewa, Clark, Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Dunn, Eau Claire, Florence, Fond
du Lac, Forest, Green, Green Lake, lowa, Jackson, Jefferson, Juneau, Lafayette, Langlade,
Lincoln, Marathon, Marquette, Monroe, Oneida, Outagamie, Polk, Portage, Price, Richland,
Rock, Rusk, Sauk, Sawyer, Shawano, Taylor, Vilas, Walworth, Washburn, Washington, Wauke-
sha, Waupaca, Waushara, Winnebago, and Wood or to have in possession or under control
any basket traps (slat nets), trammel nets, or wooden traps in Buffalo, Burnett, La Crosse,
Pepin, Pierce, Polk, St. Croix, Trempealeau and Vernon (Minnesota boundary waters).

@ to take rough fish by any method from September 15 through December 31 in Lake
Michigan tributaries, major Green Bay tributaries, and all other tributary streams and
ditches to Green Bay upstream to the first dam or lake from one-half hour after sunset to
one-half hour before sunrise.
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DIP NETS FOR ROUGH FISH «

There is no bag or possession for rough fish taken by dipnetting except the limit for
suckers is 600. No suckers taken with dip nets or seines may be sold or bartered in any
manner.

No person, while operating a dip net for rough fish, shall fish for fish in any other
manner at that time and no person shall fish with hook and line from any boat while in
possession of a dip net, whether in use or not. Only one dip net per person is permitted
to take smelt and minnows. Such dip nets must be attended at all times while in use
and such nets shall only be raised and lowered vertically when fishing.

Frame Dip Nets: Frame dip nets for rough fish shall not exceed 8 feet in diameter or 8
feet square unless otherwise specified. One frame dip net per person may be used all
year to take rough fish at any time in Marinette and Oconto counties in all streams flow-
ing into Green Bay from a point 200 feet upstream from the mouth and extending 15
miles inland in a straight line, except in the Menominee River where dip nets for rough
fish and smelt may be used at any time from April 1 to May 14. It shall be unlawful to
use any dip net in that part of the Menominee River beginning at the upstream side

of the Hattie Street Bridge in Marinette and extending upstream to the first dam and
within 200 feet below all other dams. Frame dip nets used in Menominee River shall not
exceed 9 feet square or 9 feet in diameter, making a bag when lifted not more than 4
feet deep.

One frame dip net per person may be used all year to take rough fish in all the non-
designated trout streams and rivers, excluding lakes, flowing into Lake Michigan and
Green Bay in the counties of Brown, Door, Kenosha, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Milwaukee,
Ozaukee, Racine and Sheboygan in that part of each such stream or river beginning at
the mouth and extending upstream to a point 500 feet below the first dam located on
such stream or river.

One frame dip net per person may be used sunrise to sunset, from May 1 to March 15,
to take rough fish except suckers, in that part of the Fond du Lac River in Fond du Lac
County beginning at its mouth and extending upstream 3 miles.

One frame dip net per person may be used from April 25 to May 31 for the removal of

rough fish from that part of Lake Winnebago within a distance of 500 feet from the
shoreline of Calumet County.

12
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The use of dip nets not more than 2 feet in diameter or 2 feet square to take rough fish in
the St. Croix River downstream to the St. Croix Falls Dam, Polk County is permitted from
the Saturday nearest May 15 to June 30.

Except in Lake Superior, its bays and tributaries, one dip net not exceeding 8 feet in
diameter or 8 feet square may be used in all other inland and outlying waters except
designated trout streams at any time of the year, sunrise to sunset, to take rough fish
with no bag or possession limit, except the limit for suckers is 600.

NETS FORSMELT el

Smelt taken by nonresidents can not be sold, traded, or bartered in any manner.
Smelt may be taken by same methods and in accordance with seasons and location
restrictions for taking other rough fish (see page 10). In addition, smelt may be taken
with dip nets and seines as follows:

Frame dip nets not exceeding 8 feet in diameter or 8 feet square may be used all year
without hour restrictions for taking smelt in Lake Michigan and all the streams flowing
into Lake Michigan and Green Bay beginning at the lake or bay and extending upstream
to 500 feet below the first dam. They may be used 5 miles inland from the mouth on
streams which have no dam except the Fox River in Brown County from 500 feet below
the dam at De Pere.

Seines not more than 75 feet in length and not more than 6 feet in depth may be used
at any time during the day or night for taking smelt from April 1to May 25 in Lake Supe-
rior, Lake Michigan, Green Bay and most outlying waters except that portion of the Fox
River in Brown County from the dam in the city of DePere downstream 1,500 feet. Seines
of this dimension may be used for taking smelt in St. Louis Bay, Superior Bay, Allouez
Bay and from the mouth of the St. Louis River upstream to the north 28th St. landing in
Douglas County. Seines of this dimension may also be used at any time all year for taking
smelt in Beaver Dam Lake, Barron County.

Frame dip nets not exceeding 8 feet in diameter or 8 feet square may be used without
hour restrictions from April 1to May 25 for taking smelt in Lake Superior and all streams
flowing into Lake Superior in Ashland, Bayfield, and Iron counties and the Brule River in
Douglas County, from the mouth of each stream, inland for one-half mile in a straight
line. Zoning does not apply on Bear Creek, Bluff Creek, the Nemadji River, the St. Louis
River, and Amnicon River and the other nontrout streams in Douglas County, and in

the waters of the Chippewa, Bad River (upstream to Copper Falls) and White Rivers in

13
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Ashland County not designated as trout stream or on streams where active sea lamprey
control structures are located.

Dip nets not exceeding 8 feet in diameter or 8 feet square may be used without hour
restrictions to take smelt in Lake Lucerne, Forest County; the Flambeau lake chain, Vilas
County, including thoroughfares and tributary streams 200 feet upstream and downstream
from the lake basins. The open and closed seasons shall be at the directive of the Regional
Director.

Nets for Whitefish and Cisco *‘(

Frame dip nets not more than 8 feet in diameter or 8 feet square may be used at any time of
day to take whitefish and cisco in inland waters (except Lake Lucerne in Forest County) from
the Saturday nearest October 10 to February 1. The possession limit of whitefish or cisco so
taken is 25 pounds and 1 fish in aggregate. Trout Lake in Vilas County: There is a bag limit of
10 fish in total.

Dip nets and seines may be used at any time of the day to take whitefish and cisco from
Keyes Lake in Florence County from the Saturday nearest October 10 to January 15 with a
daily bag limit of 3 fish.

Seines not to exceed 75 feet in length and a depth not greater than 6 feet and with a mesh
not to exceed 2 inches stretch measure may be used at any time of the day to take whitefish
and cisco in inland waters (except Lake Lucerne in Forest County) from the Saturday nearest
October 10 to February 1. The possession limit of whitefish or cisco is 25 pounds and 1 fish in
aggregate. Palette Lake in Vilas County: Permit required. Trout Lake in Vilas County: There is a
bag limit of 10 fish in total.

Note: A fishing license is required for residents age 16 and older and nonresidents regardless of
age to take whitefish and cisco.

Nets and Traps for Minnows *(

I[tisillegal to take live, wild-harvested minnows (including suckers) away from a waterbody
unless authorized under a wild bait harvest permit.

Itis illegal for anyone to possess more than 600 minnows (including suckers) except licensed
bait dealers and residents younger than 16 years old and doing business as a bait dealer.

14
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Residents more than 16 years old must have a bait dealer’s license to sell minnows, crayfish,
or frogs for bait. Residents under 16 years old and doing business as a bait dealer can pos-

sess no more than 5,000 of each species and can sell less than $500 worth annually without
a bait dealer’s license. It is illegal for nonresidents to sell minnows, crayfish, or frogs as bait.

Location Restrictions

NO minnow species may be netted or trapped in Lake Superior, Lake Michigan and Green
Bay, the Winnebago System (including Wolf and Fox River systems), Mississippi River and
Wisconsin River up to the Prairie du Sac Dam, including all waters connected to these waters
upstream to the first barrier impassable to fish (see the VHS pages on the DNR website -
dnr.wi.gov - for an up-to-date list of VHS waters). (Exception: Up to 600 suckers may be
harvested from these waters but may not leave the water alive). You may not set, use or
operate any net, trap or similar device for the taking of minnows on the waters listed above,
with the exception of suckers as noted above.

Other Restrictions

Unless you have a permit from the DNR, you may not use minnow seines or minnow dip nets
of any type or description in inland trout streams or tributary spring ponds. During the open
trout season, people who do not possess a bait dealer’s license can't use more than three
minnow traps to collect or harvest minnows from trout streams.

Bait minnows may be harvested, where allowed, by the following methods only:

« Hookand line.

« With seines no more than 35 feet long with a mesh no larger than one-half inch stretch
measure in inland waters. Fifty-foot lengths of seine may be used in Minnesota and
lowa boundary waters.

- With dip nets no more than eight feet in diameter or square.

« With traps no more than 24 inches long and 16 inches in diameter or square with a
throat measuring one-and-a-half inches or less. All traps must bear their owner’s name
and address and be emptied at least once every 48 hours. Minnows traps on trout
streams must be checked and emptied at least once every 24 hours.

Minnows and Individual Angler Harvest

Personal harvest of minnows is limited to harvest of minnows where harvest is not restrict-
ed (see page 14) and only for use as bait on the water where they were harvested. These
minnows can never be transported away from the bank or shore of the water alive. They
may be kept in a live box or other container on that water for future use. Wild bait harvest
permits are not available to persons other than bait dealers. Anglers are allowed to use up to
3 minnow traps in trout streams during the open trout season.
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Minnows and Bait Dealer Harvest

A wild bait harvest permit is required for all licensed bait dealers to harvest wild minnows.
These permits include a number of conditions that must be met including gear disinfection
and fish health inspections. Full details concerning wild bait harvest can be found on the
DNR’s website, dnr.wi.gov.

Bait dealers are allowed no more than 20 minnow traps on trout streams during the open
trout season, unless they possess a non-standard gear permit issued by the department.

Frogs %\f

Season: The open season for taking frogs is the Saturday nearest May 1 to December 31.
Itis unlawful to take frogs by firearms or airguns.

Possession Limit: 5 of each species (not Threatened or Endangered - see list at dnr. wi.gov),
except there is no limit on the number that can be possessed which are collected and pos-
sessed for up to 24 hours for fishing bait.

Frogs may be sold for fish bait only under a bait dealers license. It is illegal to sell frogs for
purposes other than fishing bait (except northern leopard frogs may be sold as authorized
undera Class A captive wild animal farm license).

Crayfish g

Season: Wisconsin/Minnesota Boundary Waters - May 1 to the following March 1
Remainder of State - Continuous open season.

@ No person may possess live crayfish and angling equipment at the same time on any
water except the Mississippi River, Lake Superior, Lake Michigan, Green Bay, Sturgeon Bay,
Sawyer’s Harbor and the Fox River from its mouth up to De Pere Dam. Rusty crayfish are a
restricted invasive species and may be transported for control or disposal if no individuals or
eqgs are allowed to escape. Rusty crayfish taken from the Mississippi River can be used on
the Mississippi River only. See dnr.wi.gov/topic/fishing/requlations.

@ Must possess a valid fishing license or small game license, except persons under the
age of 16 do not need a license.
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Crayfish traps placed in trout streams shall conform to the dimensions of minnow traps. See
Nets and Traps for Minnows (page 14).

Crayfish scoops may be used in the Wisconsin/Minnesota boundary waters provided the
scoops do not exceed 4 feet in length, 3 feet in width and 18 inches in depth attached toa
handle not to exceed 4 feet in length.

Crayfish may be taken in all waters by the following means only: By hand, by use of minnow
seines and minnow dip nets, where the same are permitted for the taking of minnows, and
by crayfish traps (other than in trout streams) with the entrance to the trap not to exceed
2-1/2inches at the greatest diagonal measurement. Crayfish traps used on trout streams
must comply with minnow trap size restrictions (see page 15). Traps must bear the name
and address of the owner and must be raised and emptied at least once each day following
the day set.

Parts of fish and fish by-products including fish meal or prepared parts of such fish may not
be used for bait unless: the fish were caught from the water being trapped, are minnows
obtained from a bait dealer, or are used with written authorization from the WDNR. Other
meats (e.g., chicken and beef livers) may be used for bait for crayfish.

Floats or markers used to locate traps 1) may not exceed 5 inches in size, 2) may not extend
more than 4 inches above the water surface, 3) must clearly display the name and address
(in the English language) of the owner or operator, and 4) must not be orange or any other
fluorescent color.

Turtles ‘»

All residents and non-residents who collect, attempt to collect, or possess native Wisconsin
turtles must possess a valid approval that authorizes the hunting of small game or fishing,
unless otherwise exempted from the need for either of these types of licenses because of
age. Some species are protected and may not be harvested. Residents under the age of 16
do not need a license but must comply with seasons, size and possession limits.

These regulations apply to native Wisconsin turtle species, regardless of their origin.
The open turtle season runs from July 15 through November 30.

Turtles or turtle eggs may not be taken during the closed season. Ornate Box, Wood, and
Blanding’s turtles may not be taken or possessed without an Endangered Species permit.
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Persons may collect or possess up to 5 individuals of each species with the following excep-
tions:

@ The possession limit for snapping turtles and softshell turtles is 3 each statewide. The
one exception is the Mississippi River, where the possession limit is 10 for snapping turtles
and 5 for softshell turtles. The possession limit is not more than 5 total for all other species
combined.

Possession Limit for Turtles

WI-IA/WI-MN Inland
Species Boundary Waters Waters
Snapping 10 3
Softshell 5 3
Others 5in total 5in total

@ Licensed bait dealers and registered fish farmers may|possess more than 5 specimens
of any unprotected amphibian species which are collected or possessed as part of a bait
collection or shipment.

@ ltisillegal to sell native amphibians and reptiles, except persons with a Class A Captive
Wild Animal Farm license may sell:

- Eastern tiger salamanders, mudpuppies, and northern leopard frogs collected in
state may be sold.

- Native amphibians and reptiles collected outside the state may be sold out of
state, or to education and research institutions in state.

Legally harvested dead turtles and their parts may be sold during the open season only. A
license is not needed to sell dead turtle parts during the open season.

Size Limits: front to back

Snapping turtle size limits are a 12-inch minimum
and a 16-inch maximum carapace (top shell straight
front to back) length. There are no size limits for
other turtles.
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@ Turtles may be taken by hand, dip net, hook and line, set line, set or bank poles, hook-
ing, or hoop net trap (see allowed design below). No other trap types are allowed.

@ Setor bankpoles and setlines used for turtle harvest must be licensed, tagged and used
in compliance with rules on the use of these lines for fishing. See the Guide to Wisconsin
Setline, Set and Bank Pole Regulations, 2016-2017 for details.

@ Turtles may not be taken by hook and line from trout streams during the closed trout
season.

@ The number of hoop traps that can be operated are 10 in lowa-Wisconsin or Minnesota-
Wisconsin boundary waters and 3 in all other waters of the state.

Hoop net trap specifications: Traps must be made of stretchable fabric (e.g., nylon) and
must have a minimum mesh stretch of 6 inches. No wire mesh is allowed. Each trap must
have a metal tag showing the name and address of the operator attached, and must be
visible above the water’s surface. The operator identified on the trap tag is the only person
authorized to tend these traps. Traps must be set with the hoops exposed a minimum of two
inches above the water’s surface. Turtle traps must be checked and the entrapped contents
removed at least once each day after the day they are set in all waters.
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