LRP - Licenses

LRP - Regulations

LRP - Permits

Recreation - Statewide

Recreation - Trapping

Recreation - Fishing

Recreation - Hunting

Env. Protection - Management

Env. Protection - Emergency

Env. Protection - Resources

To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please enter your contact information below.

Access NHI data
for research and planning purposes.
Wisconsin's rare species and natural communities.
a plant or non-game animal. [exit DNR]
the natural heritage working list.
Contact information
For more information on NHI data, contact:
Julie Bleser
NHI data manager

Natural Heritage Inventory Tools for accessing data

Township tool

The township tool can be used to explore the rare species and other natural features that have been documented in a given township as of July 18, 2017.

Please note, the bald eagle is not represented in this data since it is not on the working list. Check the bald eagle nest by township map to see if your project is in an area where bald eagle nests have been recorded. Then, if you believe your project may be within 660 feet of a bald eagle nest, follow the step-by-step guidance for the USFWS non-purposeful take permit for bald eagles to determine if your project has any federal requirements. Also,occurrences of certain sensitive species have been omitted since these data are not available to the general public at the township level.

Please select a township and range and click submit. Make sure to choose the appropriate range direction (east or west). If you would prefer to explore data for an entire county, use the county tool.


Last revised: July 18, 2017
Douglas County Bayfield County Iron County Vilas County Forest County Florence County Oneida County Langlade County Langlade County Lincoln County Price County Taylor County Taylor County Rusk County Barron County Sawyer County Sawyer County Washburn County Burnett County Polk County St. Croix County Dunn County Pierce County Pepin County Chippewa County Chippewa County Eau Claire County Buffalo County Clark County Trempealeau County Jackson County Marathon County Wood County Portage County Juneau County Adams County Monroe County La Crosse County Marinette County Oconto County Brown County Door County Door County Manitowoc County Outagamie County Waupaca County Waushara County Winnebago County Calumet County Fond du Lac County Marquette County Sheboygan County Washington County Ozaukee County Milwaukee County Waukesha County Kenosha County Walworth County Racine County Dodge County Jefferson County Columbia County Sauk County Richland County Rock County Dane County Green County Layfette County Iowa County Grant County Crawford County Kewaunee County Green Lake County Vernon County Ashland County Menominee County Shawano County