LRP - Licenses

LRP - Regulations

LRP - Permits

Recreation - Statewide

Recreation - Trapping

Recreation - Fishing

Recreation - Hunting

Env. Protection - Management

Env. Protection - Emergency

Env. Protection - Resources

To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please enter your contact information below.

a fisheries area by name.
a fisheries area by county.
for a great place to recreate.
Public access lands
parks, forests, wildlife, fisheries, natural areas, trails, wild rivers and flowages.
Contact information
For information on a particular Fisheries Area, see the "Contacts/Partners" tab.
For general information on Fisheries Areas, contact:
DNR Customer Service
Toll Free 1-888-WDNRINFo

DNR Fisheries AreasLa Crosse Area Comprehensive Fishery Area

La Crosse Area Comprehensive Fishery Area comprises many small parcels in Monroe, La Crosse, Vernon, and Crawford Counties. Names of properties in Crawford County include portions of Sugar Creek and Copper Creek. Names of properties in La Crosse County include portions of Burns Creek, Larson Coulee Creek, Bostwick Creek, Dutch Creek, and Mormon Creek. Names of properties in Monroe County include portions of Farmer´┐Żs Valley Creek and Little La Crosse River. Names of properties in Vernon County include Coon Creek, Hornby Creek (Upper and Lower), and Tainter Creek.


Various locations in Monroe, La Crosse, Vernon, and Crawford Counties.


Angling opportunities

shore and wading fishing

Recreational Opportunities

  • Hunting
  • Trapping
  • Hiking
  • Fishing
  • Wildlife viewing
  • Bird watching
  • Berry picking


The La Crosse Area Comprehensive Fishery Area is managed to protect the public trust, enhance coldwater fishery (game and non-game), and provide outdoor recreational opportunities.


For questions and comments contact:

Fisheries Biologist
Department of Natural Resources
3550 Mormon Coulee Road
La Crosse, WI 54601

Last revised: Monday February 20 2017