LRP - Licenses

LRP - Regulations

LRP - Permits

Recreation - Statewide

Recreation - Trapping

Recreation - Fishing

Recreation - Hunting

Env. Protection - Management

Env. Protection - Emergency

Env. Protection - Resources

To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please enter your contact information below.



 
Learn
more about EDGE.
See
who is in EDGE.
Explore
more resources.
Get involved
with the advisory groups.
Contact information
For information, contact:
Laurel Sukup
Chief, Sustainability & Business Support
608-267-6817
Christine Haag
Chief, Remediation & Redevelopment
608-266-0244
Kristin Hart
Chief, Permits & Stationary Source Modeling Section
608-266-6876

Advisory Groups EDGE

In the Fall of 2017, the legislature enacted Act 70, which directs the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) to establish a pilot program for manufacturers who are eligible for registration operation permits (ROP) for air emissions.

This page is the repository of information about the pilot program including updates from the advisory groups established to guide discussions and advise DNR while establishing the pilot.

EDGE Advisory Group

EDGE Advisory Group Charter

EDGE advisory group members
Member Organization Email
Dan Andersen Phillips-Medisize Dan.Andersen@phillipsmedisize.com
John Antaramian City of Kenosha jantaramian@kenosha.org
Zanya Bugri WEDC zanya.bugri@wedc.org
Jennifer Buzecky Citizen jbuzecky@wi.rr.com
Tim Hanna City of Appleton mayor@appleton.org
Arthur Harrington Godfrey & Kahn S.C. aharrington@gklaw.com
Jeff Jaeckels MG&E JJaeckels@mge.com
Doug Johnson Environmental Intelligence, Inc. jazz8707blues@eiiweb.net
Paul Kent Stafford Rosenbaum pkent@staffordlaw.com
Amy Litscher Saga alitscher@saga-ee.com
Dave Misky City of Milwaukee dmisky@milwaukee.gov
James Madlom Mueller Communications jmadlom@muellercommunications.com
Brian Schimming WHEDA brian.schimming@wheda.com
Jason Scott WEDC jason.scott@wedc.org
Patti Stickney SEH pstickney@sehinc.com
Mark Thimke Foley and Lardner LLP mthimke@foleylaw.com
Curt Witynski League of WI Municipalities witynski@lwm-info.org
Meetings
Date Information
July 26, 2019
May 15, 2019
January 18, 2019
October 31, 2018
August 10, 2018
April 5, 2018
May 11, 2018

EDGE Communications

The EDGE Communications team is tasked with developing a communication strategy and plan to promote the EDGE pilot to target groups who could benefit from it: manufacturing businesses, real estate developers and local governments. Some of the work eventually may be undertaken by DNR and/or partners, other agencies, or other organizations.

Subgroup Objectives

  • Program vision & goals
  • Branding
  • Communications plan
  • Strategic partnerships
  • Funding opportunities
  • Outreach tools and materials
  • Outreach and recruitment

Subgroup Members

  • Renee Bashel - Wisconsin DNR
  • Raechelle Cline - Wisconsin DNR
  • Peggy Frain - Wisconsin DNR
  • Kevin Garstka, Attorney – Wisconsin DNR
  • Katie Grant - Wisconsin DNR
  • Kristin Hart, Permit Section Chief – Wisconsin DNR
  • Doug Johnson - Environmental Intelligence, inc.
  • Amy Litscher - Saga
  • James Madlom - Mueller Communications
  • Bill Nelson - Wisconsin DNR
  • Mark Thimke, Attorney - Foley and Lardner
Previous Meetings
Date Information
August 27, 2019  
August 12, 2019
August 7, 2019
July 12, 2019

EDGE Metrics

The EDGE Metrics Team is tasked to develop a set of key performance indicators (KPIs) that DNR can track and share to evaluate how the program is working. These metrics will help interested parties understand the benefits and costs of participating, track the effectiveness of outreach efforts, gauge the success of EDGE.

Subgroup Objectives

  • Develop Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) of success
  • Develop reporting criteria for EDGE participants
  • Collect testimonials for use in legislative report
  • Develop legislative report

Subgroup Members

  • Jennifer Buzecky - Citizen
  • Kevin Garstka, Attorney – Wisconsin DNR
  • Kristin Hart, Permit Section Chief – Wisconsin DNR
  • Jeff Jaeckels - MG&E
  • Doug Johnson - Environmental Intelligence, Inc.
  • Bill Nelson - Wisconsin DNR
  • Michael Prager - Wisconsin DNR
Previous Meetings
Date Information
August 22, 2019  
August 2, 2019
July 2, 2019

Green Tier Charter

Green Tier is the state’s flagship program to support and recognize businesses that want to go beyond compliance. This voluntary program acknowledges those who systematically manage their environmental performance.

The Green Tier Charter Subgroup supports the goals of the EDGE Program through exploring how Charter agreements can be used as a means of ensuring continual environmental improvement on potential sites in the EDGE program that may have multiple tenants.

Subgroup Objectives

  • Provide feedback as DNR develops model charter agreements for sites that may have multiple tenants
  • Provide support to the EDGE Advisory Group

Subgroup Members

  • Mark Thimke, Attorney - Foley and Lardner
  • Patti Stickney, Environmental Consultant - SEH
  • Jeff Jaeckels, Environmental Manager - MG&E
  • Jennifer Buzecky, Attorney - Private Citizen
  • Doug Johnson, Environmental Auditor – EII
  • Laurel Sukup, Sustainability and Business Support Section Chief – Wisconsin DNR
  • Weston Wegener, Business Support Coordinator – Wisconsin DNR
  • Bill Nelson, Attorney – Wisconsin DNR
Meetings
Date Information
April 5, 2019

Green Tier ROP

A registration permit is a type of general permit available to businesses that have low air pollution emissions. The permit caps facility-wide emissions and prescribes monitoring, recordkeeping and reporting requirements. Go to Air permit options for more information on the Air Program’s Registration Permit Program.

The Green Tier Registration Permit Subgroup supports the goals of the EDGE Program through exploring how air pollution control registration permitting elements fit with Green Tier requirements and VPLE certification under the Brownfields Program.

Subgroup Objectives

  • Provide feedback as DNR develops a Registration Permit specifically geared to facilities with low air pollution emissions that operate under Tier 2 of Green Tier
  • Provide support to the EDGE Advisory Group

Subgroup Members

  • Mark Thimke, Attorney - Foley and Lardner
  • Patti Stickney, Environmental Consultant - SEH
  • Jeff Jaeckels, Environmental Manager - MG&E
  • Jennifer Buzecky, Attorney - Private Citizen
  • Kristin Hart, Permit Section Chief – Wisconsin DNR
  • Kevin Garstka, Attorney – Wisconsin DNR
Previous Meetings
Date Information
January 29, 2019 Agenda
December 6, 2018 Agenda
November 7, 2018 Agenda
October 12, 2018 Agenda
September 14, 2018 Agenda
August 23, 2018 Agenda
July 7, 2018 Agenda
May 30, 2018 Agenda
April 25, 2018 Agenda
Last revised: Tuesday August 06 2019