DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "" Operator certification news - Wisconsin DNR

LRP - Licenses

LRP - Regulations

LRP - Permits

Recreation - Statewide

Recreation - Trapping

Recreation - Fishing

Recreation - Hunting

Env. Protection - Management

Env. Protection - Emergency

Env. Protection - Resources

To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please enter your contact information below.

OpCert lookup
Lookup an operator by name or certification number
Training calendar, information and forms
Exam information and applications
Download a required form

NR114 code change - wastewater operators

The revised Chapter NR 114, Wisconsin Administrative Code [Exit DNR] took effect on July 1, 2015. Revisions only effect the certification of wastewater treatment plant operators.

NR114 was revised to take into account new treatment technologies and to allow operators more flexibility in obtaining advanced level certification. The new wastewater operator apprenticeship program was also incorporated into these rules, as a way to obtain advanced certification points. Noteworthy changes include revising the wastewater subclasses, the creation of four new subclasses (including collection systems), and the formation of a point system for advanced wastewater certification. Certification categories for both operators and wastewater facilities changed from having Grades 1-4 to having basic and advanced levels. Please refer to the NR114 revisions webpage for more information on these changes.

Veterans Professional Occupational Licensure Fee Waiver Program

American Flag

Are you or someone else you know a veteran? Veterans may qualify for a one-time fee waiver for an occupational or professional license. Veterans may use this waiver towards the cost of up to two operator certification exams, applied for at the same time, in order to obtain their initial operator certification license. In addition, current operators may use the voucher towards the cost of up to two exams to add a new subclass to their current certification. Note these vouchers may not be used to pay the cost of renewal fees.

Veterans must apply for the fee waiver through the Department of Veterans Affairs (DVA). The DVA will provide the applicant with an eligibility code that will need to be submitted with the exam application by the postmark deadline. For more information on the fee waiver program, please visit the DVA website [Exit DNR].

Last revised: Thursday January 11 2018