
Selling a boat which is less than 16 feet in length (non-titled boat): 

Before you sell your boat: 

 Locate the boat’s registration card. 
o The registration card is pocket sized and has your name and information about the boat.
o Replacement registration cards cost $2.50 and can be ordered online by visiting Gowild.wi.gov, by paper

application, or at a DNR Service Center. The replacement card will be sent to you in the mail.

Once you have sold your boat: 

 Draft a record of  sale. We recommend both the buyer and seller have a copy for their 
records.  o A record of sale is not required by the DNR; however, it may be needed for tax purposes.

 Provide the buyer with the registration card. 

 Notify the DNR 
o Per state statute 30.549(1)(b), boat owners are required to send notification to the department within 15

days of selling your boat.
o Please send a brief email to CSWEB@wisconsin.gov notifying us that your boat has been sold; please

include in the email your first and last name, customer identification number (if known), the boat’s
Wisconsin registration number, or any other information that may assist us in identifying the boat. The
boat will be removed from your list of registered boats and recreational vehicles.

Selling a boat 16 feet in length or greater (titled boat): 

Before you sell your boat: 

 Locate the boat’s original certificate of title; it will be required to transfer ownership to a buyer. 
o The certificate of title is a full sheet of paper which contains the legal description of the boat and its

owner(s).
o Replacement titles cost $5 and can be ordered online by visiting Gowild.wi.gov, by paper application, or

at a DNR Service Center. The replacement title certificate will be sent to the primary owner listed on the
title in the mail. A replacement title will void any previously-issued titles.

 Locate the boat’s registration card. 
o The registration card is pocket sized and has your name and information about the boat.
o Replacement registration cards cost $2.50 and can be ordered online by visiting Gowild.wi.gov, by paper

application, or at a DNR Service Center. The replacement card will be sent to you in the mail.

Once you have sold your boat: 
The DNR cautions boat sellers to not sign your title or complete the assignment section until they have been paid. 

 Draft a record sale. We recommend both the buyer and seller have a copy for their 
records. o A Bill of Sale is not required by the DNR; however, it may be needed for tax purposes.

 Sign the certificate of title. 
o If the certificate of title lists more than one owner and the names are separated by the word “and”, all

owners listed on the title must sign. If the word “or” separates the names, any of the owners listed on the
title may sign.
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 Complete the title assignment. 
o The assignment section on the backside of the certificate of title document. Fill in the buyer’s name and 

address. 

 Fill in the selling price on the title.  
o The Wisconsin Department of Revenue checks applications and investigates suspiciously low sales prices. 

 Provide the buyer with the registration card and signed certificate of title. 

 If there is an outstanding lien listed on the title, provide the buyer with a lien release document from your lien 
holder; the buyer will need this to title the boat in their name.  

o Lien release documents must identify the lien holder listed on the title, the boat owner on account, and 
the boat by hull ID number or Wisconsin registration number. Lien releases shall be signed and dated by 
the lien holder.  

 Notify the DNR 
o Per state statute 30.549(1)(b), boat owners are required to send written notification to the department 

within 15 days of selling your boat.  
o Please send a brief email to CSWEB@wisconsin.gov notifying us that your boat has been sold; please 

include in the email your first and last name, customer identification number (if known), the boat’s 
Wisconsin registration number, or any other information that may assist us in identifying the boat. The 
boat will be removed from your list of registered boats and recreational vehicles. 
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