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Air Program Fact Sheet 

DNR Requirements for Regulated 
Refrigerants & Salvaging Operations 

Compliance with ch. NR 488, Wis. Adm. Code 

May2017 

Wisconsin and federal law prohibits the release of regulated refrigerants during the 

salvaging or dismantling of refrigeration equipment. These substances (CFCs and 

HCFCs and their substitutes) are known to destroy the earth's ozone layer, which is 

located high in the atmosphere and protects life from the sun's harmful ultraviolet 

radiation.  

The Department of Natural Resources (DNR) regulates activities during the 

salvaging or dismantling of any equipment containing regulated refrigerants. The 

regulations are found in Chapter NR 488 of the Wisconsin Administrative code. 

The technician certification and registration programs at the Department of 

Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection (DATCP) and the Department of 

Safety and Professional Services (DSPS; formerly the Department of Commerce) 

have been eliminated. Regardless of the changes to DATCP and DSPS regulations, 

DNR registration is still required annually under NR 488 for any person who 

salvages or dismantles refrigeration equipment.  

WHO IS AFFECTED BY THESE REQUIREMENTS? 

Salvagers and dismantlers: Any public or private entity responsible for salvaging 

or dismantling refrigeration or air-conditioning units which may contain regulated 

refrigerants must register annually with DNR and certify the use of approved 

refrigerant recovery equipment by qualified operators. See the sections below for 

more information about these requirements.  

Transporters of refrigeration equipment: Any public or private entity which 

transports refrigeration equipment for the purposes of salvaging or dismantling must 

certify to DNR that they will use methods to "safely transport" the equipment to 

prevent refrigerant releases. See page three for more information.  

WHAT ARE THE REQUIREMENTS FOR SALVAGERS? 

Entities that salvage or dismantle refrigeration equipment must register annually 

with DNR (using Form 4500-129), certifying that approved equipment is used to 

recover any remaining refrigerants and that persons using this equipment are 

properly qualified. The annual registration fee is $250. 
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Refrigeration equipment salvagers/dismantlers may use a subcontractor. A description of 

this arrangement must be included in the salvager's registration (Form 4500-129a 

contains subcontractor information). 

WHAT IS “APPROVED” RECOVERY EQUIPMENT? 

Salvagers must use recovery equipment approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency (U.S. EPA). Each facility should carefully consider its needs before purchasing a 

unit. The NR 488 code requires that the recovery equipment must be capable of 

recovering at least 90 percent of the refrigerant remaining in a system being salvaged. 

The equipment must also be approved for safety and efficiency by a recognized national 

lab (such as Underwriter's Laboratories [UL] or the Air Conditioning, Heating and 

Refrigeration Institute [AHRI]). Look for labelling on the equipment indicating that it has 

been tested by one of these labs or that it meets U.S. EPA requirements.    

HOW DO RECOVERY EQUPMENT OPERATORS RECEIVE CERTIFICATION? 

Individuals who use refrigerant recovery equipment for salvage must successfully 

complete an appropriate certification program approved by U.S. EPA, or must be directly 

supervised by someone who has completed one. Those recovering refrigerants from 

stationary equipment must hold a U.S. EPA 608 certification (see the EPA Section 608 

webpage at https://www.epa.gov/section608). Those recovering refrigerants from 

vehicles must hold a U.S. EPA 609 certification (see the EPA Section 609 webpage at 

https://www.epa.gov/mvac). 

WHAT ARE THE RECORDKEEPING REQUIREMENTS FOR SALVAGERS? 

Salvagers must keep the following records for three years: 

 Training certificates for each person who operates or supervises the operation of

recovery equipment

 The brand, model number and serial number of each piece of approved refrigerant

recovery equipment

 The type, serial number (or other identification number) of each piece of

refrigeration equipment salvaged, and the date each piece was determined empty

or recovered

 Records of the repair and maintenance of recovery equipment, including the date

and nature of each repair or maintenance activity

Required documentation for delivery to scrap metal processors 

Under state and federal law, any person who sells, gives or transports salvaged 

refrigeration equipment to a scrap metal processor must provide a signed statement that 

all remaining refrigerant has been properly recovered by themselves or another person. If 

the scrap metal processor agrees to perform the recovery, they must provide the statement 

https://www.epa.gov/section608
https://www.epa.gov/mvac
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to the party delivering the refrigeration equipment. In either case, this statement must be 

retained for three years by both the equipment provider and the scrap metal processor. 

WHAT IF THE SALVAGER CONTRACTS OTHERS FOR ALL REFRIGERANT 
RECOVERY WORK? 

If the salvager does not want to perform any refrigerant recovery work and does not want 

to use a subcontractor, the salvager can use a company that is registered to perform the 

work.  

When applying for a Wisconsin Department of Transportation salvager license, auto 

salvagers that contract others for refrigerant recovery work must obtain a letter from 

DNR certifying that they are using a registered DNR refrigerant recovery program 

vendor. The salvager must obtain a new letter every time the license is renewed (usually 

every two years). The letter is called “Self-Certification of Compliance with State 

Refrigerant Regulations” and provided free of charge.    

WHAT ARE THE TRANSPORT REQUIREMENTS? 

Prior practices for handling salvaged refrigeration equipment sometimes ruptured the 

refrigeration system and released refrigerants into the environment.  State law requires 

that anyone transporting salvaged refrigeration equipment (except for individuals hauling 

personal items and those hauling vehicles) must certify annually to DNR that they will 

transport items in a manner that prevents refrigerant releases. No particular method is 

prescribed, but using lift-gate trucks, trailers with ramps, loading docks, or securing 

appliances in roll-off boxes can provide the needed safety.  Unacceptable methods 

include combining  loose appliances with other salvaged metals in roll-off boxes and 

throwing refrigeration equipment onto trucks.  

To obtain the required certification, transporters must submit Form 4500-130 annually, 

along with a $75 fee, plus $25 for each vehicle expected to be used for safe transport 

during the coming year. The $75 fee is waived for those registered as refrigeration 

equipment salvagers by DNR.  Receipt forms provided by DNR must be kept at the 

facility and in each transport vehicle while valid. 

WHAT ARE THE PENALTIES FOR NONCOMPLIANCE? 

DNR can issue a citation of $100 to $1000 for each release of refrigerants or other action 

in violation of the requirements described in this factsheet. 

FOR MORE INFORMATION AND FORMS 

 For more information about refrigerant recovery and to download this factsheet

and relevant forms, visit dnr.wi.gov and search for the keyword “refrigerant.”

http://dnr.wi.gov/
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 To contact Refrigerant Program staff, email

DNRAirRefrigerantProgram@Wisconsin.gov or call the Air Program at (608)

266-7718.

 Send forms to the following address:

Air Program - Refrigerant Program  

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources  

PO Box 7921, AM/7 

Madison, WI 53707-7921 

 For information about U.S. EPA refrigerant recovery requirements, visit

www.epa.gov/ozone

DISCLAIMER —This document is intended solely as guidance and does not contain any mandatory 
requirements except where requirements found in statute or administrative rule are referenced. Any regulatory
decisions made by the Department of Natural Resources in any matter addressed by this guidance will be made
by applying the governing statutes to the relevant facts.

The Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources provides equal opportunity in employment, programs, 
services and functions under an Affirmative Action Plan. If you have any questions, please write to Equal 
Opportunity Office, Department of Interior, Washington, DC 20240. This publication is available in 
alternative format (large print, Braille, audio tape, etc.) upon request. Please contact the Bureau of Air 
Management, phone 608-266-7718, for more information.

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources 
Bureau of Air Management 

Box 7921- AM/7 
Madison, WI 53707 

PHONE 608-266-7718 • FAX 608-267-0560 
Publication AM-552   2017

mailto:DNRAirRefrigerantProgram@Wisconsin.gov
http://www.epa.gov/ozone
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