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Wildlife Violator Compact

The State of Wisconsin is a participating member of
the Wildlife Violator Compact. The Wildlife Violator
Compact is an agreement between participating states
that prohibits a person whose hunting, fishing, or
trapping privileges are suspended in one state from
obtaining licenses, permits, or participating in those
activities in another state. Please visit dnrwi.gov
keywords “Wildlife Violator Compact” for more
information.

To report hunting violations, call or text

1-800-847-9367

Support for the elk management program provided by:

Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation
5705 Grant Creek Road
Missoula, Montana 59808

RMEF "/ | imeios

Apply to the RMEF annual raffle for another chance to
obtain an elk tag.
http://www.rmef.org/Events/RafflesSweepstakes/
WisconsinElkHuntRaffle.aspx

Questions?

For more information, visit dnr:wi.gov and search
keyword “elk”.
DNR Customer Service: 1-888-936-7463

The Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources provides equal opportunity
in its employment, programs, services, and functions under an Affirmative
Action Plan. If you have any questions, please write to Equal Opportunity
Office, Department of Interior, Washington, D.C. 20240. The Department
of Natural Resources is committed to serving people with disabilities. If you
need this information in an alternative format, please call 608-266-8204.
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This pamphlet is a summary of Wisconsin’s elk hunting laws and
regulations. For a complete set of laws and regulations, please refer to
the Wisconsin Statutes Chapter 29 or Chapter 10 of Administrative
Code of the Department of Natural Resources.
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.AA, USNAA P.0. Box 7921
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Elk Hunting License Drawing

Application deadline: May 31 Fee: $10
* Only Wisconsin residents are eligible to apply for and receive
an elk hunting license.

* Hunters must submit an application each year that they wish
to be entered into the drawing for an elk hunting license.
No preference point system is available.

+ Applications can be submitted online at GoWild. Wi.Gov or
at a license agent.

Licenses and Permits
Resident: $49

* Only license drawing winners may purchase an elk license
and must complete elk hunter orientation.

» A person may be issued or transferred only one elk license
in their lifetime.

2+ An elk license issued to a member of the Armed Forces or

National Guard who is on active duty and unable to hunt
may be deferred. Contact a local DNR Service Center for
more information.

ransfer of an Elk Hunting License

Elk hunting licenses may be transferred to a disabled person
with a valid Class A, B, C or D disabled permit, or a youth
17 or younger that is eligible to use the license if:

- the application is received at least 15 days prior to the start
of the season; or

- the licensee dies before the first day of the season.

A person transferring their license to a youth or disabled
hunter may not be paid or receive any other consideration
for the transfer of the license.

Hunter Education Requirements

+ Persons born on or after January 1, 1973 who intend to
hunt elk must present their Hunter Education certificate or
proof of successful completion of basic training in the U.S.
Armed Forces, Reserves, or National Guard to purchase an
elk license unless participating in the Hunting Mentorship
program. Visit dnrwi.gov, keyword: ‘mentored hunting’ for
more information.

Wisconsin Elk Hunter Orientation

* All elk hunters must participate in a Wisconsin Elk Hunter
Orientation course prior to being issued an elk hunting
license. The department will contact successful applicants
with details.

Conditions of the Hunt

» The bag limit is one bull elk per elk license. “Bull elk”
means any elk with an antler of at least 6 inches in length.

» Blaze orange or fluorescent pink clothing is highly
encouraged, but not required.

Mentored Elk Hunting Key Rules
View the complete rules at dnr-wi.gov, keyword “mentored
hunting.”

 Hunters under age 12 and those who have not
completed general hunter education may only hunt elk
under the hunting mentorship program.

* The mentor must be over 18 years old, exhibit proof of
hunter education unless born before January 1, 1973,
and hold a current, valid Wisconsin hunting license.

* The mentor may not harvest an elk using the mentee’s
tag. However, the mentor may dispatch a wounded elk
shot by the mentee if requested by the mentee.

Firearm and Archery Restrictions

You may hunt with a firearm, bow or crossbow during the

open season under the following conditions.

You may not:

* hunt with a shotgun that is .410 or smaller and does not fire a
single slug; any .22 caliber or 5 mm rimfire rifle; .17 caliber
centerfire rifle; fully automatic firearm; or with ammunition
loaded with non-expanding type bullets.

 hunt with a handgun that is loaded with a .410 shotgun shell
loaded with a single slug or projectile, a centerfire cartridge
of .22 caliber or smaller, or has a minimum barrel length
that is less than 5 'z inches measured from the muzzle to
the firing pin with the action closed.

¢ hunt with a muzzleloader that is less than .45 caliber or a
muzzleloading handgun.

 hunt with a bow having a pull of less than 30 pounds, or
use arrows which have metal broadhead blades less than
seven-eighths of an inch wide. Heavier equipment is
recommended.

 possess any poisoned, drugged, or explosive-tipped arrow
while hunting.

e hunt with a crossbow, unless it has a minimum draw of
100 pounds, a workable safety, and uses at least 14-inch
long bolts or arrows equipped with broadheads. Compound
bows equipped with a drawlock mechanism that is capable
of holding the bow at full draw are considered crossbows;
these are exempt from the 100 pound requirement but must
meet the 30 pound minimum.

* possess or transport in a moving vehicle any firearm
(other than a handgun) or bow unless it is unloaded or any
crossbow unless it is unloaded and decocked OR unloaded
and enclosed within a carrying case. Note: A loaded firearm
can be placed on, but not in, a vehicle which is stationary.

¢ load a firearm other than a handgun while it is in a vehicle,
or discharge any firearm in or from any moving vehicle or
a stationary motorized vehicle except for certain disabled
hunters with proper permits.*

*A person may load and discharge a firearm, bow, or
crossbow from a stationary, non-motorized vehicle which
is not attached to a motor vehicle.



Other Restrictions

You may not:

 feed elk or hunt elk over bait, except for scents, materials
that are deposited by natural vegetation, materials that result
from normal agricultural or gardening practices, or crops
planted and left standing as wildlife food plots.

* hunt elk with the aid of dogs.

» possess an elk carcass unless you also possess a validated
elk carcass tag.

* allow someone else to use or carry your license or carcass
tag, or for you to use or carry another person’s license or
carcass tag while hunting.

» Possess more than one copy of a unique carcass tag while
afield.

* use, or possess with the intent to use, a light including vehicle
headlights for shining any wild animal while hunting or in
possession of a firearm, bow and arrow, or crossbow. This
includes laser sights. Note: Class C visually handicapped
permit holders may use a laser sight.

« sell, purchase, barter, or offer to sell, purchase, or barter any
elk or elk part except the head, skin not in spotted coat, and
antlers not in velvet of any elk lawfully killed when these
parts are separated from the rest of the carcass.

Note: Elk with antlers in velvet may be harvested during the
open season, but to keep the antlers, the hunter must contact
a warden within 7 days of tagging the elk to request written
authorization to keep the antlers. The velvet antlers may not
be sold or transferred to another person.

Tagging and Transport

* Immediately upon killing and before field dressing or
moving the elk, you must validate the carcass tag by
detaching the bottom portion.

» If you leave it, tag it! If you leave the elk, you must first
attach the validated carcass tag to the animal. You do not
need to attach the tag as long as you remain with the carcass,
such as when dragging it out of the field.

* To facilitate removal from the field, an elk may be divided
into not more than five parts, not including the hide or lower
legs up to the tarsus joint (ankle or hock) on the hind legs
and up to the carpus joint (wrist or knee) on the front legs.
The head and neck shall remain attached to one of the other
parts of the animal, not including the hide. All parts of the
elk, except the entrails, must be removed from the field and
exhibited at the time of registration. Only one elk that has
been quartered may be stored or transported at a time.

Tt is illegal to transport another person’s unregistered elk
unless accompanied by the person issued the carcass tag.

Areas Open for Elk Hunting
in 2019

Ay
&
%“&é

FlambeauRd _ . |
Fairview Ln | Skinner Creek Rd
Power Lines

Liberty Ln

Dam at
Big Falls Flowage
. J

Registration

 In-person registration is required. All harvested elk must
be presented in person at a designated location. Location
and hours of operation will be shared prior to the start of
the elk hunting season.

» Each elk must be registered by 5 p.m. the day after recovery
of the carcass, and prior to its removal from the elk
management zone. At the time of registration, hunters shall
provide the department with information about the location
of the kill. If requested, you must allow the department to
collect tissue or other samples.

» The person who tags the elk must keep the carcass tag with
the butchered meat until it is consumed.

Road Hunting

You may not:

* hunt within 50 feet of the roadway’s center.

* discharge a firearm, shoot an arrow from a bow, or a bolt
from a crossbow from or across a highway or within 50
feet of the roadway’s center. This prohibition applies to all
public roads which are either paved or indicated on a current
Department of Transportation county highway map.

Note: Class A and certain Class B disabled permit holders
are exempt from certain portions of this requirement when
hunting from a stationary vehicle. Contact the DNR for more
information.

Tree Stands and Ground Blinds

North of Highway 64, no more than two portable tree stands
or ground blinds per hunter per county may remain placed
overnight on DNR-managed lands from Sept. 1 - Jan. 31,
2020. All such devices must display the hunter’s name and
address or customer ID number and be removed no later than
Jan. 31, 2020.

Collared EIk are Legal

Many elk within the elk hunting zone wear tracking collars or
ear tags for research and monitoring purposes. Any legal bull
elk marked in this way is legal to harvest.

Hunter Assistance is Welcome

Because a Wisconsin elk hunt is a once-in-a-lifetime
opportunity, successful applicants may wish to share the
experience by allowing others to tag along as observers.
Spectators may participate in all aspects of the hunt except
shooting an elk. Group elk hunting is not allowed.

Know Where You Are Hunting!

Approximately 70 percent of the Clam Lake elk range is open
for public hunting. However, private properties are scattered
throughout the area and are frequently utilized by elk. Know
where you are hunting and do not enter private lands without
landowner permission.

Resources available to help you find a place to hunt include:

¢ Public access lands maps: https://dnr.wi.gov/topic/Lands/
PAL/

e US Forest Service: https://www.fs.usda.gov/main/cnnf/
home

¢ Private lands open to public hunting: https://dnr.wi.gov/
topic/ForestLandowners/openToPublic.html

Shooting Hours
The times listed in the Elk oL W 20 W
Shooting Hqurs table are .the Zone E | Zone D
actual opening and closing 082D
times for hunting elk in . é 2
zones D and E (see map at
right). Youdonotneed toadd  vouatss
additional time to the hours
listed in the table.
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Zone D
Date AM. P.M.
Oct. 12 6:44 6:42 6:48 6:46
Oct. 13 6:46 6:40 6:50 6:44
Oct. 14 6:47 6:39 6:51 6:43
Oct. 15 6:48 6:37 6:52 6:41
Oct. 16 6:50 6:35 6:55 6:39
Oct. 17 6:51 6:33 6:55 6:37
Oct. 18 6:52 6:31 6:56 6:35
Oct. 19 6:54 6:30 6:58 6:34
Oct. 20 6:57 6:28 6:59 6:32
Oct. 21 6:56 6:26 7:00 6:30
Oct. 22 6:58 6:25 7:02 6:29
Oct. 23 6:59 6:23 7:03 6:27
Oct. 24 7:01 6:21 7:05 6:25
Oct. 25 7:02 6:20 7:06 6:24
Oct. 26 7:03 6:18 7:07 6:22
Oct. 27 7:05 6:17 7:09 6:21
Oct. 28 7:06 6:15 7:10 6:19
Oct. 29 7:07 6:14 7:11 6:18
Oct. 30 7:09 6:12 7:13 6:16
Oct. 31 7:10 6:11 7:14 6:15
Nov. 1 7:12 6:09 7:16 6:13
Nov. 2 7:13 6:08 7:17 6:12
Nov. 3 6:15 5:06 6:19 5:10
Nov. 4 6:16 5:05 6:20 5:09
Nov. 5 6:17 5:03 6:21 5:07
Nov. 6 6:19 5:02 6:23 5:06
Nov. 7 6:20 5:01 6:24 5:05
Nov. 8 6:22 5:00 6:26 5:04
Nov. 9 6:23 4:58 6:27 5:02
Nov. 10 6:24 4:57 6:28 5:01
Dec. 12 7:03 4:38 7:07 4:42
Dec. 13 7:04 4:38 7:08 4:42
Dec. 14 7:05 4:38 7:09 4:42
Dec. 15 7:06 4:38 7:10 4:42
Dec. 16 7:07 4:39 7:11 4:43
Dec. 17 7:07 4:39 7:11 4:43
Dec. 18 7:08 4:39 7:12 4:43
Dec. 19 7:09 4:40 7:13 4:44

Dec. 20 7:09 4:40 7:13 4:48
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