NEWS ARCHIVE:     Age: 2,569 days

See This Full Issue

All Previous Archived Issues

CLASS B BEAR LICENSE ELIMINATED IN WISCONSIN

August 4, 2015

Check online regulations or contact DNR staff and learn what this means for your hunt

MADISON -- The 2015-17 Wisconsin state budget bill has passed as 2015 Wisconsin Act 55, and state law was changed to eliminate the Class B bear license and increase the Class A license application fee to $4.50.

The 2015 Bear Hunting Regulations pamphlet was completed in advance of the proposed law, and will not reflect these Class B changes. Online regulations have been updated, and individuals are encouraged to use the online regulations pages or contact DNR staff with any questions.

Both residents and non-residents may now participate in the following bear baiting, hunting and training activities without a Class B bear license if those activities are permitted and in compliance with applicable regulations:

It is important to note that a back-up shooter must adhere by the following guidelines:

The Class B bear license was required for a portion of the 2015 bear baiting and dog training season, and those who have purchased a license had an opportunity to use it this year. Therefore, no refunds will be issued for Class B licenses purchased for the 2015 bear baiting and dog training seasons.

For more information regarding bear hunting in Wisconsin, visit the department's website, dnr.wi.gov, and search keyword "bear."

FOR MORE INFOMATION CONTACT: Dave MacFarland, DNR Large Carnivore Specialist, 715-365-8917; Dave Zebro, DNR Northern Regional Warden, 715-645-0055; Bureau of Customer and Outreach Services, 608-266-2621

Last Revised: Tuesday, August 04, 2015




Need an expert?

The Office of Communications connects journalists with DNR experts on a wide range of topics. For the fastest response, please email DNRPress@Wisconsin.gov and the first available Communications Specialist will respond to you.