NEWS ARCHIVE:     Age: 3,674 days

See This Full Issue

All Previous Archived Issues

FIRST-TIME LICENSE BUYERS GET A PRICE BREAK ON HUNTING AND FISHING FUN

November 6, 2012

MADISON - A $5 first-time buyer's license for Wisconsin residents makes it easier than ever for family and friends to join in Wisconsin's hunting, fishing and trapping traditions.

First-time buyer

Under a 2012 law, certain hunting, trapping and fishing approvals are sold at a reduced fee to people who have not been issued that same type of license, or a conservation patron license, or a sports license, in any of the previous 10 years, according to Penny Kanable, Department of Natural Resources licensing.

For Wisconsin residents, $5 will buy you an annual license for fishing or trapping, or many hunting seasons. Nonresidents also get a price break too, Kanable says. Get more details on DNR's web site by typing in the key words, "first-time buyer."

First-time buyers also can recognize that special person who introduced them to the sport. Wisconsin residents who have been designated as a recruiter 3 or more times within one license year are eligible for discount on the license of their choice the next year, Kanable says.

To recognize that special person, first-time buyers can call 1-888-WDNR Info (1-888-936-7463), and be ready to give their customer number and the recruiter's customer number. Recruiter points are available only for Wisconsin residents.

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Penny Kanable (608) 264-8985

Last Revised: Tuesday, November 06, 2012




Need an expert?

The Office of Communications connects journalists with DNR experts on a wide range of topics. For the fastest response, please email DNRPress@Wisconsin.gov and the first available Communications Specialist will respond to you.