NEWS ARCHIVE:     Age: 4,354 days

See This Full Issue

All Previous Archived Issues


September 7, 2010

Five others reappointed to advisory group

MADISON - Four new members were recently appointed by Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources Secretary Matthew Frank to serve on the Wisconsin Urban Forestry Council.

The new Urban Forestry Council members are:

Individuals reappointed to the Urban Forestry Council are: Bob Dahl, representing the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection; John Gall with Wachtel Tree Service in Merton, representing the Wisconsin Arborist Association; Art Ode, volunteer forester for the City of Bayfield; Ken Ottman with First Choice Tree Care of Junction City, representing the Wisconsin Council on Forestry; and Kelli Tuttle, with Bluestem Forestry Consulting in Drummond. Tuttle was elected chairperson of the Urban Forestry Council, and Tom Dunbar, executive director of the Center for Resilient Cities, was elected vice chair.

Urban Forestry Council appointees thanked for their service included: R. Bruce Allison, with Allison Tree Care of Verona; former Menomonie Mayor Dennis Kropp; Logan Nelson of Edgerton (a registered consulting arborist); and Bruce Slagoski, with the City of Beloit Department of Public Works.

The Wisconsin Urban Forestry Council advises the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources on the best ways to preserve, protect, expand and improve the state's urban and community forest resources.

"The Forestry Division greatly appreciates the time these and other members of the Urban Forestry Council spend participating on this important advisory group," Wyatt said. "Members gather information from stakeholders and helping to direct and formulate urban forestry policy for Wisconsin Communities."

Others members continuing their service on the Urban Forestry Council include: Shirley Brabender Mattox of Oshkosh, a community advocate; UW-Stevens Point professor emeritus Bob Brush of Plover; Leif Hubbard, representing the Wisconsin Department of Transportation; Developer and UW-Madison Business School Adjunct Professor Thomas Landgraf; Deena Murphy, assistant planner/zoning inspector with the City of Onalaska; Vijai Pandian, University of Wisconsin-Extension Brown County; Bryan Spencer of Oconomowoc, representing the Wisconsin Parks & Recreation Association; Daniel Traas of Appleton, president of Ranger Services Inc.; Jeffrey Treu, We Energies regional forester; Les Werner, chair of the UW-Stevens Point College of Natural Resources; Kevin Westphal, superintendent of parks and forestry for the City of Cedarburg; Joe Wilson, executive director of Greening Milwaukee; and Jeff Wolters of Johnson's Nursery in Menomonee Falls, representing the Wisconsin Green Industry Federation.

Additional information about the Council and the work they do can be found on the Wisconsin Urban Forestry Council pages of the DNR website.

FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT: Laura Wyatt, Wisconsin Urban Forestry Council liaison, 608.267-0568.

Last Revised: Tuesday, September 07, 2010

Need an expert?

The Office of Communications connects journalists with DNR experts on a wide range of topics. For the fastest response, please email and the first available Communications Specialist will respond to you.