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DNR Txn #

Notice: This form is used to register a snowmobile pursuant to s. 350.12, Wis. Stats. This application may be submitted online at gowild.wi.gov. Personal 
information collected will be used for administrative purposes and may be provided to requesters to the extent required by Wisconsin Public Records law. 
ss. 19.31-19.39, Wis. Stats. Read the instructions before completing this application. Failure to provide required information may cause significant delays in 
processing and may result in the denial of this application. This application must be submitted within 10 days of purchase. s. 350.12(3)(a)3., Wis. Stats. Dealerships 
must submit application within 5 days of the sale. s. 350.125(1)(a)1., Wis. Stats.

A copy of this form may only be used as a temporary operating receipt if the snowmobile was purchased from a Wisconsin authorized dealer and the dealer has 
signed in Section C below. The temporary operating receipt must be carried at all times while operating the snowmobile until the registration documents are 
received and the decals are affixed to the snowmobile. ss. 350.12(3)(c) and (5)(b), Wis. Stats.

Continues

B. Snowmobile Information
WI Registration Number (if applicable) – found on decals and registration certificate

Serial Number of Body/Frame (verify number on Snowmobile–NOT the engine serial number)

Make

Model  (cannot be the same as the Make)

Width

in

Nickname (descriptors that will help you identify your machine, i.e. color)

HorsepowerEngine Size (cc) or indicate Electric

Model Year (yyyy)

To legally register a snowmobile in Wisconsin, it must conform to the 
following:
• Engine driven device manufactured solely for snowmobiling that has an

endless belt tread, and sled type runners or skis that contact the snow
• Cannot exceed 48 inches wide if manufactured after May 7, 1994

A snowmobile does NOT include a vehicle that is any of the following:
• Has inflatable tires
• Operated solely in sanctioned races, derbies, competitions or exhibitions or 

only on private property AND is driven by a motor of 4 horsepower or less
• Originally manufactured as an ATV/UTV or OHM and has the addition of an

aftermarket ski or belt kit

For a complete list of Wisconsin snowmobile laws, rules, regulations and 
small/antique snowmobile definitions, please refer to Wisconsin Snowmobile 
Laws pamphlet (LE-201) found at dnr.wi.gov.

Wisconsin Snowmobile Trail Pass (expires June 30th – valid for 1 year – nonrefundable)

A Wisconsin Snowmobile Trail Pass is required to be displayed on all registered snowmobiles operating on a Wisconsin snowmobile trail or corridor.
A snowmobile that is registered as Antique in the state of Wisconsin is exempt from this requirement.

Check here to purchase a Wisconsin Snowmobile Trail Pass for $30.00 for the snowmobile listed above.
A discounted Wisconsin Snowmobile Trail pass is available for snowmobiles that are registered in Wisconsin and are owned by a person who is both 
a member of a snowmobile club and a member of AWSC. If you qualify, you may purchase the discounted snowmobile trail pass at www.awsc.org.

C. Who Did You Obtain the Snowmobile From?
Name

Dealer Federal Employer ID No. (FEIN)

Mailing Address

State Zip Code

Phone Number

(	 )	-

City

Signature of Dealer ONLY Date

Tape previous owner’s registration card here, if available.

D. Applicant Signature / Date

DateSignature
Batch Date (8 digits)	 Batch Number

DNR USE ONLY

I certify the information and statements provided on this application are true, accurate, and complete. I understand that intentionally making a false statement 
may be punished under s. 350.12(3i), Wis. Stats., by a maximum forfeiture penalty of $452.50.

A. Applicant Information
Applicant Name  (Last or Business Name)	 (First)	 (M.I.) WI DNR Customer Number or Driver’s License Number

Mailing Address

State Zip Code Phone Number

(	 )	-
U.S. Citizen?

YES	 NO

City

Date of Birth (mm-dd-yyyy) Social Security Number or FEIN

Driver’s License State

Email Address

Wisconsin

State of Principal 
Operation

 Check to withhold my personal information from 
disclosure on lists of 10 or more individuals that DNR
may provide to other persons s. 23.45, Wis. Stats.

SN (####AA)

http://www.dnr.wi.gov
www.dnr.wi.gov


Sales Tax Exemption. A purchase is not subject to the sales tax if any of  the following 
situations apply (see instructions for more information). If exempt from tax, check the box 
for exemption reason below. Exemptions are subject to review.

	 The item was previously registered in Wisconsin AND purchased or received from a 
parent, spouse, or child. (s. 77.54(7)(b)1., Wis. Stats.). Check one of the below:

	 P = Purchased from your parent, stepparent, father-in-law or mother-in-law;

	 S = Purchased from your spouse;

	 C = Purchased from your child, stepchild, daughter-in-law, or son-in-law.

	 Purchased  by a retailer/lessor who will rent or sell the item.  Must include the FEIN.

 	 Purchased by the State of Wisconsin or government unit, agency or school.    

	 Purchased in another state and tax was paid to the other state.  Attach a copy of your 
bill of sale or other verification of tax paid to another state.  

	 Purchased by a nonresident at least 90 days before registrant became a Wisconsin 
resident and brought and/or registered the item in this state.

	 Purchased by a religious, charitable, educational organization. Wisconsin organizations 
must show the Department of Revenue exempt status number. 

	 Other. Enter reason (i.e., gift or even trade)

	 The purchaser paid tax on this purchase to the seller identified in Section C on page 1. 
Attach a copy of the bill of sale or other verification of tax paid.

	 Questions on tax? Contact DOR at (608) 266‑2776
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New Public Wisconsin Registration – PUBLIC USE – $30.00 – Snowmobile has not been previously registered in Wisconsin. Public registration allows
you to operate on areas open to the public and private property with the appropriate permission. 

Change of Ownership if Snowmobile Currently/Previously Registered in Wisconsin – TRANSFER – $5.00 – Snowmobile registration decals are 
current and on the machine.
•	 If decals are not on the machine, apply for Duplicate Decals below.
•	 If decals are expired, apply for Registration Renewal below.

Private Property Use Only – PRIVATE USE – $0.00 – Snowmobile used exclusively on land owned or leased by you or a member of your immediate family.    
(Plus check $5.00 transfer fee box above if snowmobile previously registered in Wisconsin.)  Non-expiring and non-transferable to new applicant.

Registration Renewal – PUBLIC USE – $30.00 – Snowmobile is registered in your name in Wisconsin or you are applying to transfer into your name AND 
snowmobile registration is expired.

Antique Registration – ANTIQUE – $20.00 – Snowmobile is new to WI registration system or is currently registered in Wisconsin, but has not been 
previously registered as antique AND has a model year 35 years or older at the time of registration.  Allows you to operate on areas open to the public 
and private property with the appropriate permission and is exempt from the trail pass requirement.  

Antique Renewal – $5.00 – Snowmobile is registered as antique in your name in Wisconsin or you are applying to transfer into your name AND antique 
snowmobile registration is expired.

Municipal – $5.00 – County, city, village, schools or police (original/renewal).

Duplicate Registration Certificate Card – $5.00

Duplicate Decals – $5.00

NOTE:  Snowmobiles are not titled in the State of Wisconsin.  New, renewal, and transfer/renewals include decals and certificate card.

Total Sales Tax Due
(from Section E, line 7 above) 		  $

Snowmobile Registration Fees
(from Section F above)  	 +	 $

Snowmobile Trail Pass Fee
(from Section B above) 	 +	 $

Cherish Wisconsin Donation
(optional, minimum $2.00 donation) 	 +	 $

TOTAL DUE	 =	 $

Wisconsin Snowmobile Registration Application Form 9400‑210 (R. 1/24)

Make check or money order payable to WDNR.

Mail application, payment, and supporting documents to:

DNR PROCESSING CENTER
PO BOX 78701
MILWAUKEE WI 53278-0701

E.	 Purchase and Sales Tax Information
Date of Purchase Wisconsin County Applicable state, county and city sales tax must be paid unless a sales tax exemption 

applies. State sales tax is 5%.

Additional county and/or city sales tax also applies if the snowmobile is

(1) received in a taxable county  and/or city or
(2) stored or used in a taxable county and/or city, whichever occurs first

See sales tax rate chart (link #6) at revenue.wi.gov/SalesTaxRates.

See attached instructions for help with this form and calculating fees and taxes.

Trade-in Description: Describe any property you traded in 
on the purchase of this item. Include the serial number and/
or registration number.

7.	 Total Sales Tax Due ►
	 Add lines 4, 5 and 6 and enter the
 	 total due.

1.	 Purchase Price ►
	 Include the amount for vehicle and.
	 accessories. Exclude trailer cost.
2.	 Trade-in Amount ►
	 Enter the trade-in dollar amount here
 	 and complete trade-in description below.

3.	 Total Taxable Amount ►
	 Subtract line 2 from line 1 and enter
 	 the amount. Enter 0 if tax exempt.

4.	 State Sales Tax (5%) ►
	 Multiply line 3 by .05.

6.	 City of Milwaukee Sales Tax (2%) ►
	 Does city of Milwaukee tax apply?
		  Yes	 No
	 If city of Milwaukee sales tax applies,
	 multiply line 3 by .02 and check the
 	 appropriate box above.

5.	 County Sales Tax ►
	 If county tax applies, multiply line 3 by the
	 county tax amount. See sales tax rate chart.

$

- $

= $

+ $

+ $

+ $

= $

F.	 Registration Fees (expires June 30 – valid for 3 years beginning April 1st – registration fees are not prorated)

www.revenue.wi.gov/SalesTaxRates
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GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

Purpose of Form. Use Form 9400‑210 if you are the new owner of a snowmobile and and are applying for a registration certificate. You may also submit this 
request online at gowild.wi.gov.

Fee. Registration fees and sales tax apply. Snowmobile registrations are valid for 3 years expiring on June 30th of the 3rd year.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS 

Read the instructions below to ensure that you provide all the required information. Failure to provide required information may cause significant delays in 
processing and may result in the denial of the application for registration.

SECTION A – Applicant Information
Provide your name, DNR customer number or driver’s license number, driver’s license state, mailing address, date of birth, citizenship information, Social 
Security number or business Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN), phone number and email address. The applicant identified in this section will 
be considered the registrant by the department. All information related to the snowmobile and future correspondence from the department will be sent 
exclusively to the registrant. Your Social Security number or Federal Employer Identification Number is required by the Wisconsin Department of Revenue for 
tax purposes.

SECTION B – Snowmobile Information
Enter all the information requested in this section in order to properly identify the snowmobile (all fields are required).

•	 Wisconsin Registration Number. The registration number can be found on the registration certificate. Snowmobiles previously registered in Wisconsin have 
a registration number beginning with SN followed by four numbers and two letters (e.g.,  SN 1234 AB).

•	 Serial Number. The serial number is a number assigned by the manufacturer and should be found on the snowmobile’s body or frame. This number is usually 
14-17 digits.

•	 Make & Model. The make and model name/number of the snowmobile cannot be the same.

•	 Model Year. Enter the model year of the snowmobile.

•	 Nickname. The nickname of the snowmobile is optional and helps differentiate between vehicles within your registration records (i.e., red or John’s).

•	 Width. Enter the width of the snowmobile. Width cannot exceed 48 inches.

•	 Engine Size (cc) or indicate Electric. Measured in cubic centimeters (cc) or write in ‘electric’ if applicable.

•	 Horsepower. Enter the horsepower of the snowmobile.

•	 Wisconsin Snowmobile Trail Pass. A Wisconsin Snowmobile Trail Pass is required to be displayed on all registered snowmobiles operating on a Wisconsin 
snowmobile trail or corridor. A snowmobile that is registered as Antique in the state of Wisconsin is exempt from this requirement. Check the box to purchase a 
Wisconsin Snowmobile Trail Pass for $30.00 for the snowmobile listed in Section B. A discounted Wisconsin Snowmobile Trail Pass is available for snowmobiles 
that are registered in Wisconsin and are owned by a person who is both a member of a snowmobile club and a member of AWSC. If you qualify, you may 
purchase the discounted snowmobile trail pass at http://www.awsc.org.

SECTION C – Who Did You Obtain the Snowmobile From?
Provide the complete name and address of the previous owner or dealer.

If purchased from a Wisconsin dealer, the dealer must sign and date this section for the application to be used as a temporary operating receipt. ss. 350.12(3)(c)
and (5)(b), Wis. Stats.

Pursuant to s. 350.01(13), Wis. Stats., “snowmobile dealer” means “any person engaged in the sale of snowmobiles for a profit at wholesale or retail.”

A copy of this form may only be used as a temporary operating receipt if the snowmobile was purchased from a Wisconsin authorized dealer and the dealer has 
signed in Section C above. The temporary operating receipt must be carried at all times while operating the snowmobile until the registration documents are 
received and the decals are affixed to the snowmobile. ss. 350.12(3)(c) and (5)(b), Wis. Stats.

SECTION D – Applicant Signature/Date
Sign and date the form to acknowledge the information provided is correct.

SECTION E – Purchase and Sales Tax Information
Taxes are calculated based on the purchase price, county, city and trade-in amount. To calculate tax, enter all fields requested in the electronic form or follow 
calculation instructions in this section. A 5% state sales tax must be collected for all nonexempt private party or dealer sales; this includes sales to out-of-state 
customers who will remove and register the snowmobile outside of Wisconsin. County and city sales taxes are applied based on where the snowmobile was 
received or where it will be stored/used if received in a county and/or city that does not impose tax.

•	 Date of Purchase. Enter the date the snowmobile was purchased.

•	 Wisconsin County. Most Wisconsin counties impose a county sales tax. County and/or city sales tax applies if:

	 ◦	 The snowmobile was received in a taxable county and/or city of Milwaukee or

	 ◦	 The snowmobile will be stored or used in a taxable county and/or city of Milwaukee, whichever occurs first.

	 ◦	 Enter or select the appropriate Wisconsin county fromt the drop down box based on the bullet points above. For more information, see sales tax rate chart (link
	  	 #6) at revenue.wi.gov/SalesTaxRates for which sales and use tax rates apply.

•	 Purchase Price. Enter the snowmobile purchase price including accessories but excluding the trailer cost.

•	 Trade-in Amount. Enter the dollar amount for any trade-in included in the purchase.

•	 Trade-in Description. Enter the description of the trade-in including any serial number or registration number.

If you need help determining the sales tax rates that apply to a specific location in Wisconsin, see revenue.wi.gov/salestaxlookup.
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Tax Exemptions.  Wisconsin state law exempts certain types of transactions from the payment of state or local sales taxes, such as transactions between certain 
family members or taxes already paid to the seller. If you qualify for a tax exemption, check the box indicating the exemption reason. You may be asked to provide 
proof of exemption.  Additional information on specific tax exemptions can be found below. 

•	 If the item was previously registered in Wisconsin and purchased or received from parent, spouse, or child. Select the exemption and also check the box for the 
relationship within the section.  A purchase from a sibling or grandparent is not tax exempt.  

•	 Retailer/lessor who will rent or sell the item, must include the FEIN (Federal Employer Identification Number).

•	 Tax paid to another state. Attach a copy of your bill of sale or other verification of tax paid to another state. Note: Sales tax paid to another state on the item 
reported on this application may be claimed as a credit to reduce the Wisconsin tax due. If tax was paid in another state, subtract the state, county or similar tax 
paid from the Wisconsin state, county and/or city tax due. Enter the remaining amount of Wisconsin tax payable.

•	 Other.  Check the box if you are exempt and provide a description of the exemption reason in the space provided.  

Questions on tax? 

Contact the Department of Revenue at (608) 266-2776 or visit their website at  www.revenue.wi.gov.

SECTION F – Registration Fees
For snowmobiles not previously registered in Wisconsin, check the box next to the new registration type you are applying for. Use the descriptions for each type 
of registration to determine what you will need to operate legally. You may choose Public OR Private, but not both. Antique registration is only available for a 
snowmobile with a model year 35 years or older at the time of registration.

•	 Choose Public Registration to operate on areas open to the public and private property with the appropriate permission. 

•	 Choose Private Property use only if operating exclusively on land owned or leased by you or a member of your immediate family. Immediate family means 
persons who are related as spouses, as siblings, or as parent and child.

•	 Choose Antique Registration to operate on areas open to the public and private property with the appropriate permission if the model year of the snowmobile is 
35 years or older.

•	 Choose Municipal Registration if the snowmobile is owned and operated by a political subdivision of the state (e.g., county, city, village, school, or the police). If the 
snowmobile displays the name of the political subdivision on the cowling, the snowmobile is exempt from registration. 

A transfer fee applies for snowmobiles previously registered in Wisconsin. Once the transfer fee is paid, you will receive a certificate card in your name. This card 
must be carried at all times when the snowmobile is being operated.

If the registration is not current (expired), check the Registration Renewal box.

If the registration is current but the decals are not displayed on the machine, check the box to purchase Duplicate Decals.

Note that snowmobiles are not titled in the State of Wisconsin.

SUBMISSION OF FORM

Make check or money order payable to WDNR.  Mail this application, payment and supporting documents to: 

	 DNR PROCESSING CENTER
	 PO BOX 78701
	 MILWAUKEE WI 53278-0701

PROCESSING INFORMATION 

Initial processing. Once the department receives your application, the department will review it for completeness. If the form is not complete and/or required 
documents are not submitted, the department may deny your application.

Request for more information. The department may request that you provide more information or evidence to support your application.    

Decision. The department will review your application for snowmobile registration and may approve, deny, or request more information. The registration will 
be mailed to the address of the registrant.

DOCUMENTS AND MATERIALS. The department may issue one or all of the following documents. These documents and materials will be sent to the address 
provided in Section A of the application.

Certificate of registration. The certificate of registration contains the registration number issued by the department. It is a small wallet-sized card and must be 
carried by the person operating the snowmobile and available for inspection. 

Two registration decals. The registration decals are color coded to indicate the expiration year of the registration. Registration decals must be prominently  
visible on both sides of the cowling and visible to law enforcement.

Wisconsin Snowmobile Trail Pass. Snowmobile trail passes are color coded to indicate the expiration year of the snowmobile trail pass. The snowmobile trail 
pass decal must be permanently affixed to the bottom center portion of the snowmobile windshield. If no windshield is available, the pass may be displayed in 
a highly visible location that is forward of the operator. Snowmobile trail passes arrive in a separate envelope from the registration.

AUTHORITIES

The information and registration fees are collected by the department under ch. 350.12, Wis. Stats.   
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