LRP - Licenses

LRP - Regulations

LRP - Permits

Recreation - Statewide

Recreation - Trapping

Recreation - Fishing

Recreation - Hunting

Env. Protection - Management

Env. Protection - Emergency

Env. Protection - Resources

To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please enter your contact information below.



 
Shooting Ranges

Take Aim! Find a shooting range near you!

novice adult hunters

Not just for kids! Novice adult hunters at LTH turkey event.

Sign up
for an event near you.
Get started
purchase your license and permits at Go Wild.
Get involved
mentor a new hunter today.
Partner
with the DNR and become a volunteer instructor.
Take Aim!
find a shooting range near you.
Contact information
For information about the Learn to Hunt program, contact:
Learn to Hunt coordinator
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
Bureau of Law Enforcement, R3 LE/8
P.O. Box 7921
Madison, WI 53707-7921
608-220-0668

Learn to HuntLocal. Sustainable. Food.

Learn to hunt programs combine classroom instruction and field work before a novice goes hunting with an experienced hunter. They are a great way to introduce someone new to Wisconsin's hunting heritage.

Viewupcoming learn to hunts.


In light of COVID-19,the Wisconsin DNR is currently cancelling all DNR-approved Learn To Hunt Events until further notice. We apologize for any inconvenience this evolving situation has caused you.

How to host a Learn to Hunt

Help protect Wisconsin's hunting heritage and enjoy the thrill of helping someone experience their first hunt by hosting a Learn to Hunt. We've streamlined the process to make it easier for your group to host these events, including removing the requirement to get landowner signatures. We can help cover costs and we can help you find insurance.

Steps for hosting

  1. Choose the dates and locations of your class and hunt.
  2. Complete, sign and send Form 2300-260 (Authorization to conduct) [PDF] to your local wildlife biologist at least 30 days in advance of the first hunt date.
    • This form can be scanned and emailed or mailed to your local wildlife biologist.
  3. Complete and send Form 8500-167 (Authorized mentors) [PDF] to the Learn to Hunt coordinator at least 15 days in advance of the first hunt date.
    • All Learn to Hunt mentors shall have at least five years of hunting experience.
    • All Learn to Hunt mentors must pass the department-authorized background check every 5 years. New or expired mentors must complete Form 4100-217 (Background check) [PDF] and send it to the Learn to Hunt coordinator at least 30 days in advance of the first hunt date.
  4. Recruit novice hunters to attend your Learn to Hunt. We highly encourage groups to focus on recruiting participants who would not otherwise have the chance to experience hunting—both youth and adults. You can advertise your Learn to Hunt on this web page by emailing the class date(s), hunt date(s), county, location and contact information to the Learn to Hunt coordinator.
  5. Consider obtaining insurance for your Learn to Hunt. While DNR can't insure Learn to Hunts because there is not a formal certification program in place for training and hosting Learn to Hunts, we have partnered with the Hunters Network of Wisconsin to find an insurance provider that will write policies. Call John W. Klinzing at 608-310-3924 for any questions about the availability and details of this insurance option.

Report out after the Learn to Hunt is complete

After the hunt, the applicant must complete and send Form 8500-166 (Participent Report) [PDF] to the Learn to Hunt coordinator.

Consider seeking Learn to Hunt reimbursement from DNR

Sponsors also may want to apply for the Learn to Hunt reimbursement program for reimbursement of up to $25 per student.

Learn to Hunt programs

Learn to Hunt information

Last revised: Thursday March 26 2020