Citizen Resolution # 040820

(For Hearing Officer completion)

Bear Baiting Rule Change

Wisconsin DNR allows 6 months of black bear baiting at an unlimited number of
unregistered baiting stations beginning April 156. Minnesota and Michigan are
limitEd to 3 tended bait stations per registered hunter, beginning 15 and 11-31
days prior to their hunts. Most states permitting baiting require registration (name
and contact information of responsible party).

Wisconsin’s bear baiting regulations continue to result in unmonitored and illegal
baiting. Our national forest has become a dumping ground of sugar piles
frequented by other wildlife species, allowing for the spread of diseases. lllegal
bait placed too close to highways poses risks to drivers and wildlife. Wardens
admit they cannot devote the manpower to address citizen complaints and tip line
violations they receive throughout baiting season.

Wisconsin must implement changes that allow enforcement of legal baiting. The
number of sites per hunter must be limited, site registration must be required, and
season limited to 31 days vs 5 months prior to hunt. Disputes between sitters and
hound hunters about what is “fair” need to be worked out between parties.

Be it resolved on April 6th 2020 that the Conservation Congress, at its annual
meeting in Bayfield County, work with the Wisconsin DNR to amend our black bear
baiting regulations through the introduction of rule changes limiting bear baiting
to three registered bait stations per licensed hunter. Baiting would start no earlier
than thirty days prior to bear hunting season.
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Resolutions introduced at each Spring Hearing are public documents under Wisconsin's Open Records law [ss. 19.31-19.39, Wis.
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Contact one of your local WCC delegates with questions or for assistance with writing your resolution.
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