Citizen Resolution # 450521

(For Hearing Officer completion)

Black Bear Baiting Regulations

Wisconsin's lengthy, liberal bear baiting rules allow 5.5 months of baiting an
unlimited number of bait stations. In sharp contrast, Minnesota and Michigan limit
bear baiting to 3 tended bait stations per registered hunter for 2 months. Stations
may be moved upon submission of a relocation form to the DNR.

Problem: Wisconsin has NO baiting registration requirements. Our wardens admit
they cannot devote time or manpower needed to investigate the number of baiting
violations submitted to the DNR hotline. The long baiting season increases the
chances of disease transmission among myriad wildlife feeding at these stations all
summer long, bear-hound-wolf conflicts, and bear habituation to foods found
among humans at campgrounds and homes.

States that mandate fixed identification of bear bait stations include a combination
of the following: GPS coordinates, name, address, driver's license or DNR hunting
license number, township section and range, and signage. Required identification
results in more hunter accountability and allows wardens to swiftly identify
violations. A shorter baiting season decreases the number of conflicts around
these stations and encourages bears to eat a natural diet readily available in the
woods where they belong.

Resolution: Be it resolved on April 12, 2021, that the Conservation Congress in
Outagamie County work with the Wisconsin DNR to amend Wisconsin's black bear
baiting regulations through the introduction of rule changes to require that bear
bait sites be identified and to limit baiting to no earlier than thirty days prior to bear
hunting season.
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Resolutions introduced at each Spring Hearing are public documents under Wisconsin's Open Records law [ss. 19.31-19.39, Wis.
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