Snowmobiling in Wisconsin
Wisconsin is the birthplace of snowmobiling and continues to offer some of the best snowmobiling opportunities you are likely to find, especially in northern Wisconsin. More than 200,000 registered snowmobiles hit Wisconsin's 25,000 miles of groomed trails each winter, making safety an important part of the ride. Ride smart from the start - take a snowmobile safety course!
If you were born on or after Jan. 1, 1985, and are at least age 12, you must complete a snowmobile safety certification course to operate a snowmobile on Wisconsin public snowmobile trails and areas. DNR recreational safety specialists recommend snowmobile operators complete a safety course.
Changes coming in 2015: snowmobile registrations and trail passes
2013 Wisconsin Act 142 takes effect July 1, 2015. Provisions include:
- $30 for a three-year registration.
- purchase and display of an annual trail pass required to use public trails.
- a $20 savings off the standard $30 trail pass fee for members of both a snowmobile club and the Association of Wisconsin Snowmobile Clubs.
- Nonresident trail passes will increase from $35 to $50.
- The new fee structure supports local trail maintenance and will generate additional revenue for the state snowmobile program fund.
- Contact Information
Snowmobile/ATV Operations Program Associate
Trail grant manager