A CHRONOLOGY OF WISCONSIN DEER
HUNTING: FROM CLOSED SEASONS TO
RECORD HARVESTS

Wisconsin has a long and storied tradition of regulated gun deer hunting
stretching all the way back to 1851. There have been many changes over
the years, but few as notable as those experienced by hunters during the
late 1990s and early 21st century.

1834 - Lafayette County, first reported crop damage by deer.

1851 - First closed season for deer, Feb. 1 - June 30; Indians permitted to
hunt anytime.

1876 - Hunting with dogs prohibited statewide.

1887 - Two game wardens appointed by governor at a monthly salary of
$50; night hunting prohibited statewide.

1888 - Game laws published in pamphlet form.

1890 - First chief warden appointed.

1892 - Lawful to kill any dog running or hunting deer.

1895 - Sheboygan first county closed to deer hunting; deer cannot be
transported unless accompanied by hunter; last October deer season in
state.

1897 - First bag limit for deer, two per season; resident license costs $1,
nonresident license costs $30; estimated license sales total 12,000.

1900 - Twelve hunters killed by firearms.

1903 - Estimated 78,164 licenses sold.

1905 - Salt licks prohibited.

1909 - Season 20 days long, limit one deer; first civil service exam given on
a competitive basis for prospective wardens.

1910 - Deer populations drop to record low numbers due to unregulated
hunting and market shooting.

1914 - Twenty-four hunters killed, 26 injured; license sales at 155,000
1915 - First buck only season.

1917 - Shining deer illegal while possessing a firearm; Conservation
Commission delegated some powers related to deer season, but legislature



retains authority to set seasons; deer tags (paper) required for the first
time...they cost 10 cents.

1919 - Estimated kill is 25,152.

1920 - First use of metal deer tags...they cost 10 cents.

1921 - Wardens are instructed that "all deer found in possession...with
horns less than three inches in length, is a fawn and should be confiscated."
1924 - Estimated kill is 7,000.

1925 - Legislature passes law closing deer season in alternate years.

1927 - No open season.

1928 - Deer hunters required to wear official conservation button while
hunting; Game Division formed with Conservation Department; estimated
kill is 17,000 with 69,049 deer tags sold.

1929 - No open season.

1930 - Estimated kill is 23,000 with 70,284 deer tags sold. First deer killed
by a bowhunter.

1931 - No open season.

1932 - Deer tag price is raised to $1; estimated kill is 36,009 with 70,245
deer tags sold.

1933 - No open season; Conservation Congress, an advisory group
representing public opinion registered at annual county hearings, begins to
assist the Conservation Commission in establishing a deer management
policy.

1934 - First official archery deer season; estimated gun Kkill is 21,251 with
83,939 deer tags sold.

1935 - No open season.

1937 - Shortest deer season on record, three days.

1938 - Use of .22 rifle and .410 shotgun prohibited.

1939 - Licensed children between ages 12 and 16 must be accompanied by
parent or guardian; buckshot prohibited statewide.

1941 - Deer predators rare, timber wolves nearing extinction; estimated
gun kill is 40,403 with 124,305 deer tags sold.

1942 - Back tags required while deer hunting.

1943 - First doe and fawn season in 24 years. The 1943 season was unique
in Wisconsin, with a "split season" with forked (>1" fork) bucks-only for 4
days followed by a 3-day closure and then 4 days of antlerless-only
(128,000 harvest).



1945 - First year of 'shotgun only' counties; wearing red clothing required
while hunting deer.

1949 - The 1949 season was an unusual any-deer hunt - bucks with more
than a two-inch fork were protected (159,000 harvest).

1950 - First 'any deer' season since 1919; estimated gun kill is 167,911
with 312,570 deer tags sold.

1951 - Deer hunting license and tag cost $2.50; orange clothing now
included under red clothing law; Wisconsin leads nation in whitetail deer Kill
for third consecutive year.

1953 - First season gun deer hunters required to register deer at checking
station.

1954 - Two-thirds of bucks harvested are less than three years old; portions
of Walworth and Waukesha Counties and all of Jefferson County open for the
first time since 1906.

1956 - 100th established gun deer season; registered gun Kill is 35,562
with 294,645 deer tags sold.

1957 - Legislature authorizes party permit.

1958 - Longest deer season since 1916, 16 days; Rock County open for the
first time since 1906; first harvest by deer management unit (in northwest
and northeast only); registered gun kill is 95,234, of which 44,987 taken by
party permit; 335,866 deer tags and 58,348 party permits sold,
respectively.

1959 - First statewide deer registration by unit; Game Management Division
of Conservation Department assumes responsibility for coordinating the
state's deer program; first open season in Kenosha County since 1906.
1960 - Hunter not permitted to buy a license after opening day of gun
season; Green and Racine Counties open for the first time since 1906; all
counties now open except Milwaukee; registered gun Kkill is 61,005, of which
25,515 taken by party permit; 338,208 deer tags and 47,522 party permits
sold, respectively.

1961 - Resident big game license increased from $4 to $5; first use of SAK -
sex-age-kill population-reconstruction technique for estimating deer
numbers; hunters required to transport deer openly while driving to
registration station; legislation authorizing unit specific quotas for antlerless
harvest established.



1962 - Deer population above 400,000; deer management unit specific
population goals established.

1963 - First year of quota party permits in eight management units;
assassination of President Kennedy lessens hunting pressure.

1964 - Party permit quota extended to 32 management units.

1967 - Hunter Safety Education Program begins.

1970 - Registered gun kill is 72,844 with 501,799 licenses sold; 13 hunters
killed.

1973 - No deer season fatalities.

1978 - Record registered gun kill is 150,845 with 644,594 licenses sold.
1980 - Blaze orange clothing required; first season of Hunter's Choice
permit; new law prohibits shining wild animals from 10pm to 7pm, Sept. 15
- Dec. 31; coyote season closed in northern management units to protect
nascent wolf population.

1981 - Record registered deer kill of 166,673 with 629,034 licenses sold.
1982 - Another record registered gun kill of 182,715 with 637,320 licenses
sold; three deer season fatalities.

1983 - Harvest continues to rise with another record registered gun kill of
197,600 with 649,972 licenses sold; experimental antlerless deer shunt in
six southern management units to relieve crop damage.

1984 - Big jump in registered kill, fourth record harvest in a row of 255,726
with license sales totaling 657,969; handgun deer hunting allowed in
shotgun areas; group hunting legalized.

1985 - Fifth consecutive record kill of 274,302 with 670,329 licenses sold;
deer season extended in 21 management units; legislature further
strengthens road hunting restrictions.

1986 - Gun deer season now nine days statewide; landowner preference
program begins for Hunter's Choice permits.

1987 - First year of bonus antlerless permits; seven fatalities and 46
injuries.

1988 - Handguns permitted statewide.

1989 - Record registered gun harvest of 310,192 with 662,280 licenses
sold; pre-hunt herd estimate of 1.15 million deer; two fatalities and 37
firearm injuries.

1990 - License sales peak at 699,275. Another record gun kill of 350,040,
including 209,005 antlerless deer; archers take 49,291 deer; pre-hunt herd



estimate of 1.3 million; season extended for seven days in 67 management
units.

1991 - First year of separate, seven-day muzzleloader season; third
consecutive year of record gun harvest, 352,330; archery harvest jumps to
69,097; hunters allowed to buy more than one antlerless permit.

1992 - Natural Resources Board approves DNR secretary's recommendation
to keep the gun season at nine days; new metro management units
established around La Crosse, Madison and Milwaukee. After three record-
breaking harvests, gun harvest drops to 288,820, still the fourth highest on
record.

1993 - Pre-hunt herd population at 1 million with many units below
prescribed goals; 34 units, mainly in the north, designated as buck-only
units; license sales dip to 652,491; gun harvest at 217,584, archers take
53,008 deer; one fatality, 17 firearm injuries.

1994 - Gun harvest back up, by more than 90,000, to 307,629. Hunters
Choice permit widely available; six northwest management units remain
buck only; herd beginning to build up in southern agricultural range.

1995 - For the first time hunters can use their bonus or Hunter's Choice
permits in either the gun, bow or muzzleloader seasons; gun harvest totals
398,002, a new state record; archers Kkill a record 69,269 deer; 32 firearm
incidents, one fatality.

1996 - First October gun deer hunt since 1897; "Earn-a-Buck" rules,
requiring hunters to harvest a doe before taking a buck, established in 19
deer management units in agricultural range; special four-day, antlerless-
only season in October in all 19 of these DMUs. October gun harvest is
24,954 deer.

1997 - The safest gun season ever with one fatality and 10 injuries; 'Earn a
Buck' provision scuttled; early Zone T (October gun) season in seven
management units and three state parks.

1998 -Gun harvest of 332,254 is fifth highest; bow hunters take a record
75,301 deer, 18.5 percent of total; 19 firearm incidents with two fatalities;
after a mild winter, most DMUs estimated to be above population goals;
early October season held in one management unit, 67A.

1999 - Record gun harvest of 402,204 deer; record archery harvest at
92,203; licensed hunters at 690,194, second highest to date; resident deer
license costs $20; non-resident license $135; early archery season,



traditionally closed a week before November gun hunt, is extended in all 7
Zone T units through the Thursday preceding the traditional gun opener.
2000 - The gun harvest jumps by more than 125,000 deer to an all-time
record of 528,494. With 694,712 licensed gun hunters, their success rate is
an astonishing 76 percent. By comparison, in the 43 years from 1966 to
2009, the average success rate for gun hunters is 37 percent.

2001 - Routine testing by DNR, weeks after the close of hunting, reveals
that three deer harvested in the Town of Vermont in Dane County had CWD,
or chronic wasting disease. The gun harvest drops to 361,264, still the fifth
highest on record and higher than any harvest prior to 1995. Archery
harvest remains high at 83,120, so the total harvest is fourth highest on
record. October and December Zone T gun hunts in 67 DMUs.

2002 - The DNR and hunters begin looking for answers after CWD is found
for the first time in wild deer east of the Mississippi River. For two decades,
the always fatal, contagious disease had been largely confined, in the wild,
to deer and elk in Colorado and Wyoming. DNR reacts aggressively, setting
up a CWD management zone, with expanded hunting, and a smaller disease
eradication zone, with a 14-week gun hunt. DNR samples 41,000 deer
statewide for CWD. License sales drop 10 percent.

2003 - Bow hunters harvest a record 95,607 deer. Gun deer license sales up
14 percent over 2002, climbing to 644,818. Earn-a-buck rules in effect and
no bag limit in the CWD management zone in southwest Wisconsin; 115 wild
deer test positive for CWD with all but two positives from the disease
eradication zone.

2004 - Hunters set a new record with venison donations by giving 10,938
deer yielding nearly 500,000 pounds of venison for food pantries across the
state. Widespread use of earn-a-buck and Zone T hunts. Bow hunters set
yet another record, harvesting 103,572 deer. License sales up slightly to
649,955.

2005 - Top five gun deer harvest counties - all located in central Wisconsin -
are Marathon (15,871), Clark (13,918), Waupaca (12,260), Shawano
(11,748) and Jackson (11,461). DNR tests 4,500 deer in the agency's
northeast region and CWD not detected.

2006 - Gun deer license sales at 644,906. Demographics show a gradually
declining number of hunters nationwide due to a variety of changing social
conditions. DNR, wildlife organizations and hunting clubs across state are



ramping up efforts to encourage young hunters. NRB has approved a special,
2-day youth hunt in early October. Total gun harvest is 393,306, fifth
highest on record.

2007 - Wisconsin's 156th deer season; archery harvest peaks at 116,010
deer; gun hunt now lasts 23 days in the CWD Zones; 57 of Wisconsin's 130
DMU's have earn-a-buck rules.

2008 - Most of southern Wisconsin now lies within the new CWD-
management zone; focus has shifted to managing rather than eliminating
the disease; rifles can be used to hunt deer in previously shotgun-only areas
of the CWD zone; more than 642,000 licensed hunters kill 352,601 deer
during all gun seasons.

2009 - The new "Mentored Hunting Program" is introduced, allowing any
licensed hunter aged 18 or older to take any new hunter age 10 or older on
a hunt. The mentor does not carry a weapon and stays within arm's reach of
the novice. Nine-day gun hunt opens with unseasonably warm temperatures
and heavy fog throughout much of the state. Gun harvest drops to 241,862.
2010 - Hunters may now divide a deer into up to five parts (four quarters
plus the head attached to the spinal column and rib cage) to facilitate
removal from the field. Hunting regulations are available on DNR's web site;
18 DMUs in the north have buck-only hunting during both gun and bow
seasons to allow herd to grow in the north. No earn-a-buck units except in
CWD zone.

2011-Archery season is permanently extended to run through the gun deer
season. Hunters report higher deer numbers in north. There are no October
herd control hunts outside the CWD Management Zone. . Earn-a-buck rules
are completely eliminated by legislation statewide and hunters in the CWD
Management Zone may shoot a buck first. Earn a Buck is replaced with
"bonus buck". CWD detected in a doe harvested outside of Shell Lake in
Washburn County, prompting sampling and public outreach. State hires
independent deer trustee to review Wisconsin deer management. DNR
embarks on multi-million, multi-year study to quantify various causes of
deer death (whether by hunter, disease, weather, vehicle collision or
predation by wolf, bear or coyote). More than 400 hunters volunteer help
make the first year of field research a success.

2012 - For the first time since 1995, there are no October herd-control gun
hunts anywhere in the state. CWD zone hunters can take additional bucks



http://dnr.wi.gov/topic/hunt/regulations.html

under "bonus buck" rules. Anyone may now hunt with a crossbow during any
gun deer season. Hunter participation in deer field research remains strong;
$5 introductory licenses for various game species are introduced to help
recruit new hunters and encourage past hunters to return. Bowhunters set
an all-time record harvest of bucks.

2013 - Rifles allowed for hunting statewide after research shows they pose
no greater risk than shotguns even in more populated counties. Hunting
allowed in most state parks for the first time for about a month in the spring
and a month in the fall, with archery hunting in parks running longer. Citizen
"action teams" working on the Deer Trustee Report complete their
recommendations, the DNR prepares proposed changes to deer
management and 35 public hearings are held statewide. One proposal:
reduce the number of deer management units, either by combining units or
managing deer by county. CWD surveillance expanded in Adams, Juneau
and Portage counties after four deer test positive outside the CWD
management zone in southern Wisconsin.

2014 -A crossbow season for deer is established for the first time, and the
sale of crossbow licenses is robust. The crossbow season runs concurrently
with the archery season, from mid-September through the first weekend in
January. Crossbow permits are no longer limited to handicapped hunters or
those aged 65 or older. Deer management units now coincide with county
lines and fall under "farmland" or "forest" zones. After a second consecutive
severe winter, antlerless permits are eliminated in 19 forest zone counties.
As a precursor to a major change scheduled for 2015, a pilot program for
electronic deer registration is established.

2015 - First year of electronic registration for recording harvested deer,
allowing hunter to use a telephone or a computer with internet access to
record their deer harvest. Over 309,000 deer are registered, including a new
buck harvest record for archery/crossbow hunters. County Deer Advisory
Councils and citizen involvement through programs like the Deer
Management Assistance Program continue to play a key role in decision
making and resource and habitat management as we enter a new era of

deer hunting in Wisconsin.
2016 - The requirement to wear a backtag is eliminated, and blaze pink is

allowed as a legal hunting color. Deer are no longer required to be tagged
immediately upon recovery. A new licensing system, Go Wild, is introduced



and gives hunters added convenience to purchase licenses and tags. County
Deer Advisory Councils continue to play a key role in deer management in
Wisconsin and provide feedback to help shape the 2016 season structure.



