LRP - Licenses

LRP - Regulations

LRP - Permits

Recreation - Statewide

Recreation - Trapping

Recreation - Fishing

Recreation - Hunting

Env. Protection - Management

Env. Protection - Emergency

Env. Protection - Resources

To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please enter your contact information below.



 

Boating crash incident reports

The Department of Natural Resources compiles annual reports each January on boating fatal crash statistics. This report contains information on boat registration, safety tips, number of safety students and instructors, number of fatal and non-fatal crashes, and types of and factors involved with fatal crashes. A complete copy of the most recent annual report is available below, and may also be requested by email (please provide a U.S. postal service mailing address).

  • Boating fatality summaries

  • Boating annual incident reports [PDF]

U.S. Coast Guard 2014 Recreational Boating Statistics

Reporting a boating incident

A "reportable" boat incident is any incident (regardless of the number of boats involved) that results in loss of life, injuries that require medical treatment beyond first aid, boat or property damage in excess of $2,000, or complete loss of a boat.

Wisconsin law requires every boat operator involved in a reportable boat incident to report the incident without delay to law enforcement officials. In addition, within 10 days of the incident, the operator must submit a written report:

Form 4100-020 [PDF] (Boat Operator Incident Report Form)

Spanish Version USCG Operator Report Form [PDF] (Operator Boating Incident Report Form)

For Law Enforcement Use only: Form 4100-142 [PDF] (Officer Boat Incident Investigation)

Forms are also available from DNR offices, sheriff's departments and many local police departments. Additionally, forms may be requested from and completed forms mailed to:

Wisconsin DNR
Boating Program - LE/8
PO Box 7921
Madison WI 53707-7921

  • Failure to comply with the above requirements is punishable by a penalty up to $326.
  • Pursuant to Section 30.67(4), Wis. Stats., information from this report may not be used as evidence in a civil or criminal trial.
Last Revised: Wednesday April 05 2017