Start or Improve
a municipal forestry program.
Apply
for an Urban Forestry grant.
Prepare
your community for emerald ash borer using the EAB Toolbox.
Urban Forestry Council
Contact information
Laura Wyatt
Urban Forestry Council liaison
608-267-0568

Wisconsin Urban Forestry Council

Cover of the Wisconsin Urban Forestry Council 2013 report

The purpose of the council is to advise the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources on the best ways to preserve, protect, expand and improve Wisconsin's urban and community forest resources.

Bylaws: [PDF] Contains official purpose and goals, membership make-up, officer and committee descriptions, etc.

Past meeting agendas and minutes

Regular voting members

Position Description [PDF 19KB]

Member Information Affiliation / Phone Term Expires
Dr. R. Bruce Allison
Allison Tree Care, President
1830 Sugar River Road
Verona, WI 53593
Member at-large
(Council on Forestry Rep.)
608-271-4126
rallison2@wisc.edu
6/30/2015
Mr. Todd Chwala
Supt. Parks, Forestry and Cemeteries
1040 Forest Street
Eau Claire, WI 54703
Member at-large
(municipal forestry under 100,000)
715-839-5039
todd.chwala@eauclairewi.gov
6/30/2015
Mr. Christopher Deegan
Plant Protection Section Chief
2811 Agriculture Dr
Madison, WI 53708
DATCP
608-224-4573

Christopher.Deegan@wi.gov
6/30/2015
Ms. Patty Dreier 
County Executive             
Portage County  
1462 Strongs Ave
Stevens Point, WI 54481
Member at-large (elected official)
715-346-1997
715-346-1995 FAX
dreierp@co.portage.wi.us
6/30/2016
Mr. Thomas R. Dunbar, FASLA
5503 Morgan Road
Amherst, WI 54406
Member at-large (non-profit)
608-381-0836
dunbar.tom@gmail.com
6/30/2014
Mr. John DuPlissis
Forestry Outreach Specialist
UW-Stevens Point
Trainer NR Building – Room 362A
800 Reserve Street
Stevens Point, WI 54481-3897
UW-Extension
715-346-4128
715-346-4038 FAX
John.DuPlissis@uwsp.edu
6/30/2015
Ms. Marla Eddy - Chair
City Forester
City of Madison
1402 Wingra Creek Pkwy
Madison, WI 53715
Municipal Arborists (over 200,000)
608-266-4450
meddy@cityofmadison.com
6/30/2016
Mr. Mark Freberg
City Forester
City of Green Bay
100 N Jefferson St. Rm 510
Green Bay, WI 54301
Municipal Arborists (over 100,000)
920-448-3379
920-448-3393 FAX
MarkFr@greenbaywi.gov
6/30/2016
Ms. Brea Grace, AICP
City of Onalaska
415 Main Street
Onalaska, WI 54650
Member at-Large (Land Use and Development Director)
608-781-9590
608-781-9506 FAX
bgrace@cityofonalaska.com
6/30/2016
Mr. Daniel Green
Manager Line Clearance & Inspection
Alliant Energy
1001 Shaver Road NE
Cedar Rapids, Iowa 52402
Utility Arborist    
319-786-2010
DanGreen@alliantenergy.com
6/30/2015
Mr. August Hoppe
Hoppe Tree Service
6005 W. Wisconsin Ave.
Wauwatosa, WI 53213
Wisconsin Arborist Association
414-257-2111
info@hoppetreeservice.com
6/30/2016
Mr. Leif Hubbard, PLA ASLA
State Transportation Landscape Architect
PO Box 7986
Madison, WI 53707
WI Dept of Transportation
608-267-6884
608-267-7856 FAX
leif.hubbard@dot.state.wi.us
6/30/2014
Mr. Gregory W. Kessler AICP
Director - Community Development
3805 S. Casper Drive
New Berlin, WI 53151
Member at-large (community development)
262-797-2445 x2501
262-780-4612 FAX
gkessler@newberlin.org
6/30/2014
Mr. Thomas Landgraf
UW-Madison School of Business
Dimension Development, LLC
104 Ash Street
Madison, WI 53726
Member at-large (commercial development)
608-233-6898
608-235-4466 cell
608-233-9800 FAX
tom@dimdevllc.com
6/30/2015
Ms. Shirley Brabender Mattox
1313 Jackson St.
Oshkosh, WI 54901
Member at-large (citizen advocate)
920-233-2833
smattox@ameritech.net
6/30/2014
Mr. Donald Merkes
Mayor - City of Menasha
140 Main Street 
Menasha, WI 54952
Elected official
920-967-3600
920-967-5273 FAX
dmerkes@ci.menasha.wi.us
6/30/2016
Mr. Tony Nowak
Director of Parks and Forestry
Town of Greenville
P.O. Box 60
Greenville, WI 54942
WI Parks and Recreation Association
920-757-7266
920-757-6342 FAX
tnowak@townofgreenville.com
6/30/2016
Dr. Art Ode
Volunteer Forester-City of Bayfield
Professional horticulturist
236 S. Tenth Street
Bayfield, WI 54814
Member at-large
(municipal forestry under 10,000)
715-779-9779
715-779-9907 FAX
aode@charter.net
6/30/2016
Mr. Daniel Siewert
Line Clearance Coordinator
Wisconsin Public Service
2027 Navajo Street, P.O. Box 160
Rhinelander, WI 54501
Utility Arborist
715-369-7159
DESiewert@wisconsinpublicservice.com
6/30/2015
Ms. Katie Simonsen
Assistant Director
North Lakeland Discovery Center
P.O. Box 237
Manitowish Waters, WI 54545
Member at-large (non-profit)
715-543-2085
715-543-8982 FAX
katie@discoverycenter.net
6/30/2016
Mr. David Sivyer, Vice Chair
Forestry Services Manager
City of Milwaukee
841 North Broadway, Room 619
Milwaukee, WI 53202
Member at-large
(municipal forestry –Milwaukee)
414-286-3729
414-286-8097 FAX
David.Sivyer@milwaukee.gov
6/30/2015
Mr. Jordan Skiff
Director of Public Works
160 S. Macy Street
Fond du Lac, WI 54936
Public Works
920-322-3472
920-322-3402 FAX
jskiff@fdl.wi.gov
6/30/2014
Mr. Blake Theisen, PLA,ASLA, CPSI
SAA Design Group, Inc
101 East Badger Road
Madison, WI 53713
WI Chapter of ASLA
608-255-0800
608-255-7750 FAX
btheisen@saa-madison.com
6/30/2015
Mr. Jeffery Treu
N2609 Ottman Drive
Waupaca, WI 54981
Member at-large (citizen advocate)
jmtreu1@hotmail.com
6/30/2015
Ms. Kelli Tuttle - Past Chair
Bluestem Forestry Consulting Inc.
49910 South Loop Road
Drummond, WI 54832
Member at-large (consultants)
715-739-6831
bluestemforest@cheqnet.net
6/30/2016
Dr. Les Werner
University of Wisconsin - Stevens Point
CNR 800 Reserve St.
Stevens Point, WI 54481
University of Wisconsin System
715-346-4189
715-346-3624 FAX
lwerner@uwsp.edu
6/30/2015
Mr. Kevin Westphal
Superintendent of Parks & Forestry
P.O. Box 49
Cedarburg, WI 53012
Municipal Arborists (under 50,000)
262-375-7662, x4
262-375-7663 FAX
kwestphal@ci.cedarburg.wi.us
6/30/2015
Mr. Jeff Wolters
Johnson’s Nursery
W180 N6275 Marcy Road
Menomonee Falls, WI 53051
Wisconsin Green Industry Federation
414-940-5723
262-252-4495 FAX
jeff@johnsonsnursery.com
6/30/2015

Ex Officio Members, non-voting

Member Information Affiliation / Phone
Ms. Jill Johnson
Midwest Urban Forestry Coordinator
1992 Folwell Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55108
U.S. Forest Service
651-649-5253
651-649-5238 FAX
jilljohnson@fs.fed.us
Mr. Richard Rideout
WDNR Forestry Division
PO Box 7921
Madison, WI 53707
DNR Urban Forestry Special Assignment
608-267-0843
608-266-8576 FAX
Richard.Rideout@wi.gov
Mr. Jeff Roe
WDNR Forestry Division
PO Box 7921
Madison, WI 53707
DNR Urban Forestry Team Leader
608-264-6294
608-266-8576 FAX
Jeffrey.Roe@wi.gov
Ms. Olivia Witthun
WDNR – East Central Region
1155 Pilgrim Road
Plymouth, WI 53073
Regional Urban Forestry Coordinator Representative
920-892-8756 ext 3044
920-892-6638 FAX
Olivia.Witthun@wi.gov
Ms. Laura Wyatt
WDNR Forestry Division
PO Box 7921
Madison, WI 53707
DNR Urban Forestry Council Liaison, Partnership Specialist
608-267-0568
608-266-8576 FAX
Laura.Wyatt@wi.gov
Last Revised: Monday June 16 2014