DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

Madison, Wisconsin

PUBLIC NOTICE

NORTHERN HIGHLAND-AMERICAN LEGION
STATE FOREST

Invitation for Bids
Spring 2013

NHAL State Forest sales are certified as Sustainable Forest Products by FSC and SFI. Our SFI number is 1Y941-S1
dated May 5, 2004. The FSC number is SCS-FM/COC-00070N dated May 3, 2004.

Sealed bids will be received by the Forest Superintendent, Northern Highland-American Legion State Forest, at the Trout
Lake Forestry Headquarters, Boulder Junction, Wisconsin, up to 1:00 p.m. on Friday, May 3, 2013 for twenty four (24) tracts
on the Notthern Highland-American Legion State Forest.

Those tracts not sold on Friday, May 3rd will be re-advertised at the Fall 2013 bid opening, Any tract not sold in two bid
openings may be sold directly to responsible buyers at or above the current appraised value.

Bidding will close at 1:30 p.m. at the Boulder Junction Community Center. No bids wil be accepted past 1:30 p.m. on
May 3 for state sales.

PROCEDURE FOR BID OPENING

The order of public reading of the timber sale bids will be done on a random basis. It will not
be in tract order of first to last as in the past. At any time up until a sale is read out loud,
bidders may pull their bid(s) from consideration. This can be done in person, by calling
someone present at the bid opening to do this or by written insfructions presented to the DNR
forester conducting the bid opening procedures. It can not be done after the tract results are
announced. We hope this will make a better bid process for all.

BIDDING FOR STATE TIMBER SALES

Please note that there is a minimum total bid value listed for each sale. State sales only require that the
minimum total bid price be met or exceeded,

e An acceptable bid must have a price for each specie and product listed on every sale.
¢ Only the total has to meet the minimum total bid price advertised to be accepted as a valid bid.

Please be aware that the following items are of significant importance to successful contract compliance:
1. Be sure to read all of the conditions for each sale carefully. Failure to do so may result in financial penalties.
2. Maintenance of Worker's Compensation Certificate.
3.  Maintenance of surety bond and/or letters of credit for four (4) full years.
4.  Satisfactory compliance of all requirements and specifications listed in the contract, including:
A.  Successful purchasers of Northern Highland-American Legion State Forest stumpage will need to ensure
that the actual logging contractor complies with the Wisconsin Sustainable Forestry Initiative (SFI)

Training Standard as adopted by the Wisconsin SFI Implementation Committee (SIC). This will be
required prior to starting sale (contract signing).




B. Beginning with contracts dated January 1, 2004 and later, the State of Wisconsin will continue the 30 day
payment policy, Payments for scaled wood or haul ticket wood leaving the job must be received within 30
days of billing date. If a payment is later than 30 days, then a late interest penalty will apply. Violations
of payment provisions will result in contractor having to pre-pay for the remainder of that particular sale.
A violation for that contractor will also be logged onto the pre-payment only list, which will require all
payments on state timber sales be pre-paid for a two year time period. Successful completion of pre-
payments for 2 years will remove the contractor from the list and they can again have a 30-day payment
privilege. No advance stumpage is required unless the sale is designated lump sum.
The cutting of all trees specified on the timber sale map, which is part of the contract.
Prompt and proper treatment of all slash where required. It is the responsibility of the timber contractor to
spread out all landing debris (slasher ends, stumps, slash, etc.) over the sale area to within two feet of the
ground concurrently with hauling,
E. Liability to pay double the mill value payments for unmarked or undesignated timber cut or damaged
through negligence or carelessness.
F.  All pulpwood will be sold by the ton on a mill ticket system. Scaling requests can be made for firewood
and/or 10 MBF of sawlogs. Some sales have pulpwood and sawlogs combined into pulpwood tons,
All pine products cut between May 1 and September 1 each year must be removed from sale area within
three (3) weeks from time of cutting, This is to limit the risk of pine engraver damage.
H. We will continue the policy change in the extension of expired contracts. The first six month extension will
have a 5% increase of bid value and any subsequent extensions will include an additional 10% increase per
extension. Please consider this when bidding and scheduling timber sale work on state forest lands.
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5. The check you submit with your bid is considered a bid bond.

Your check that you submit with your bid will be cashed and submitted to the State Treasury if you are the high
bidder. Unsuccessful bidders will have these checks returned and will not be cashed. If you desire to replace
your check with a surety bond, irrevocable letter of credit, ete., as a performance bond you must réalize that the
check may take up to 90 days to be refunded.

6.  Fuel wood removed from harvest areas will be sold at $2.00 per ton unless it is on the prospectus at a bid
price per unit, Fuel wood can only be harvested in approved biomass harvest sales.

Fuel wood is defined as dead trees, unmerchantable parts of trees, and wood less than 4” diameter on
marked or designated trees that are utilized as fuel. Only if the harvest area is a forest production area
classification and have soils that can sustain this activity, can fuel wood material be utilized. Fuel wood
harvest and sale will only be allowed on sales marked. “Biomass Harvest Approved®.

‘The above-listed items will continuously be scrutinized and evaluated for compliance throughout the time of the contract,
Failure to comply with the above-listed or other contract conditions may result in contract closure and may jeopardize your
opportunity to bid on future timber sales.

Any questions regarding NH-AL State Forest timber sales should be directed to the foresters at either the Trout Lake Forestry
Headquarters (715) 385-2727ext 100 or the Woodruff DNR Annex (715) 356-5211ext 258,




