LRP - Licenses

LRP - Regulations

LRP - Permits

Recreation - Statewide

Recreation - Trapping

Recreation - Fishing

Recreation - Hunting

Env. Protection - Management

Env. Protection - Emergency

Env. Protection - Resources

To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please enter your contact information below.

Safety Class
Sign up for a Safety Class; Get your Safety Certification Card (Driver License)
Regulations [PDF]
Read through the Regulations; Know the Laws
Contact information
Gary Eddy
Snowmobile/ATV administrator
Julie Fitzgerald
Snowmobile/ATV operations program associate
Cathy Burrow
Trail grant manager
General questions

Snowmobile crash incident reports

The Department of Natural Resources compiles annual reports each January on snowmobile fatal crash statistics. This report contains information regarding registration and trail pass numbers, safety tips, number of safety students and instructors, number of fatal and non-fatal crashes and types of and factors involved with fatal crashes. A complete copy of the most recent annual report is available below, and may also be requested by email (please provide a U.S. postal service mailing address).

  • Snowmobile fatality summaries

  • Snowmobile annual reports [PDF]

Reporting a snowmobile crash incident

A "reportable" snowmobile crash incident is any incident (regardless of the number of snowmobiles involved) that results in a fatality or an injury that requires medical treatment by a physician.

Wisconsin law requires every snowmobile operator involved in a "reportable" incident to report the incident without delay to law enforcement officials. In addition, within 10 days of the incident, the operator must submit a written report on Form 4100-174 [PDF] to the Department of Natural Resources.

If you are unable to download the online form above, forms are also available from DNR offices, sheriff's departments and many local police departments. Additionally, forms may be requested at the address below or by email.

Mail completed forms to:

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
Safety Section - LE/8
PO Box 7921
Madison WI 53707

Failure to comply with the reporting requirements is punishable by a penalty up to $326.

Pursuant to Section 350.15(4)), Wis. Stats., this report may not be used as evidence in a trial.

Last revised: Monday January 08 2018