LRP - Licenses

LRP - Regulations

LRP - Permits

Recreation - Everyone

Recreation - Trapping

Recreation - Fishing

Recreation - Hunting

Education - Everyone

Education - Kids

Education - Educators

To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please enter your contact information below.


ATV/UTV Riding in Wisconsin

ATV operators enjoying the trails.

ATV operators enjoying the trails.

Sign up
for a safety class to get a safety certification card (operator license)
your ATV/UTV or purchase a non-resident trail pass to operate an ATV on public trails
Read through the ATV regulations; know the laws
apply for funding

EFFECTIVE IMMEDIATELY: ATV/UTV REGULATION UPDATE - 2015 State Budget Changes UTV Legal Specifications.

  • ATV/UTV Laws 2014 [PDF]

  • All-terrain vehicle and utility terrain vehicle riding is a growing sport in Wisconsin. Along with the privilege of enjoying the sport comes the responsibility of making sure you are operating these vehicles safely and responsibly. ATV and UTV operators born on or after Jan. 1, 1988 who are at least 12 years old for ATV(and at least 16 years old for UTV) must complete an ATV and UTV safety certification course in order to operate on public ATV/UTV trails and areas in Wisconsin. DNR recreational safety specialists recommend all ATV and UTV operators complete a safety course.

    A letter to parents, guardians, and students. [PDF]

    Contact Information
    Gary Eddy
    Snowmobile/ATV Administrator
    Julie Fitzgerald
    Snowmobile/ATV Operations Program Associate
    Diane Conklin
    Trail Grant Manager
    General questions
    Last Revised: Wednesday July 29 2015