December 16, 2014 Meeting with Senator Tiffany



L to R: George Hayducsko; Senator Tiffany; Meleesa Johnson; Mike Tolvsted and John Welch.

The Future of Wisconsin Recycling Development (FOWRD) Workgroup

Meleesa Johnson

John Welch

Jennifer Semrau

Mike Tolvsted

Alan Albee

Lynn Morgan

Pennie Pierce

Gerry Neuser

Rebecca Mattano

Meribeth Sullivan

George Hayducsko

Joseph Van Rossum

Marathon County, AROW,

SWANA, WCSWMA

Dane County, SWANA

Winnebago County, AROW

City of Tomahawk

Eagle Waste & Recycling

Waste Management

Hilltopper Refuse

Manitowoc County

Waukesha County

Waukesha County

Council on Recycling, Dunn

County

SHWEC

FOWRD workgroup supports the following concepts:

In an effort to improve the quantity and quality of recyclable materials from residential, commercial, institutional and industrial sources, any revised statute or regulation should:

- Reflect waste generation trends
- Encourage innovation
- Allow adaptability to a changing marketplace
- Secure a consistent funding mechanism for local recycling programs
- Reward performance through accountability measures
- Maximize the amount of materials diverted to productive use

Definition of Recycling



Recycling is the recovery of useful materials, such as paper, glass, plastic, and metals, from the trash to use to make new products, reducing the amount of virgin raw materials needed.

FOWRD's Well Defined Goals

- Have the \$7.00 environmental (recycling) tipping fee used only for waste reduction and recycling purposes (segregated fund).
- Reward RU's for performance and not on the RU's 1999 formula.
- Identify which items should be considered recyclables.

Recycling Grant to Municipalities

Year	Total State Grant	Dunn County's Recycling Grant
2010	\$ 32.1 million	\$ 226,034
2014	19 million	157,110
2016	15 million	124,117 (Projected)
2017	19 million	157,000 (Projected)



L to R: Meleesa Johnson; Jennifer Semrau and Joseph Van Rossum

