Climate Leadership by Wisconsin Local Governments

December 2019

- 148 communities have taken the Energy Independent Community 25 x 25 pledge that they will generate 25% of their energy from local renewable sources by 2025.ⁱ
 - In 2009 and 2010, 50 of these communities received Energy Independent Community grants to support sustainable energy planning for government buildings, fleets and infrastructure.
- **11 mayors have joined Climate Mayors**, committing to the Paris Climate Agreement goals:
 - o Bayfield, Dunn, Glendale, Kenosha, La Crosse, Madison, Middleton, Milwaukee, Monona, Racine and Verona.ⁱⁱ
- **10 cities have sustainability commissions:**
 - Ashland, De Pere, Fox Crossing, Green Bay, Marshfield, Menasha, Nina, Oshkosh, Sheboygan and Wausau.ⁱⁱⁱ
- 10 colleges/universities are setting neutrality goals, creating climate adaption plans and/or tracking their greenhouse gas emissions:
 - o Gateway Technical College, Milwaukee Area Technical College, Northland College, UW-Eau Claire, UW-Oshkosh, UW-River Falls, UW-Stevens Point, UW-Stout, UW-Whitewater and Western Technical College.^{iv}
- At least 8 cities have or are developing renewable energy goals or plans: • Eau Claire, Fitchburg, Green Bay, La Crosse, Madison, Middleton, Milwaukee and Monona.^v
- 3 cities and Dane County have signed onto the We Are Still In declaration, committing to the Paris Climate Agreement goals:
 - Glendale, Madison and Milwaukee.^{vi}
- 4 counties have made notable commitments to addressing climate change.
 - Dane County has become a national leader in landfill energy capture and use by building a facility that captures and compresses methane into travel fuel, and that accepts renewable natural gas from biodigesters to sell into the interstate pipeline network nearby. The county is transitioning its fleet to run on the landfill's compressed natural gas. The county created the Office of Energy and Climate Change and the Dane County Council on Climate Change. The county has also been investing in local solar projects.vii
 - *Eau Claire County* has set a goal of 100% renewable energy and carbon neutrality by 2050.^{viii}
 - *Milwaukee County* is partnering with the city of Milwaukee through a joint Climate Equity Task • Force to stimulate green jobs and mitigate racial and economic inequality while addressing climate change. The county and city set a goal of achieving net-zero community-wide greenhouse gas emissions by 2050 with an interim goal of 45% reduction by 2030.^{ix}
 - In 2019, *Monroe County* created a task force on climate change in response to extreme weather.^x •

Prepared by Dominic W. Holt, Analysis Services Section, Bureau of Environmental Analysis and Sustainability, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources, dominic.holt@wisconsin.gov.

ⁱ Energy on Wisconsin. https://energyonwi.uwex.edu/energy-independent-communities

ⁱⁱ Climate Mayors. http://climatemayors.org/actions/paris-climate-agreement/

iii Clean Wisconsin. October 2019. https://www.cleanwisconsin.org/climate-action-map-wi/

iv Ibid.

v Ibid.

vi We Are Still In. Accessed December 13, 2019. https://www.wearestillin.com/we-are-still-declaration

vii Clean Wisconsin. County Initiatives: Dane County. Accessed December 16, 2019.

Https://www.arcgis.com/apps/MapSeries/index.html?appid=d70ba07e1d844d3a9e1a750c59f0f03a

viii Clean Wisconsin. County Initiatives: Eau Claire County. See above URL. ix Clean Wisconsin. County Initiatives: Milwaukee County. See above URL.

^x The Tomah Journal. Monroe County Board recognizes climate change, creates task force. By Meghan Flynn. October 2, 2019. https://lacrossetribune.com/community/tomahjournal/news/monroe-county-board-recognizes-climate-change-creates-taskforce/article_879149e7-37d2-59f6-a52c-63538b976cff.html