First-Time Gun Deer License Statistics
- 25,703 First-Time Buyer Licenses sold
- 13,511 resident gun deer
- 8,976 resident junior gun deer
- 3,216 nonresident gun deer
- Females represented 32% of resident First-Time Gun Deer licenses and 30% of resident First-Time Junior Gun Deer licenses
- 9,001, or 35% of First-Time Buyers were youth (17 years of age and under)
- 4,585 or 18% between the age of 20-29
- 3,518, or 14% between the age of 30-39
- 3,554, or 14% between the age of 40-49
- 2,585, or 10% between the age of 50-59
- 868, or 3% senior citizens (65 and above)
- 66 first-time licenses were sold to hunters 80 and older
- 614,435 Total Deer Gun Hunter, up 2% from last year
- Resident deer licenses (568,831) are up 1.5%
- Nonresident deer licenses (32,554) up 2%
- 10/11-year-old Mentored Gun Deer licenses (13,050) are up 10%
- 105,948 licenses sold Friday before the season opener - RECORD 1 DAY SALE!
- 60% of gun deer licenses were sold in the month of November
- Females represent 9.5% of total gun hunters
- 78,604 (or 13%) were youth (under age of 18)
- 61,276 (or 10%) were senior citizens (65 years of age and older)
- Hunters come to Wisconsin from all 50 states and several foreign countries
DNR warden Gervis Myles of Milwaukee assists Amya Hudson, 11, of Milwaukee as she prepares to shoot. Photo credit: Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
Food, fellowship, family time
Interested in hunting for food, fellowship, family time? Pull the trigger on first-time discounts. This Thanksgiving week, take advantage of discounts for first-time license buyers and returning hunters and join your family and friends in the field. Or if youíre a seasoned hunter, take someone new hunting and help give them their own story.
Resident licenses are $5 and nonresident licenses $79.75, a fraction of the normal price. Now thatís talking turkey!
3 easy ways to buy your license
All hunting licenses are on sale now and can be purchased through the end of the 9-day gun deer season, Nov. 25.
What else you need to know to get started
Wisconsinís mentored hunting law allows anyone 10 or over to hunt without first taking a hunter safety course if he or she follows certain rules, including hunting with a seasoned, licensed hunter and hunting within armís reach of the mentor.
Badger football players Ryan Groy and Jacob Pedersen take teammates hunting
Novice hunters and their mentors share their stories
More first-time hunting stories
Locavore, meet hunter, Wisconsin Natural Resources, October 2011
A place for first hunts and new outdoors pastimes, Wisconsin Natural Resources, December 2012
Share your story and photos>