- Contact information
- For more information about news and media, contact:
- Bill Cosh
Director of Communications
2010 DNR Northern Region deer season information packet
News Release Published: November 3, 2010 by the Northern Region
Contact(s): Jim Bishop (715) 635-4242 Mike Zeckmeister (715) 635-4090 Dave Zebro (715) 635-4093
Proper licenses, permits needed for deer hunting
SPOONER, Wis. -- "Hunters must have a valid Wisconsin deer hunting license and backtag in their possession to legally take a deer," says Dave Zebro, Northern Region conservation warden supervisor. "If the license or backtag is lost, the hunter must either quit hunting or obtain a duplicate backtag/license."
Also, Zebro reminds that all hunters must validate the deer carcass tag immediately upon killing and before field dressing or moving the deer .
Hunters can save time and money by keeping track of their deer hunting backtag/license, antlerless deer carcass tags, and Hunter Safety Certificates. If the required permits are lost, duplicates can be obtained at any of 1,400 Automated License Issuance System (ALIS) vendors. Duplicate deer backtag/licenses with carcass tags sell for $15.Duplicate Hunter Safety Certificates are also available at any license vendor for $2.75.
One of the most common ways to lose a tag is because of a broken or improper back tag carrier. In preparing for the upcoming hunt, hunters should check the condition of the carrier. The backtag should fit snugly inside and the clip should be in working condition. Zebro said it is also poor policy to store other license pieces in the backtag carrier.
Hunter Safety Certificates are important documents. Anyone born on or after January 1, 1973, is required to furnish proof of passing a state-sponsored hunter safety course when purchasing a hunting license. A Hunter Safety Certificate from another state will be honored and must be presented when purchasing a hunting license. Many other states also require the certificate for anyone purchasing a license.
FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT ANY OF THE FOLLOWING:
Dave Zebro 715-635-4093
Blaze Orange the color for the season with a reason
SPOONER, WI. -- Blaze orange clothing in the outdoors demands attention. For safety's sake outdoor enthusiasts who recreate in the fall should have blaze orange jackets, vests or hats in their apparel closet.
During certain hunting situations, like October and December antlerless gun deer hunts or the gun deer season, all hunters including archery and small game hunters are required to wear blaze orange. Over the years the Wisconsin gun deer hunter has been conditioned to look for this color and any other colors moving through the brush are suspect game.
"Even though the number one rule of hunting is know your target, each year we have hunters wearing dirty blaze orange, or half camouflage blaze orange or non-orange clothing that are shot because they are mistaken for game," said Conservation Warden Dave Zebro. Anyone afield during our gun deer hunts, including loggers, hikers, waterfowl hunters, and others should wear blaze orange, he said.
Wearing at least 50 per cent blaze orange above the waist including a hat has been law since 1980. The color was chosen following field tests that proved blaze orange was seen best in all light and brush conditions.
"While archery and small game hunters must wear blaze orange during the deer hunts," Zebro said, "we urge all out door users going afield during those times to wear the color to ensure a safe outing." And, he added, dirty and soiled blaze orange should be washed to retain its bright observable color.
Antlerless deer harvest not allowed in 18 deer management units this year
SPOONER, WI. -- Gun deer hunters are reminded that shooting an antlerless deer is not allowed by most hunters in 18 regular deer management units and the Council Grounds State Park in Northern Wisconsin. Gun (and archery) antlerless deer carcass tags are not valid in units 7, 13, 28, 29A, 29B, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 49A, 52, and 52A.
"We are trying to re-build the deer herd in these areas, and based on citizen comment we received at our public deer herd status meetings this past spring, we are allowing zero antlerless harvest in these units," said Michael Zeckmeister, Regional Wildlife Biologist.
There are only a few exceptions to this zero antlerless harvest in these units, Zeckmeister added, and these include certain disabled hunting permit holders, Armed Forces members, and first year hunter education graduates. He also reminds all hunters to check their Deer Hunting Regulations booklet and make sure they know which unit they are hunting in and know the season structure for these units.
2010 Deer gun season hunter reminders
SPOONER, Wis. - The following reminders will help insure all hunters and non-hunters have a safe and enjoyable 2010 deer gun season:
CARCASS DISPOSAL—Tossing animal carcasses on state or other public lands is littering and subject to fines. Hunters should get rid of deer carcasses either far off-road on private lands (with landowner permission) or through their local garbage disposal company.
SHOOTING/HUNTING ON ROADS CAN BE A DEADLY PRACTICE - Road hunting leads to trespass and safety problems and reflects poorly on the majority of hunters who hunt ethically and responsibly. Vehicles, people, homes, and other buildings concentrate near roads making an accident more likely to happen from a rifle shot. Knowing your target and what is beyond is more critical when a road is nearby. To be legal, hunters must be at least 50 feet from the center of the roadway.
A public road is any road shown on an official Department of Transportation (DOT) County Highway map. Maps showing county highways may be obtained at DOT offices. Another important aspect of hunting concerns the ethical pursuit of game. Unless the hunter is physically handicapped and unable to get into the field, hunting is an activity that must be done in the woods, marshes and fields.
TIMBER THEFT - Each year public and private landowners discover the loss of firewood or Christmas trees after the deer gun season. County and federal property owners provide permits to cut firewood and Christmas trees. The permits cost only a few dollars and can be picked up at most county forest administrator offices and Forest Service stations. Written permission to remove timber for firewood or Christmas trees should be obtained from the private landowner. Timber theft carries a hefty fine.
HUNTING FROM MOVING VEHICLES - Hunting from any moving vehicle is against the law, unsafe, and is an unethical way to hunt. Each year conservation wardens cite hunters for having uncased and loaded guns on their All Terrain Vehicle, snowmobile, or four wheeled drive truck. A loaded gun in a vehicle is an accident waiting to happen. Play it safe and maintain the integrity of the sport by unloading and casing any firearm before a vehicle is underway.
BAITING- Each hunter may hunt with two gallons of bait. If you need the full explanation of the baiting laws, read the deer regulations handbook. There are some counties that baiting is prohibited. Marathon County is one of these.
TOP 10 MOST ASKED GUN-DEER SEASON QUESTIONS
SPOONER, Wis. - Wisconsin's deer gun hunt is one of the most exciting times of the year for many residents, but it is important for everyone to follow the rules and regulations for gun deer season so that everyone stays safe in the woods. Here are some answers to the 10 more frequently asked questions:
1. CAN I TAG AN ANTLERLESS DEER WITH THE HERD CONTROL TAG I RECEIVED WITH MY DEER HUNTING LICENSE? The Herd Control/ CWD Tag received with your license is valid only in Herd Control or CWD deer management units. Many units in the north this year are not herd control units but instead are "Regular" units. Hunters who want to harvest an antlerless deer in a regular unit must purchase a bonus tag. Keep in mind that not all units have bonus tags and others have only a limited number available. All take check the regulations for the area and unit you are hunting in as some northern Deer Management Units are buck only this year.
2 CAN I HUNT THE DAY BEFORE DEER SEASON?
No! Hunting is not allowed on the Friday preceding the gun deer season, except for waterfowl hunting. A landowner and the family members may sight in firearms on the Friday before the 9-day deer gun season on their private property. This law does not allow them to hunt, but only to sight in firearms. Firearms may also be sighted in at an established range during this period.
3. CAN I TAKE MY CHILD HUNTING WITHOUT A GUN OR LICENSE?
Yes. He or she can tag along to observe the hunt. We recommend anyone in the woods wear blaze orange.
4. WHAT HANDGUNS ARE LEGAL FOR DEER HUNTING?
Deer may be hunted with handguns loaded with center-fire cartridges of .22 caliber or larger that have a minimum barrel length of 5 1/2 inches measured from the muzzle to the firing pin with the action closed.
5. WHAT ARE THE CASING REQUIREMENTS FOR FIREARMS?
The rule is as follows: "Enclosed in a carrying case" for firearms means completely contained in a gun case expressly made for that purpose which is fully enclosed by being zipped, snapped, buckled, tied or otherwise fastened, with no portion of the firearm exposed. No person may place, possess or transport a firearm, bow or crossbow in or on a vehicle, unless the firearm is unloaded and encased or unless the bow or crossbow is unstrung or is enclosed in a carrying case. A vehicle includes ATV's and snowmobiles.
6. CAN SOMEONE ELSE TRANSPORT MY DEER AFTER IT'S LEGALLY TAGGED AND REGISTERED?
Yes. Any person may transport a lawfully taken deer if it is properly tagged and registered, weather they possess a hunting license or not.
7. ONCE I HAVE KILLED A DEER, CAN I CONTINUE TO HUNT?
Any member of a group gun-deer hunting party may kill a deer for another member of the party with a firearm if both of the following conditions exist:
A. At the time and place of the kill, the person who kills the deer is in contact with the person for whom the deer is killed. Contact means visual or voice contact without the aid of any mechanical or electronic amplifying device other than a hearing aid.
B. The person for whom the deer is killed possesses a current, unused deer carcass tag that is authorized for use on the deer killed. The person killing the deer may not leave the deer unattended until after it is tagged.
8. CAN I HUNT SMALL GAME DURING THE DEER SEASON?
Yes, if the season is open, and with the exception of waterfowl hunting, if 50 percent of the person's outer clothing above the waist is blaze orange.
9. CAN I USE A LIGHT TO SHINE WILD ANIMALS?
Persons may not use or possess with intent to use a light for shining any wild animal while hunting or in possession of a firearm, bow and arrow or crossbow. Further, between September 15 and December 31, during the hours of 10:00 p.m. to 7:00 a.m., you may not use any light for shining wild animals.
10. WHAT DO I DO IF I LOSE MY HUNTER EDUCATION CERTIFICATE?
Wisconsin law requires that anyone born after January 1, 1973 must have successfully completed a hunter education course before he or she purchases any hunting license. This certificate must be presented when a license is purchased. -- If lost, a duplicate can be obtained by going in person or applying through the mail to a Department of Natural Resources license sales office. The current fee is $2.75.
For answers to additional questions, consult the Wisconsin Deer Hunting Regulations pamphlet - available at businesses where licenses are sold, county clerk offices, and all Department of Natural Resources (DNR) offices.
2010 Northern Region Deer Season Forecast
contact: Mike Zeckmeister (715) 635-4090
SPOONER Wis. - To view the state, regional, including the 18 County Northern Region, deer season forecast go to-http://dnr.wi.gov/org/land/wildlife/HUNT/forecast.pdf