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This publication gives you a summary of Wisconsin’s laws which 
pertain to individuals who mount any wild animal in a lifelike manner 
or preserves the carcass of any wild animal for a consideration 
(compensation, barter or fee).  It is not a complete set of laws. 
 
PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 
 
A taxidermist permit is required from the Department of Natural 
Resources to mount any wild animal in a lifelike manner or preserves 
the carcass of any wild animal for a consideration (compensation, 
barter or fee).  
 
Any person in Wisconsin who mounts any wild animal in a lifelike 
manner or preserves the carcass of any wild animal for a 
consideration (compensation, barter or fee), must obtain a taxidermist 
permit from the Department of Natural Resources.  Effective April 28, 
2004, a taxidermist permit is also required for anyone who only 
mounts deer heads for a consideration or fee.  The simple mounting 
of just antlers or skulls on a plaque or the use of antlers or skulls in 
other decorative articles does not require a taxidermist permit. 
 
Employees while working under the direct supervision of a permitted 
taxidermist do not need a taxidermy permit.  This includes employees 
or agents working at the taxidermist’s place of business or picking up 
specimens from drop off points and transporting them to the licensed 
taxidermist’s place of business.  All carcasses must be tagged and 
accompanied by a copy of the corresponding transaction record 
during transportation. (See “Taxidermist Permit Holder Requirements” 
section for more details.)  Taxidermists may provide employees with a 
copy of their license to display if requested while transporting 
carcasses as part of their job duties. 
 
APPLICATIONS AND RENEWALS 
 
PERMIT FEE:  Resident = $50,  Nonresident = $100. 
 
Permit applications are available at local DNR service centers, on line 
at: www.dnr.wi.gov/org/caer/cs/apps/9400400.pdf, or by calling 
(608) 266-0862.   
 
Applicants must possess a Seller’s Permit from the Wisconsin 
Department of Revenue and provide the Seller’s Permit number on 
the application.  All initial applications must be submitted to:  
Dept. of Natural Resources, Bureau of Customer Service & Licensing, 
PO Box 7924, Madison,  WI  53707-7924. 
 
Beginning in 2005, Wisconsin resident and nonresident taxidermist 
permits will be valid from the date of issuance until December 31st of 
the year following issuance. 
 
Renewals:  Permits must be renewed prior to expiration on 
December 31st at any local license vendor.   Beginning in 2004, 
renewals will be done through the department’s Automated License 
Issuance System (ALIS) at any license vendor where hunting or 
fishing licenses are sold. 

AUTHORIZATION 
 

The taxidermy permit allows the holder to prepare and preserve 
the head, skin, part of the skin or body of wild animals and fish in 
a lifelike manner for a consideration.  A taxidermist permit also 
entitles the permit holder to the same privileges as a class A fur 
dealer’s license. 
 

Permitted taxidermists are allowed to possess and transport 
lawfully acquired game birds, fish and animals (in connection with 
their business only) over the possession limit numbers imposed 
by state regulations.  This can be done both during open and 
closed seasons for the various species.  Taxidermists aren’t 
allowed to personally exceed bag or possession limits. 
 
TAXIDERMIST PERMIT HOLDER REQUIREMENTS 
 

To maintain accurate inventories, permitted taxidermists must 
attach a numbered tag to each wild animal’s carcass or part 
received.  The tag number must correspond to a numbered record 
that lists the carcass owner’s name, address, signature, date 
received by the taxidermist and description of the carcass or part. 
 

These records must be made in triplicate.  One copy of each 
transaction record must be kept at the place of business for two 
years following the effective period of the permit.  The other 
copies may be used as a receipt for the customer provided to 
department if requested. 
 

A warden may enter a taxidermist's place of business for 
inspection purposes anytime between 8 a.m. - 8 p.m. on 
weekdays (except holidays).  Inspections may also occur at 
anytime with the consent of the taxidermist.  This includes 
inspection of the numbered carcass identification tags required to 
be attached to carcass; the corresponding information records 
and records of all wild animal carcasses received at, or delivered 
to the place of business. A taxidermist or an employee or agent of 
the taxidermist shall cooperate with and exhibit items subject to 
inspection to a warden or any other agent of the department. 
 

Wild animals taken or possessed in any manner in violation of the 
laws of this or another state are unlawful to possess in Wisconsin. 
 

For research purposes, either the entire carcass or the skull only 
of bobcat, fisher and otter may be requested by the department 
when the animal is registered. Refer to the current Trapping 
Regulations for more information on what must be turned in. 
Whether the entire carcass is requested, or just the skull, is 
dependent upon what the research needs are that year. Persons 
who wish to have the fisher, otter or bobcat mounted may register 
the pelt and deliver the skinned carcass and/or skull to the 
department after the animal is skinned by the taxidermist.  
Registration of the animal must occur by the 5th day of the first 
month after animal is harvested. The pelt tag attached by the 
trapper/hunter must remain attached to the pelt until the animal is 
registered. 
 

When deer and bear are taken in for mounting, the tags must be 
retained by the owner and kept with the meat.  For other animal 
species which require tagging, it’s recommended, but not 
required, that all government tags (except deer and bear) be 
attached inconspicuously to the mounted display for the owner’s 
future reference. 
 

Legally harvested fish and game that is the personal property of 
the taxidermist can be stored (commingled)  with articles received 
in connection with a taxidermy business, only if the carcasses 
belonging to the taxidermist are also tagged and recorded in the 
same manner as if they belonged to a customer. 
The title to all wild animals rests with the state until they are lawfully 
reduced to private possession.  The Department may seize wild 
animals taken or held in violation of the law. 
 
MANAGEMENT OF TAXIDERMIST RECORDS 
 
Taxidermy regulations require that the taxidermist prepare triplicate 
records and retain at least a copy of each record at the place of 
business.  These records are required for all wild animal carcasses 
received at, delivered to or shipped from the taxidermist’s place of 
business.  The Department does not supply the forms for 
maintaining records.  It’s recommended that each taxidermist 
purchase standard pre-numbered, triplicate business forms. 
 
The information required to be maintained on this business record 
form includes: 
1. A record Identification number corresponding to the number 

on the carcass identification tag. 
2. The carcass owner’s name and address. 
3. The owner’s signature. 
4. The date received by the taxidermist. 
5. A description of the carcass. 
 
This form should be filled out upon receipt of the wild animal.  One 
copy can be given to the customer with the original and 
second copies kept by the taxidermist.  Filling of these sales or 
informational records can be in whatever manner is suitable for the 
individual business.  Two useful systems are alphabetically by 
name of the customer or sequentially by the record identification 
number.  Each wild animal a taxidermist receives is required to 
have a tag attached with a number corresponding to the number on 
the information record form.  It’s recommended that taxidermists 
purchase two-by-four inch manila stringed tags, similar to the 
federal migratory bird treaty tag.  The identification record number 
can be written on the tag in indelible ink prior to storage in a 
freezer.   
 
Taxidermist regulations require that the tag attached to the wild 
animal carcass must have an identification number corresponding 
to the information record.  It’s recommended for the thorough 
management of your business that information including name, 
address, carcass description and date received should also be put 
on this tag.   
 
Whenever a taxidermist or employee of a taxidermist transports a 
wild animal carcass as part of the business, at least one copy of the 
required completed record form must accompany the carcass. 
 
BUYING/SELLING FISH AND GAME 
 

Wisconsin Statutes prohibit any person from buying or selling most 
fish and game.  There is an exception for most wildlife that has 
been mounted, or is in the process of being mounted (hide or cape 
removed) for a private collection (not intended for sale).   Most 
wildlife cannot be mounted for the purpose of sale and sale can 
only take place after the specimen has been part of a private 
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collection.  This provision was drafted into the law to provide the legal 
authority for people to sell their private collections after they no longer 
wish to keep them.  This exception is not a provision for taxidermists 
to mount wild animals for purposes of sale. 
 
Federal law prohibits the purchase, sale and barter of wild waterfowl 
and other migratory birds under any conditions.  Migratory waterfowl 
must be properly marked as required by Federal Law (50 CFR 21.13). 
 
The heads, hides (not in the spotted coat) and antlers (not in the 
velvet) of legally killed deer may be bought and sold after they are 
removed from the rest of the carcass.  Squirrel tails, skins and skulls  
removed from the carcass and rabbits can be bought and sold during 
their open season. Fur-bearing animals which have an open season 
in Wisconsin and which have no bag limit (Raccoons, fox, mink, 
beaver, etc.), if lawfully taken, may be sold at any time of the year. 
 
Unclaimed, or abandoned wildlife items that have been preserved 
and mounted in a life like manner for a customer’s private collection 
may be lawfully sold by a taxidermist, except that migratory birds, wild 
deer hides or mounts in the spotted coat and antlers in the velvet 
from wild deer and bear skulls, teeth and claws which are not part of 
a life like mount (i.e. full body, head or shoulder mount) can’t be sold.  
 
Any private collection, including a taxidermist’s private collection, can 
be sold, except for migratory birds, wild deer hides or mounts in the 
spotted coat and antlers in the velvet from wild deer which cannot be 
sold at any time. 
 
Deer hides not in the spotted coat which are purchased for resale as 
raw hides do not require any records.  Deer capes and deer hides 
received for mounting and hides bought by a taxidermist for taxidermy 
purposes must be tagged and recorded in the taxidermist’s records. 
 
Game birds and animals acquired from licensed captive wild animal 
or wild fur farms, with written proof of origin, are not subject to the 
selling or bartering prohibitions of State Statute 29.539.  These items 
can be mounted and sold.  Fish purchased from registered fish farms 
can also be bought, sold, mounted or traded.  A Taxidermist permit is 
still required to mount or preserve these animals. 
 
Wild animals tagged with WDNR Seizure Record Tag and 
“Possession Authorization Receipt” may only be sold if the box that is 
designated “Resale or transfer is prohibited” has not been slit or 
punched to indicate that any resale or transfer is prohibited. 
 
 
 

OTHER REGULATIONS GOVERNING TAXIDERMIST ACTIVITIES 
 
Wild animals taken from Indian reservations (during closed seasons 
for that species off the reservation) must be tagged with an Indian 
reservation fur, fish and game tag before removal from reservation. 
 
The Federal Government requires taxidermists to have a Federal 
taxidermy permit to prepare migratory bird mounts.  The U.S. Fish 
and Wildlife Service also regulates the capture, transport and 
possession of all migratory birds.  Any person wishing to perform 
taxidermy on migratory birds (ducks, geese, swans, mourning doves, 
woodcock, rails, snipe, etc.) should contact the U.S. Fish and Wildlife 
Service, Federal Building, Fort Snelling, Twin Cities, MN 55111 for 
information on how to obtain the Federal permit and Federal 
requirements. 

ENDANGERED AND THREATENED SPECIES 
 

No person, including taxidermists, may possess any wildlife 
species listed on the Wisconsin or Federal “Endangered and 
Threatened Species List” unless a special endangered or 
threatened species permit is possessed with the carcass. 
SPECIAL NOTE:  Some of the wild animals listed on Wisconsin’s 
“Endangered and Threatened Species List” can be legally 
harvested or purchased in other states or countries.  Prior to 
these animals being imported into Wisconsin, the person owning 
the carcass must apply for a permit and tag to attach to the 
carcass by contacting WDNR Bureau of Endangered Resources. 
 
PROTECTED WILD ANIMALS 
 

NR10.02 Protected wild animals.  The following wild animals are 
designated protected.  No person may take, attempt to take, 
transport or possess any protected wild animal at any time unless 
expressly authorized by the department. 
 

1. Cougar, Canada lynx, badger, moose, gray wolf, wolverine, 
and flying squirrel. 

2. Endangered or threatened species listed in ch. NR27. 
3. Albino or white deer, which are white except for the hooves, 

tarsal glands, head and parts of the head. 
4. Woodchuck except as provided in s.29.337, Stats. 

(landowner hunting authorization)   
5. Prairie chicken, Canada spruce grouse (spruce hen), swans, 

cranes, bitterns, plovers, kingfishers, cormorants, herons, 
sandpipers and grebes. 

6. Eagles, hawks, falcons, and owls except a provided in ch 
NR 18, Wis. Adm. Code (Falconry Permit). 

7. Hen pheasants except as expressly allowed. 
8. Any other wild bird not specified as unprotected. 
9. Timber rattlesnakes, Bullsnakes and Black Rat snakes. 
 
SPECIAL NOTE: Cougar, Canada lynx, badger, moose, gray 
wolf, wolverine, woodchuck, Canada spruce grouse, and some 
cranes can be legally harvested in other states and countries.  
Wisconsin listed protected animals that are legally harvested in 
another jurisdiction can be imported into Wisconsin without any 
extra permits so long as those animals have a tag or permit 
attached by or with the authority of the state or country where the 
animal was legally harvested. 
 
If the state or country does not require any tags or permits to be 
attached to the animal, contact your local conservation warden 
prior to having the animal brought into or shipped to your 
business.  The warden can issue a Wisconsin Seizure Record 
“Possession Authorization Receipt” for the animal if proof of origin 
can be documented to avoid future questions about possession.  
This procedure does not apply to animals listed on the Wisconsin 
or Federal “Endangered and Threatened Species List.” 
 
FUR DEALER PRIVILEGES AND RESPONSIBILITIES 
 

Permitted taxidermists are granted the same authority of a Class 
A Fur Dealers License to buy, barter or trade raw fur.  Permit 
holders must keep complete records of all transactions involving 
raw furs.  The records must show the name and address of 
persons the furs were bought from and sold to along with the 
number and kind of furs involved and the date of the transactions.  

“Fur-bearing animals” include otter, beaver, mink, muskrat, marten, 
fisher, skunk, raccoon, fox, weasel, opossum, badger, wolf, coyote, 
bobcat, cougar and lynx. 
 
Wild animals whose raw fur may be lawfully traded in Wisconsin 
include mink, beaver, otter, muskrat, fox, raccoon, fisher, rabbit, 
coyote, bobcat and unprotected fur-bearing animals pelts of skunk, 
weasel and opossum.  All raw pelts of otter, fisher, and bobcat must 
have a pelt tag and a registration tag attached until the pelt is 
tanned or made into a mount.  The removed pelt and registration 
tags should be returned to the owner or made part of the mount. 
 
Tanned hides of all lawfully harvested fur-bearing animals may be 
sold any time without the need for a license. 
 
Pine marten are listed Wisconsin endangered or threatened 
animals and their pelts may not be possessed unless Wisconsin 
issues a permit prior to the pelt being imported into the state. 
 
Badger, cougar, lynx, and wolverine are protected in Wisconsin, but 
are not Endangered or Threatened.  Pelts of these species when 
legally obtained from another state or province may be possessed 
in Wisconsin if the pelt has a tag attached or is accompanied by 
documentation showing the state or country of origin. 
 
ADDITIONAL REGULATIONS AND RESTRICTIONS 
 
It Is Unlawful To: 
• Buy, sell or trade bear teeth, claws, gall bladders, or other 

parts, except that the entire bear hide with claws, head and 
teeth intact may be sold or purchased. 

• Possess the skin of any mink, muskrat, fisher, beaver, or otter 
showing that the animal was shot or speared. 

• Ship or transport any package of furs unless the package is 
marked showing the kind and number of furs contained, the 
license number and address of the consignor and consignee. 

• Possess any raptor (hawks, owls, eagles or falcon) or any 
non-game migratory bird including any songbirds, flickers, 
woodpeckers, or any other protected species of wild animals 
without proper state or federal authorization. 

• Buy or barter wild game fish or game fish skins unless a 
person holds a valid taxidermy school permit and who, on     
8-15-91, operated a taxidermy school approved by the 
educational approval board under s. 45.54, Wis. Stats.   
"Game fish" includes all fish except rough fish and minnows. 

• Possess animals or furs which were unlawfully taken or 
possessed in Wisconsin or from any another state. 

• Dispose of or return any inedible parts or any part of the 
spinal column, brain and lymphoid tissues of any deer carcass 
which originated from a the Wisconsin Chronic Wasting 
Disease (CWD) Management Zone (MZ), or from any other 
state or province in which CWD has been detected in the wild 
or a captive deer herd, except for disposal of such parts at a 
properly permitted landfill or with a licensed renderer.   
NOTE:  Under Wisconsin law, any person presenting a deer 
carcass to a taxidermist must inform the taxidermist if the 
carcass originated from the CWD-MZ or any state or province 
know to have CWD. 
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