2016 Wisconsin Bonus Antlerless Deer Tag Information
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Bag Limits

|:| Bucks plus antlerless by permit
- Non-quota Area - No permits issued by DNR

Metro Sub-units - Bucks plus antlerless by permit

Antlerless-only Deer Seasons for 2016
Statewide 4-day: Dec. 8 - 11

| | Holiday Hunt: Dec. 24 - Jan. 1, 2017

r

\

FIRST 3 DAYS OF BONUS ANTLERLESS TAG SALES ARE ZONE-SPECIFIC
Limit of one tag per person, per day, until sold out.

Monday, August 15 at 10 a.m. - Northern and Central Forest Zones
Tuesday, August 16 at 10 a.m. - Central Farmland Zone
Wednesday, August 17 at 10 a.m. - Southern Farmland Zone
Thursday, August 18 at 10 a.m. - all zones can be purchased

w,

The DNR Call Center is available to answer your questions seven days a week, 7:00 am to 10:00 pm
Call: 1-888-WDNR-INFo (1-888-936-7463)



Selecting Bonus Antlerless Deer Tags in 2016

At time of purchase, specify
Zone, Deer Management Unit and land type (public or private)

Deer Management Zones and Deer Management Units (county):

The state contains four Deer Management Zones that impact bonus tag availability and deer season structure (see
map on page 1). Each of these four zones contains several Deer Management Units (DMUs), most of which can
be identified by county boundaries and names. Note that nine DMUs (Adams, Clark, Eau Claire, Jackson, Juneau,
Marinette, Monroe, Oconto and Wood) are each split by zone boundaries. Antlerless tag availability may vary
between Forest (Zone 1) and Farmland (Zone 2) portions of these DMUs.

Metro Sub-units: Six distinct metropolitan sub-units exist around major urban areas and their boundaries are
contained within larger DMUs allowing additional hunting opportunities not found in other DMUs. To hunt
antlerless deer in one of the metro sub-units, your options are:
1. Select a Farmland Zone antlerless tag(s) for the county in which the metro sub-unit is located.
2. Select a metro sub-unit-specific tag (available in La Crosse, Pierce, St. Croix and Sheboygan counties).
3. Purchase bonus antlerless tags that are specific to that metro sub-unit (available in Brown, Douglas,
La Crosse, Pierce and St. Croix counties).

Land Type:
Public Access and Private Lands: The Department is attempting to more closely regulate antlerless harvest on

public lands in an effort to allow hunters to see more deer and provide a better hunting experience. To accomplish
this, all hunters will select antlerless tags based on the type of land they hunt: public access or private. Hunters
who wish to pursue antlerless deer on both public access and private land must acquire antlerless tags for each.

Public Access Land defined: For the purposes of purchasing and using public land antlerless tags, public land is
defined as any land that is open to the public for deer hunting purposes, either by ownership or under lease or
contract. Public access lands include:

e Federal, State, County or Municipal, Stewardship and utilities properties open for public deer hunting

e Open Managed Forest Law (MFL) lands designated as open for public deer hunting

¢ Open Forest Crop Law (FCL) lands designated as open for public deer hunting

e Voluntary Public Access (VPA) lands leased for public deer hunting
All other lands not listed are considered PRIVATE. You must have permission to hunt on all private lands.

Bonus Antlerless Tags Cost:
¢ $12 each for Wisconsin residents and certain qualified non-residents (visit dnr.wi.gov and search “military” for
additional information)
¢ 520 each for non-residents
¢ S5 each for ages 10-11 years

Limits: Hunters may purchase one bonus tag per day, where available, until the unit is sold out or until the hunting
season ends.

Bonus Antlerless Tags and other licenses or tags may be purchased online at
gowild.wi.gov or by visiting a DNR service center or licensing agent.



2016 Bonus Antlerless Tag Availability by Deer Management Unit

Deer Management Unit %3;: _?:gbshc Land _I:_:gvsate Land Deer Management Unit Zone Type ;::;'c i ?arlgvsate i
Adams Farmland |50 1800 Oconto Farmland |200 2075
Adams Forest 850 5150 Oconto Forest 175 375
Ashland Forest 0 0 Oneida Forest 0 0
Ashland — Madeline Island | Forest 50 175 Oneida - Lac du Flambeau Forest 0 0
Ashland - Bad River Forest 0 0 Reservation
Reservation Outagamie Farmland [500 1000
Barron Farmland |550 4950 Ozaukee Farmland |250 750
Bayfield Forest 0 0 Pepin Farmland |75 925
Bayfield - Red Cliff Forest 0 0 Pierce Farmland |400 2200
Reservation Polk Farmland |400 3100
Brown Farmland [225 875 Portage Farmland |[275 2000
Buffalo Farmland |500 3000 Price Forest 350 900
Burnett Forest 475 3800 Racine Farmland [0 0
Calumet Farmland |100 400 Richland Farmland |500 5000
Chippewa Farmland |0 2500 Rock Farmland [400 1500
Clark Farmland |25 825 Rusk Forest 0 1225
Clark Forest 775 1800 Sauk Farmland |750 3200
Columbia Farmland |1000 2000 Sawyer Forest 0 0
Crawford Farmland |0 3500 Sawyer — Lac Courte Oreilles| . ' 0 0
Dane Farmland |[700 2500 Reservation
Dodge Farmland [125 1325 Shawano Farmland |750 3450
Door Farmland |500 1500 Sheboygan Farmland [125 1175
Douglas Forest 0 0 St. Croix Farmland [200 1400
Dunn Farmland |400 2100 Taylor Forest 0 3875
Eau Claire Farmland |50 800 Trempealeau Farmland |0 500
Eau Claire Forest 250 1275 Vernon Farmland |100 1000
Florence Forest 0 0 Vilas Forest 0 0
Fond du Lac Farmland |450 2800 Vilas — Lac du Flambeau

. Forest 0 0

Forest Forest 0 0 Reservation
Grant Farmland |250 3000 Walworth Farmland |150 375
Green Farmland |250 1750 Washburn Forest 2175 8675
Green Lake Farmland |[750 2000 Washington Farmland |[400 1350
lowa Farmland |450 3000 Waukesha Farmland |500 1500
Iron Forest 0 0 Waupaca Farmland |[300 7200
Iron — La_c du Flambeau Forest 0 0 Waushara Farmland |600 1200
Reservation Winnebago Farmland |125 375
Jackson Farmland |0 1100 Wood Farmland |0 500
Jackson Forest 0 0 Wood Forest 50 150
Jefferson Farmland |75 950 .

Tonean Fa——— DT 7050 Metro Sub-unit Bonus Antlerless Tags
Juneau Forest 0 1000 @ Bonus Tags Available
Kenosha Farmland |0 0 Public Private
Kewaunee Farmland |300 1100 Brown 100 100
La Crosse Farmland |[150 850 Dane 0 0
Lafayette Farmland |75 1125 Douglas 150 50
Langlade Forest 300 800 Kenosha 0 0
Lincoln Forest 200 800 La Crosse 125 &

Manitowoc Farmland |300 2000 Mgnltowoc 0 0
Marathon Farmland |0 3500 Milwaukee 10 0

: Ozaukee 0 0

Marinette Farmland |175 2050 Pierce 50 100
Marinette Forest 175 700 Racine 0 0
Marquette Farmland [2000 8000 St. Croix 150 300
Milwaukee Farmland |75 600 Sheboygan |0 0
Monroe Farmland 400 1350 Washington [0 0
Monroe Forest 0 100 Waukesha 0 0




General Deer Season Information

Tagging Your Deer

With the Department’s new Go Wild licensing system,
hunters will now use plain paper carcass tags, which
necessitated some changes to tagging requirements:

¢ Only a single copy of any carcass tag may be
possessed while afield.

e After harvesting a deer, the tag must be
immediately validated by recording, in writing, the
date and time of harvest.

e Attaching the carcass tag to the animal is not
required unless the deer is left unattended.

e The validated carcass tag must be kept intact and
in legible condition. Plastic baggies are suggested
when attaching the tag to the deer.

For more information on carcass tagging, visit dnr.wi.gov
and search keyword “Go Wild.”

Harvest Registration

Electronic registration (GameReg) allows hunters to fulfill
the requirements of registering their deer using the phone
or Internet, making this task fast, easy and convenient.

How it works: Hunters will have several options for
registering their harvests.

1) Online (easiest and fastest): On a computer or
mobile device, go to gamereg.wi.gov and enter your
harvest information.

2) Phone: Dial 1-844-426-3734 (1-844-GAME-REG) and
follow the prompts to provide harvest information.

3) In person: Visit a designated walk-in registration
station that offers a phone or computer to hunters
for the purpose of registering your deer. Hunters
may refer to the list of walk-in registration stations
which will be available prior to the start of the fall
hunting seasons at dnr.wi.gov, keyword “registration
stations”.

Testing Your Deer for CWD

CWD testing is available to all hunters and is voluntary in

2016. For more information on CWD and how to get your
deer tested, visit dnr.wi.gov and search keywords “CWD”

and “CWD sampling.”

Harvest Registration is NOT an Option!

e Registration of all harvested deer continues to be
mandatory in Wisconsin. It is the responsibility
of the individual hunter to ensure the deer they
harvest is legally registered.

e All deer must be registered by 5 p.m. the day after
the animal was recovered.

¢ Hunters will receive a 10-character confirmation
number that must be written on the validated
carcass tag. This signifies to a conservation warden,
wildlife biologist or meat processor that the animal
has been properly registered.

¢ The carcass tag with confirmation number written
on it must be retained by the hunter until the meat
is consumed.

2016 Deer Hunting Season Season Dates

Archery and Crossbow Sept. 17 to Jan. 8, 2017

Archery and Crossbow
(Metro Sub-units)

Sept. 17 to Jan. 31, 2017

Youth Gun Hunt Oct. 8 & Oct. 9

(Statewide except in state parks)

Gun Hunt for Disabled Hunters Oct. 1to Oct. 9

(Enrolled Properties Only)

November 9-Day Gun Deer Nov. 19 to Nov. 27

(Statewide)

Gun Deer Season Nov. 19 to Dec. 7

(All Metro Sub-units)

Muzzleloader (Statewide) Nov. 28 to Dec. 7

December Antlerless-only Gun Dec. 8 to Dec. 11

Hunt (Statewide)

Antlerless-only Holiday Hunt Dec. 24 to Jan. 1, 2017
(select Farmland Zone DMUs

only)

For more information about 2016 deer hunting seasons, go to
dnr.wi.gov and search keyword “deer.”

For more information about GameReg, go to dnr.wi.gov and search
keyword “electronic registration.”

Federal Aid Project
funded by your purchase of
hunting equipment
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DEPT. OF NATURAL RESOURCES

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
PO Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707

The Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources provides equal opportunity

in its employment, programs, services and functions under an Affirmative Ac-

tion Plan. If you have any questions, please write to Equal Opportunity Office,
Department of the Interior, Washington, D.C. 20240. The Department of Natural
Resources is committed to serving people with disabilities. If you need this infor-

mation in an alternative format, Please call 608-266-8204.
PUB WM-628 2016




