
This pamphlet gives you a summary of 
Wisconsin’s small game and wild turkey 
hunting laws and how they affect you; 
it is not a complete set of all the hunting 
related laws.

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources 
PUB-WM-430 2012

Wisconsin
2012 Small Game Hunting Regulations, 

2012 Fall Turkey, 
and 

2013 Spring Turkey Regulations
Note: To hunt turkey, a turkey hunting license, turkey stamp, and turkey permit are 
required. A small game license is not needed for hunting turkey and is NOT interchangeable 
with a turkey hunting license.

2012 Pheasant Stamp art 
by Jon Rickaby

2012 Wild Turkey Stamp art by Caleb Metrich

1937 - 2012

Wildlife and Sport Fish
Restoration

Celebrating 75 years of Hunter-Funded Support

www.wsfr75.com



2

What’s New in 2012
•	 The 2 P.M. closing for certain pheasant hunting properties now only applies on weekdays 
from Oct. 22 - Nov. 3. On weekends, the times listed on page 31-32 will apply.

•	 Target shooting is no longer allowed on DNR-managed lands in Manitowoc County.
•	 Laws on requirements for transporting or placing firearms, bows, and crossbows in 

vehicles have changed. See page 6.
•	 Landowners, their employees, family members, and lessees or occupants of private lands 
can shoot a cougar that is in the act of killing, wounding, or biting a domestic animal. The 
carcass of the cougar must be turned over to the department.

•	 A person who accidentally kills certain small game animals while operating a motor 
vehicle on a highway can take possession of the carcass. See page 10 for restrictions.

•	 Reduced hunting fees are in place for hunters purchasing certain types (i.e., small game, 
wild turkey, or deer) of hunting licenses for the first time ever, or the first time in 10 years.

•	 Holders of the new Disabled Veterans Recreation Card are entitled to the privileges of a 
resident small game hunting license and fishing license.

•	 Effective January 1, 2013, there will be additional opportunities for hunting and trapping 
in most state parks.

•	 Starting in 2012, the coyote season will not close in the northern portion of Wisconsin 
during the gun deer season.

•	 A crossbow may be used by any person hunting small game under authority of a small 
game license or turkey under authority of a spring or fall turkey hunting license.
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Definitions for the purpose of this pamphlet:
Daily bag or bag limit means the total number of a particular game species that a person may 
harvest in one day, no matter how long or often they hunted that day.
Furbearing Animal means raccoon, fox, coyote, bobcat, skunk, opossum, and weasel.
Game Bird means ruffed grouse, sharp-tailed grouse, pheasant, gray (Hungarian) partridge, 
bobwhite quail, and crow.
Harvest Information Program (HIP): No individual may hunt any species of migratory game 
bird including waterfowl, mourning doves, and woodcock until HIP registered at a license agent, 
by phone, or via the internet. All hunters must have in their possession proof of HIP registration 
while hunting migratory game birds.
Hunt or hunting means shooting, shooting at, pursuing, taking, catching, or killing any wild 
animal.
Migratory Game Bird means mourning dove, woodcock, snipe, sora, and Virginia rail. 
Waterfowl are also migratory game birds; those regulations are printed in a separate pamphlet. 
All migratory game bird hunters must be HIP certified (see above for definition).
Possession limit means the total number of a particular game species that a person may possess 
at any given time.
Protected Species means the following mammals, reptiles, and birds that may not be hunted, 
trapped, or possessed without first obtaining appropriate DNR authorization: Mammals—
badger, Canada lynx, cougar, flying squirrel, jack rabbit, marten, moose, white deer (all white 
except for hooves, tarsal glands, head, and parts of the head), wolverine, and woodchucks (see 
landowner exemption, page 21); Reptiles—black rat snake, bull snake, timber rattlesnake, and 
yellow-bellied (blue) racer; Birds—all wild birds (including song birds and blackbirds) not 
specifically mentioned in the hunting, trapping, and migratory bird regulation pamphlets are 
protected; all endangered and threatened species; during their closed season, all game animals 
(including elk) which have an open and closed season, bag limit, size limit, or possession limit.
Small Game Mammal means squirrel, rabbit, and hare.
Unprotected Species means mammals and birds that can be hunted year-round without bag 
limits or hunting hours restrictions, and includes starling, English (house) sparrow, chukar 
partridge, coturnix quail, opossum, skunk, weasel, and all other wild mammals not specifically 
mentioned in the hunting, trapping, and migratory game bird regulation pamphlets and not listed 
as an endangered, threatened, or protected species (see ‘protected species’ listed above). A small 
game license is needed for hunting unprotected species.
Waterfowl means ducks, geese, brant, mergansers, coots, and gallinules.

The Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources provides equal opportunity in its employment, programs, 
services, and functions under an Affirmative Action Plan. If you have any questions, please write to Equal 
Opportunity Office, Department of the Interior, Washington, D.C. 20240.

The Department of Natural Resources is committed to serving people with disabilities. If you need this 
information in an alternative format, please call 608-266-8204. 

Questions?
Call or visit our website to find a DNR Service Center near you:

1-888-WDNR INFo (1-888-936-7463) • local 608-266-2621

Staff are available 7 days a week from 7:00 A.M. until 10:00 P.M. 
Hmong & Spanish speaking representatives are available.

dnr.wi.gov 
DNR Central Office: Department of Natural Resources
P.O. Box 7921 
Madison, WI 53707-7921
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General Small Game Hunting Regulations
General Firearm and Bow Restrictions
It is illegal to:
•	 possess or use any firearm for hunting if you are a felon or have been prohibited from 

possessing a firearm under Wisconsin law. A hunting license does not authorize the 
purchaser the ability to possess a firearm for hunting. Most hunting licenses allow the 
choice of hunting with a firearm, air rifle, bow and arrow, or crossbow. Unless otherwise 
prohibited, a felon can generally hunt small game mammals legally with an air rifle, or 
most species with a bow and arrow or crossbow.

•	 hunt with a fully automatic firearm.
•	 possess or use while hunting any tracer or incendiary shells, cartridges, or ammunition.
•	 discharge a firearm at or towards power and utility lines and any related equipment.
•	 hunt with any means other than a gun discharged from the shoulder, a legal handgun, 
bow and arrow, or crossbow.

•	 possess any firearm from 12:00 A.M.–11:59 P.M. on November 16, 2012 unless the 
firearm is unloaded and enclosed within a carrying case. Exceptions: Target shooting at 
established target ranges, target shooting on private lands by landowners and immediate 
family members, waterfowl hunting during open season, small game hunting in the CWD 
Zone, hunting on licensed bird hunting preserves or registered deer farms, and handguns 
possessed by persons authorized to carry a concealed weapon. Established target range 
means an existing location where target shooting with firearms is the major purpose or 
use. 

•	 shoot a firearm within 100 yards of a building devoted to human occupancy while on 
lands you do not own without the permission of the owner or occupant of that building. 
Note: Be sure to check with local authorities before using firearms in urbanized 
or populated areas.

Rifles
Rifle means a firearm or airgun designed to be fired from the shoulder, by the energy of 
an explosive propellant or by compressed air, used to fire a single projectile for each pull 
of the trigger through a rifled or smooth barrel.
It is legal to hunt unprotected species (page 10), small game mammals (page 11), and 
furbearing animals (page 15) with a rifle except that it is illegal to:
•	 possess a rifle with a barrel length of less than 16 inches or with an overall length of 
less than 26 inches unless you hold a federal license to possess a short-barreled rifle.

•	 possess a rifle larger than .22 caliber rimfire or any .22 caliber or larger centerfire 
during the gun deer season in shotgun-only deer hunting areas unless it is unloaded 
and enclosed within a carrying case.

•	 hunt any game bird (page 12), migratory game bird (page 14), or wild turkey (page 17) 
with a rifle.

•	 hunt with a rifle equipped with a suppressor/silencer, unless you hold a federal permit 
to possess a suppressor/silencer.

The State of Wisconsin is a participating member of the Wildlife Violator Compact. 
The Wildlife Violator Compact is an agreement between participating states that 
prohibits a person whose hunting, fishing, or trapping privileges are suspended in one 
state from obtaining licenses, permits, or participating in those activities in another 
state. The participating states include: AL, AK, AZ, CA, CO, FL, GA, IA, ID, IL, 
IN, KS, KY, LA, MD, MI, MN, MO, MS, MT, ND, NM, NV, NY, OH, OK, OR, PA, 
SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, WA, WI, WV, and WY. Additional states may have joined 
the compact since the printing of this pamphlet. Please visit dnr.wi.gov, keywords: 
Wildlife Violator Compact, for more information
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Shotguns
Shotgun means a smoothbore-barreled firearm designed to shoot pellets. It is legal to 
hunt unprotected species (page 10), small game mammals (page 11), game birds (page 
12), migratory game birds (page 14), some furbearing animals (page 15), and wild turkey 
(page 17) with a shotgun except that it is illegal to:
•	 possess a shotgun with a barrel length of less than 18 inches or with an overall length of 
less than 26 inches unless you hold a federal license to possess a short-barreled shotgun.

•	 hunt any migratory game bird, including mourning dove, woodcock, rail, and snipe, with 
any shotgun capable of holding more than 3 shells (magazine and chamber combined).

•	 hunt wild turkey with or while in possession of shotshells loaded with shot larger than 
no. 4 lead or other non-steel shot, or shot larger than no. 2 steel.

It is illegal to:
•	 hunt game birds, including wild turkey, with lead or other toxic shot while on federal 
Waterfowl Production Areas (WPAs).

•	 hunt migratory game birds while in possession of shotshells larger than no. 10 gauge.
•	 hunt mourning dove with lead or other toxic shot while on DNR managed land.
•	 hunt snipe or rail statewide with lead or other toxic shot.
•	 hunt any game bird with a shotgun or muzzleloader loaded with shot larger than no. BB; 
or with a single slug or ball; or which is chambered for a shotshell larger than a no. 10 
gauge.

•	 possess or control shotshells loaded with a single slug or ball while hunting any game 
bird or wild turkey, except during open gun deer or bear seasons. Shotshells loaded 
with a single slug or ball are legal during any season for small game species, including 
coyote, fox, and bobcat, but not when hunting game birds or wild turkeys.

•	 possess shot or shotshells loaded with shot larger than no. BB (including buckshot) from 
June 1–Dec. 9 while hunting except:
1.	 Non-toxic shot size BBB and T may be used for hunting waterfowl.
2.	 Shot larger than BB may be possessed and used for the purpose of hunting bobcat.

Handguns
Handgun means a weapon designed and intended to be fired while held in one hand and to 
use the energy of an explosive, propellent, or compressed air to expel a projectile(s) through 
a smooth or rifled bore. Modifying a rifle or shotgun so it can be used like a handgun does 
not make it a legal handgun, and may violate state law prohibiting short-barreled shotguns 
and short-barreled rifles. It is legal to hunt small game mammals, furbearing animals, and 
unprotected species with a handgun except that it is illegal to:
•	 hunt with or possess a handgun if under the age of 18. This does not apply to air guns. 

Note: Target shooting with handguns by persons under the age of 18 years is allowed 
only when supervised by an adult.

•	 hunt with a handgun or pellet gun less than .17 caliber. Persons possessing a Class A, 
certain Class B, or Class C Disabled Permit may use handguns chambered for .410 or 
larger shotshells for hunting game birds, listed on page 12.

•	 hunt small game mammals with handguns with barrels shorter than 4 inches measured 
from the muzzle to the firing pin with the action closed or from the muzzle to the breech 
face.

•	 possess a concealed handgun, unless in possession of a Carry Concealed Weapon License 
or otherwise are authorized to possess a concealed firearm.

•	 hunt any game bird (page 12), migratory game bird (page 14), or wild turkey (page 17) 
with a handgun.
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Muzzleloaders and Muzzleloading Handguns
Muzzleloader means any caliber of muzzleloading firearm. It is legal to hunt the following 
with a muzzleloader (although be sure to check ammunition restrictions for the species 
you are hunting): small game mammals, game birds, migratory game birds, furbearing 
animals, wild turkey, and unprotected species except that:
•	 muzzleloading handguns are not legal for hunting game birds, wild turkeys, or 

migratory game birds.
•	 if hunting small game mammals, muzzleloading handguns must have a minimum 

barrel length of 4 inches measured from the muzzle to the breech face.

Bows, Arrows, and Crossbows
Crossbow means any device using a bow which, once drawn, is held solely by means other 
than the effort of the person firing it.
Crossbows are legal for any person to use for hunting turkey under authority of a turkey 
hunting license and small game under authority of a small game license or non-resident 
furbearer hunting license.
Crossbows are not legal to use for hunting small game under the authority of an archery 
license except by the following individuals:
1.	Resident and non-resident disabled hunters issued a Class A, Class B Crossbow, or Class 
C Disabled Hunting Permit or Crossbow Permit.

2.	Persons 65 years of age or older with an appropriate hunting license.
Note: When authorized, crossbows shall have a minimum draw of 100 pounds, a workable 
safety, and use at least 14-inch-long bolts or arrows equipped with broadheads. Bows that are 
equipped with a Draw-Lock type mechanism that holds the bow at full draw are considered 
crossbows, but are exempt from the 100-pound minimum requirement.
It is illegal to use poisoned, drugged, or explosive-tipped arrows.

Arms Transportation
It is illegal to:
•	 possess or transport in a moving vehicle any firearm (other than a handgun), bow, or 
crossbow unless it is unloaded. Note: A loaded firearm can be placed on, but not in, a 
vehicle which is stationary. Note: Qualified disabled persons with the authority to shoot 
from a stationary vehicle must have all firearms (other than handguns) unloaded while 
the vehicle is in motion.

•	 place, possess, or transport a cocked crossbow in or on a motorized vehicle unless it is 
unloaded and enclosed within a case.

•	 load a firearm (other than a handgun) while it is in a vehicle, or to discharge any firearm 
in or from any moving vehicle or a stationary motorized* vehicle, except for certain 
disabled hunters with proper permits.

	 * A person may load and discharge a firearm, bow, or crossbow from a stationary non-
motorized vehicle which is not attached to a motor vehicle (such as a wagon, trailer, or 
a blind with wheels).

Unloaded means any of the following:
1.	 Having no shell or cartridge in the chamber of a firearm or in the magazine, clip, or 

cylinder attached to a firearm.
2.	 Having the cap removed from a percussion muzzleloading firearm.
3.	 Having the flashpan cleaned of powder from a flintlock muzzleloading firearm.
4.	 Having the battery disconnected and removed from an electronic ignition system 

muzzleloader.
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Hunting Near Roadways
Highway means the entire width 
between the boundary lines of every 
public road, but does not include 
private roads and driveways.
Roadway means the portion of the 
highway that is improved or ordinarily used for vehicle travel, excluding the berm or 
shoulder.
Public road means those roads shown on the current official county highway map available 
from the Department of Transportation.

It is illegal to:
1.	hunt within 50 feet of the roadway’s center; or
2.	discharge a firearm, shoot an arrow from a bow, or a bolt from a crossbow:
a.	 from or across a highway, or
b.	 within 50 feet of the roadway’s center.

Note: The above prohibitions apply to all public roads (defined above). However, anyone 
hunting small game or turkey with a muzzleloader or shotgun loaded with shot size BB 
or smaller is exempt from these prohibitions if the roadway is unpaved (i.e., dirt, sand, or 
gravel). However, if the adjacent land is not open to public hunting, you must first have 
permission of the adjacent landowner.
Exceptions: Certain exceptions are allowed for Class A and certain Class B disabled permit 
holders. Visit dnr.wi.gov or call the DNR Call Center at 1-888-936-7463 for an explanation 
of these exceptions and request publication number WM-352, “What You Should Know 
About Permits for People with Disabilities”.

Shining
It is illegal to:
•	 use or possess with intent to use, a light (including vehicle headlights or laser sights 
on firearms, bows, and crossbows) for shining any wild animal while hunting or in 
possession of a firearm, bow, or crossbow. Note: Visually handicapped hunters with a 
Class C Disabled Permit may use a laser sight for hunting.

•	 use or possess with intent to use, whether or not in possession of a firearm, bow, or 
crossbow, a light for shining wild animals (including vehicle headlights) between 
the hours of 10 P.M. and 7 A.M. from September 15 through December 31.  
Note: Some areas may prohibit shining by local ordinance. Check with local sheriff’s 
department or township officials for local shining restrictions.

Exceptions: A flashlight may be used 1) while shooting coyote, raccoon, fox, or unprotected 
species at the point of kill while hunting on foot, or 2) to find your way.
Flashlight means a battery operated light designed to be carried and held by hand.

Dogs
•	 Dogs are considered private property and are protected by law.
•	 Owners may be held responsible for damage caused by their dogs while hunting or for dogs 

running at large.
•	 It is illegal to allow a dog to run at large, however, a dog that is actively engaged in a 
legal hunting activity, including training, is not considered to be running at large if the 
dog is monitored or supervised by a person and the dog is on land that is open to public 
hunting or on land for which the person has obtained permission to hunt with or to train 
a dog.
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Use Of Dogs For Hunting
Dogs are legal to use for hunting small game mammals, game birds, furbearing animals, 
migratory game birds, and unprotected species except dogs may be used for hunting wild 
turkeys statewide ONLY during the fall season. Dogs must be leashed at all times on Waterfowl 
Production Areas (WPAs) unless engaged in legal hunting activity.

Dog Training
For a more detailed listing of rules, regulations, and licenses related to dog training and 
trialing, refer to the Wisconsin Dog Training and Trialing Regulations (WM-444), available 
on the DNR website at dnr.wi.gov.

It is illegal to:
•	 allow dogs to run on DNR lands from April 15 through July 31 unless the dog is on a 
leash no longer than 8 feet. This rule does not apply to Class 1 field trial grounds, DNR 
lands open to dog training or trials, or after June 30 
when training dogs to track bear.

•	 allow a dog to kill any wild animal at any 
time.

•	 hunt or pursue any free-roaming wild 
animal with the aid of any dog from 
May 1 to June 30 in the portion of the 
state north of the highways shown on 
the map at right, except as authorized 
for raccoon and rabbit dog trials or 
training under the authority of a dog 
trial or training license.

Use Of Devices
It is illegal to:
•	 hunt any animal with the aid of any aircraft.
•	 use any device other than legal firearms, bows, or crossbows to kill or catch wild animals, 
except that traps and falconry birds may be used under the appropriate license or permit 
and seasons.

•	 use Draw-Lock type mechanisms that can hold a compound bow at full draw unless 
authorized to use a crossbow (page 6).

•	 use or possess any electronic or electronically-amplified calls while hunting 
migratory game birds or wild turkeys. Exceptions: A person with a Class A or 
B Disabled Hunting Permit issued for more than one year and which authorizes 
hunting from a stationary vehicle may use electronic calls for hunting wild turkeys.
Note: It is legal to use any type of call or amplified sound for attracting foxes, raccoon, 
crows, coyotes, and unprotected species during the open season.

•	 use live or electronic decoys for the purposes of enticing turkeys.
•	 use or possess laser sights while hunting unless you are visually handicapped and possess 
a Class C Disabled Permit.

•	 possess or use a firearm suppressor/silencer unless you hold a federal license to possess 
the device.

Trap Theft
Stealing or molesting lawfully set or placed traps or snares is a criminal act and is punishable 
by fine ($300–$1,000), imprisonment (up to 90 days), or both, and a mandatory 5-year 
revocation of all hunting, fishing, and trapping privileges.

Transport And Sale Of Game
It is illegal to sell, purchase, or barter, or offer to sell, purchase, or barter any small game 
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mammal, migratory game bird, game bird, or part thereof except as noted in the special 
regulations on pages 11 and 15. NOTICE: Although the sale of carcasses of certain wild 
animals is allowed if they were lawfully harvested, Dept. of Agriculture Trade and Consumer 
Protection, Division of Food Safety rules do not allow the sale of uninspected meat for the 
purpose of human consumption.

Serving Game To Guests
It is illegal to serve wild harvested game at any restaurant, club, hotel, tavern, or boarding 
house, except that the DNR may issue a permit authorizing the serving of lawfully taken 
and possessed wild animals at these locations. For more information on Wild Game Serving 
Permits, contact the DNR at 1-888-936-7463 or search for Form 9400-175 at dnr.wi.gov.

Taking And Possession Of Game
It is illegal to:
•	 take any wild animal which has been lawfully obtained by someone else without having 

that person’s consent.
•	 not immediately kill, in a humane manner, all game taken and make it part of your daily 
bag.

•	 tag game shot by another hunter or shoot game for another hunter (except gun deer group 
hunting, see Deer Hunting Regulations for details).

•	 molest any squirrel nest or den, raccoon den or tree, mink den, or muskrat house.
•	 unreasonably destroy, molest, or waste game. You must make every reasonable effort to 
retrieve all game killed or crippled. Until such effort is made, such game shall be included 
in the daily bag. This rule does not allow you to trespass without the permission of the 
landowner or shoot game beyond established shooting hours.

•	 possess any game unless you hold a valid hunting or trapping license or state permit 
carried on your person, or unless you are hunting certain game as a landowner.

•	 capture and tag, collar, or mark and release any game taken from the wild unless issued 
the appropriate state and/or federal permit.

Hunting Incidents
Any person involved in an incident in which a person is injured by gunfire, bow and arrow, 
or crossbow while hunting or trapping should first render necessary assistance and then 
immediately report the incident to the local sheriff or police. Every person involved in a 
hunting incident must render a report to the DNR within 10 days.

Ground Blinds On DNR-Managed Lands
During any gun or muzzleloader deer season, all ground blinds (except waterfowl blinds) 
on DNR-owned or managed lands must have a minimum of 144 square inches of solid 
blaze orange material visible from all directions. Also, all unoccupied ground blinds 
must have the owner’s customer ID number or name and address attached in a manner that 
is legible and visible in a conspicuous location near the entrance. Ground blinds must be 
removed daily at the end of hunting hours, except waterfowl blinds which may be left up 
throughout the season, but must be removed completely within seven days of the season 
closure. Exceptions: These requirements do not apply to blinds constructed entirely of 
dead vegetation found on the property.

Blaze Orange Clothing Requirements
During any gun or muzzleloader deer season (see table on page 10), no person may 
hunt any game unless at least 50% of the person’s outer clothing above the waist is 
colored blaze orange. A hat, if worn, must be at least 50% blaze orange. Camo-blaze is 
legal if 50% of the material is blaze orange, but is not as visible as solid blaze clothing. 
Exceptions: The blaze orange requirement does not apply to waterfowl hunters or during 
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legal night hunting activities from ½ hour after sunset to ½ hour before sunrise while 
hunting coyote, fox, raccoon, and unprotected species.
White-tailed Deer Seasons
Statewide Youth Gun Deer Hunt October 6 - 7 
Early firearm season (CWD units*) October 11 - 14
Gun November 17 - 25 
Muzzleloader November 26 - December 5 
Statewide Antlerless Only December 6 – 9 
CWD Management Zone Late Season December 24–January 6 
*See the 2012 Deer Hunting Regulations for more information on these seasons. 

Baiting 
It is illegal to use bait to hunt small game mammals, migratory birds, game birds, wild 
turkeys, and furbearing animals. However, hunting over agricultural crops and wildlife 
food plots planted and left standing is legal. Also, hunting over seeds dispersed from 
naturally occurring vegetation or grain or feed scattered solely by normal agricultural 
operations, which include normal harvesting, normal post-harvest manipulations, or other 
normal agricultural practices, is not considered baiting. Manipulation of agricultural crops 
or natural vegetation prior to harvest by mowing, shredding, discing, rolling, chopping, 
trampling, flattening, burning, or herbicide treatment is legal for hunting doves, but is not 
legal for hunting other species.
Hunting coyote, fox, or raccoons over a deer gut pile or a naturally occurring carcass of 
a deer is not considered baiting. Carcasses may not be placed out intentionally as bait 
for hunting.

Vehicle-Killed Game and Possession
A person who accidentally kills a wild turkey, deer, or bear while operating a motor 
vehicle on a highway can take possession of the carcass and remove it from the scene of 
the accident if the carcass is first tagged by a law enforcement officer. If the operator of 
the vehicle that killed the animal does not want the carcass, any other person can request 
the free tag for the carcass. Contact the local sheriff’s department to obtain the tag.
A person who accidentally kills small game animals while operating a motor vehicle on 
a highway can take possession of the carcass if:
	 1. the animal is NOT a fisher, otter, bobcat, or migratory bird, or a protected, endangered, 

or threatened species;
	 2. the person possesses a license authorizing the hunting or trapping of the kind of animal 
that was killed; AND

	 3. the animal was killed during the open season for that animal.
If the operator of the vehicle that killed the animal does not want to take possession of the 
carcass, then any person with a license authorizing the hunting or trapping of the kind of 
animal may take possession of the carcass if it is during an open season for the animal.

Unprotected Species Regulations
In addition to the general small game hunting regulations listed on pages 
4-10, the following are regulations specific to unprotected species.

Unprotected Species are described on page 3 of this pamphlet.
Season Dates: These species can be hunted year-round (see firearm restrictions on page 4).
Possession Limit: There is no daily bag limit and no possession limit.
Possession and Sale: It is legal to sell the carcass, skins, or feathers of legally-harvested 
unprotected species.
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European wild hogs and Russian wild boars are not common nor are they native 
to Wisconsin. These animals damage the environment and pose health risks to native 
wildlife and domestic livestock. Please consider shooting any wild hogs while in the 
field. You may legally shoot a wild or feral hog year round if you:
1.	are a landowner with or without a hunting license and the hog is on your property, 

or
2.	have a license which authorizes hunting small game, or
3.	have first called the DNR and received authorization to shoot a hog (you may be 
required to turn the hog over to the DNR if you are not the landowner or if you do 
not have the appropriate hunting license).

Licenses/Stamps/Permits: A small game hunting license or trapping license is required, 
except that landowners can shoot or trap unprotected species causing damage or nuisance 
on their own land without a license. See pages 21 and 25-29 for details, exceptions, and free 
licenses for qualified individuals and landowners. Persons, including landowners, hunting 
or trapping unprotected species must comply with all methods of taking requirements and 
restrictions unless otherwise authorized by the DNR.
Night Hunting: Unprotected species may be hunted without hunting hour restrictions 
except:
1.	during the bear and bow deer seasons, when hunting hours listed in the tables on pages 
31-32 apply to hunting all species with a bow or crossbow.

2.	normal hunting hours (listed on pages 31-32) apply while hunting all species from 
November 17-25 if hunting outside of CWD zones. This restriction does not apply during 
the youth deer hunt, muzzleloader, or CWD deer seasons, or antlerless deer hunts in 
October and December. See season dates on page 10.

Use of Lights: A flashlight may be used at the point of kill while hunting unprotected 
species. Lights may not be used to shine or search for these animals.

Possession Limits: Twice the daily bag limit.
Possession and Sale: The tails, skins, and skulls of lawfully-taken squirrels may be bought 
and sold if severed from the rest of the carcass. Carcasses and skins of rabbits and hares 
can be sold, but only during their open season dates specified on this page.
Licenses/Stamps/Permits: A small game hunting license is required. See pages 21 and 
25-29 for details and exemptions for qualified individuals and landowners.

Small Game Season Limits and Special Regulations
Small Game Mammal Hunting Seasons and Regulations
In addition to the general small game hunting regulations listed on pages 
4-10, the following are regulations specific to small game mammals.

Species Daily Bag Area
2012–2013

Opens Closes

Squirrels—Gray & Fox 5 Statewide Sept. 15 Jan. 31, 2013

Cottontail Rabbit

3
North Zone 

(north of Hwy 10 to Waupaca 
and north of Hwy 54 to Algoma)

Sept. 15 Feb. 28, 2013

3
South Zone 

(south of Hwy 10 to Waupaca 
and south of Hwy 54 to Algoma)

Oct. 20
(noon) Feb. 28, 2013

Snowshoe Hare Unlimited Statewide Year-round open season
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Game Bird Hunting Seasons and Regulations
In addition to the general small game hunting regulations listed on pages 4–10, 
the following are regulations specific to game birds.

 Species Daily Bag Area
2012–2013

Opens Closes

Pheasants See below* Statewide Oct. 20 (noon) Dec. 31

Bobwhite Quail 5 Statewide Oct. 20 (noon) Dec. 12

Ruffed Grouse
5 Zone A Sept. 15 Jan. 31, 2013

2 Zone B Oct. 20 Dec. 8

Gray (Hungarian) Partridge 3 Statewide** Oct. 20 (noon) Dec. 31

Sharp-tailed Grouse Determined 
by permits

Apply for permit 
in specific area Oct. 20 Nov. 11

Crows 15 Statewide
Sept. 15 Nov. 15

Jan. 18, 2013 Mar. 20, 2013

*	 Pheasant: Oct. 20–21, 1 rooster daily; remainder of season, 2 roosters daily
**	 Gray (Hungarian) Partridge Season CLOSED in Clark, Marathon, and Taylor Counties

Note: Turkey season dates and hunting regulations are published on pages 17–20.
Possession Limits: Twice the daily bag limit for that species.
Possession and Sale: It is illegal to sell, purchase, or trade any game bird or the parts of 
any wild game bird, including turkeys.
Licenses/Stamps/Permits
•	 A small game hunting license is required. See pages 21 and 25-29 for exceptions for 
qualified individuals and landowners.

•	 Pheasant—a Pheasant Stamp is 
required statewide regardless of age 
(see exemption on page 26 for first-
time Hunter Education graduates).

•	 Ruffed grouse, quail, partridge, and 
crow—no other special stamps or 
permits are required.

•	 Sharp-tailed grouse—must 
apply for a permit for specified 
areas. No stamp required. 
Application deadline is 
August 1st.

•	 HIP Certification is not 
required for hunting the 
above listed game birds, but 
HIP certification is required if 
you also hunt mourning dove or 
woodcock while hunting the above 
species.
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Special Pheasant Hunting Regulations
2:00 P.M. Pheasant Hunting Closure Areas
The boundaries of the following properties are posted with signs indicating 
that pheasant hours close at 2:00 P.M. on weekdays between Oct. 22 – 
Nov. 3. For more information refer to the 2012 Stocking Information Sheet.

•	 Allenton Wildlife Area (W.A.) 
(Washington County)

•	 Brooklyn W. A. (Dane and Green)
•	 C.D. “Buzz” Besadny Fish and W. A. 
(Kewaunee)

•	 Dunnville W.A. (Dunn)
•	 Eldorado Marsh W.A. (Fond Du Lac)
•	 Goose Lake W.A. (Dane)
•	 Grand River W.A. (Green Lake and 
Marquette)

•	 Holland W.A. (Brown)
•	 Horicon W.A. (Dodge)
•	 Jackson Marsh W.A. (Washington)
•	 Killsnake W.A. (Calumet and Manitowoc)

•	 Mazomanie Unit of the Lower 
	 Wisconsin State Riverway (Dane)
•	 Mud Lake W.A. (Dodge County)
•	 Mud Lake W.A. (Columbia County)
•	 New Munster W.A. (Kenosha)
•	 Nichols Creek W.A. (Sheboygan)
•	 Richard Bong State Recreation Area*
•	 Pine Island W.A. (Columbia and Sauk)
•	 Theresa W.A. (Dodge and Washington)
•	 Tichigan W.A. (Racine)
•	 Vernon W.A. (Waukesha)
•	 White River W.A. (Green Lake and 
Marquette)

* After October 20, the daily closing of hunting hours for all species at Richard Bong State 
Recreation Area is 2 P.M. except waterfowl hunting south of Hwy 142 and archery deer 
hunting which follow normal hunting hours.
Hen/Rooster Hunting Areas and Regulations (applicable on Hen/Rooster Areas only!)
The boundaries of the following areas are posted with signs stating that hunters must 
obtain a permit and tags before hunting pheasants. For more information refer to the 
2012 Stocking Information Sheet.
•	 Avoca Unit of the Lower Wisc. State 
Riverway (Iowa County)

•	 Boscobel Unit of the Lower Wisc. State 
Riverway (Grant)

•	 C.D. “Buzz” Besadny Fish and W. A. 
(Kewaunee)

•	 Kettle Moraine State Forest Southern 
Unit/Scuppernong (Waukesha)

•	 Kickapoo Valley Reserve (Vernon)
•	 Tom Lawin W.A. (Chippewa)
•	 Vernon W.A. (Waukesha)
•	 Sand Creek Fishery Area (Monroe)
•	 Richard Bong State Recreation Area 
(additional regulations apply; see www.
bongnaturalistassociation.org/hunting.
htm for more information).

1.	In addition to your small game license and Pheasant Stamp, you must obtain pheasant leg 
tag permit stickers from local vendors or DNR Service Centers for use in Hen/Rooster 
Hunting Areas. There is no charge for the stickers.

2.	The permit sticker (labeled “L”) at the bottom of the tag package must be separated from 
the tags and attached to your hunting license before you hunt.

3.	Ten carcass tags are issued with your permit and establish your season bag limit on Hen/
Rooster Hunting Areas. Daily bag and possession limits also apply (see 7 below).

4.	The permit and tags are not transferable or replaceable, even if accidentally lost.
5.	Immediately upon killing a pheasant and before carrying or transporting the bird, a tag 
must be attached to the featherless part of the pheasant’s leg.

6.	Both sexes must be tagged when hunting Hen/Rooster Areas.
7.	The daily bag limit on Hen/Rooster Hunting Areas is 1 pheasant daily on Oct. 20 and 21 
and 2 pheasants daily from Oct. 22 to Dec. 31. The possession limit is twice the daily 
bag limit.
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Migratory Game Bird Hunting Seasons and Regulations
Does not include waterfowl!*
In addition to the general small game hunting regulations listed on pages 
4–10, the following are regulations specific to migratory game birds.

Species Daily Bag Area
2012–2013

Opens Closes

Mourning Dove 15 Statewide Sept. 1 Nov. 9

Woodcock 3 Statewide Sept. 22 Nov. 5

Snipe 8 Statewide Concurrent with duck season**

Sora & Virginia Rails 25 Statewide Concurrent with duck season**
*	 Waterfowl regulations are printed in a separate publication available in late August.
**	 Duck seasons are determined in August. Contact the DNR Call Center for dates.

Possession Limits: Twice the daily bag limit for that species, except for sora and Virginia 
rails that have a possession limit of 25.
Possession and Sale: It is illegal to sell, purchase, or trade any wild migratory game bird 
or the parts of any wild migratory game bird.
Transportation: Birds may be field dressed, but the head or one fully feathered wing 
must remain attached while in the field and while being transported (1) from the field to 
the person’s permanent residence and (2) between a hunting cabin, camp, motel, or other 
temporary residence to the person’s permanent residence.
Licenses/Permits: A small game hunting license is required (state or federal waterfowl 
stamps are not required). See pages 25-29 for details and exceptions for qualified individuals.
HIP Certification: Hunters must be enrolled in the Migratory Bird Harvest Information 
Program (HIP). See page 3 for definition.
Weapons and Ammunition: Only shotguns capable of holding 3 shells or less which are 
chambered for 10 gauge or smaller shotshells are legal for hunting migratory game birds. 
Shotguns plugged with a one-piece filler which limits the capacity of the gun (magazine 
and chamber combined) to three shells are allowed. The filler must be such that it cannot 
be removed without disassembling the gun. Hunters are required to use non-toxic shot 
while hunting snipe and rail, and while hunting mourning dove on DNR-managed land. 
Hunters are encouraged to use non-toxic shot for mourning dove on private lands as well 
as for hunting woodcock. It is not legal to possess shotshells larger than size 10 gauge 
while hunting migratory game birds.
Hunting Hours end at sunset each day. You must subtract 20 minutes from P.M. hours each 
day in the tables listed on pages 31-32 or refer to the hours printed in the 2012 Migratory 
Bird Regulations. 
For additional information on doves and dove hunting fields on DNR lands, please visit 
dnr.wi.gov, Keyword: dove.

Dove hunting safety! Hunters need to be absolutely aware of their target and beyond, 
especially when hunting on public grounds where other hunters may be wearing 
camouflaged clothing. Avoid shooting horizontally at low-flying birds or at birds on 
the ground. When in doubt, limit shooting to birds flying overhead.

Look for Dove Bands: Doves are banded to help with population monitoring and 
harvest management. Please look for a small silver band on one leg of harvested doves 
and follow reporting instructions on the band. Thanks for your cooperation!
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Furbearing Animal Hunting Seasons and Regulations
In addition to the general small game hunting regulations listed on pages 4–10, 
the following are regulations specific to furbearing animals.

Species Daily Bag Area
2012–2013

Opens Closes

Raccoons - Residents Unlimited Statewide Oct. 20 Feb. 15, 2013

Raccoons - Non-residents Unlimited Statewide Nov. 3 Feb. 15, 2013

Fox—Red & Gray Unlimited Statewide Oct. 20 Feb. 15, 2013

Coyote Unlimited Statewide Year-round open hunting season

Bobcat 1 by permit* North of Hwy 64
B1 Oct. 20 Dec. 25

B2 Dec. 26 Jan. 31, 2013

A person who harvests a bobcat must notify the DNR within 24 hours by calling the 
following phone number: 1-800-994-6673. See pages 16 for more details on registration 
requirements for bobcat.
* Permit application deadline for bobcat is August 1. Hunters may apply for a preference 
point only for bobcat. Bobcat permits may be transferred to youth under the age of 18 no 
later than 15 days before the open season. Preference points may not be transferred. The 
youth receiving the permit will retain his/her accumulated preference points. Contact the 
DNR Call Center for the transfer application.
Possession Limits: Unlimited for above listed species except bobcat, which may be hunted 
by permit only.
Possession and Sale: Lawfully harvested carcasses and pelts may be sold at any time. 
After their skin is removed, bobcat carcasses may be retained by the DNR for research 
purposes. It is illegal to possess the green skin of a bobcat which has not been registered 
as required beginning on the 6th day after the season closes.
Licenses/Permits: Residents are required to have a Small Game hunting license and non-
residents are required to have a Furbearer License. See pages 21 and 25-29 for details and 
exceptions for qualified individuals and landowners. A bobcat permit and tag is required 
to hunt or trap a bobcat.
Night Hunting: Coyote, fox, raccoon, and unprotected species may be hunted without 
hunting hour restrictions except:
1.	During the bear and bow deer seasons when hunting hours listed on pages 31–32 apply 
to bow hunting all species.

2.	During the regular gun deer season from November 17–November 25, when normal 
hunting hours listed on pages 31-32 apply to hunting all species.

	 Note: Coyote, fox, and raccoon may be hunted at night during the muzzleloader season, 
CWD deer gun seasons, youth hunt, and antlerless-only October and December gun 
hunts.

NEW RULE IN 2012: Coyote Season is open all year statewide. Starting in 2012, the 
coyote season will not close in the northern portion of Wisconsin during the gun deer 
season.
Blaze Orange: Coyote, fox, and raccoon hunters are exempt from the blaze orange 
requirements on pages 9-10 if hunting ½ hour after sunset to ½ hour before sunrise.
Use of Lights: A flashlight may be used to find your way and at the point of kill while hunting 
raccoon, fox, and coyotes. Lights may not be used to shine or search for these animals. 
‘Flashlight’ means a battery-operated light designed to be carried and held by hand.
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BobcatLynx

Lynx and Bobcat Comparison
The Canada lynx, a rare visitor to Wisconsin, is listed as a threatened species. Please help us 
protect this unique animal through your careful observation. Study the illustrations below, 
and contact your local DNR office immediately if you observe a Canada lynx.
Lynx are distinguished from bobcat primarily by the tip of their tail, which is completely 
black. Only the upper half of the tail tip is black on the bobcat. Lynx also have larger ear 
tufts, are lighter in coloration, have large densely furred feet, and have less distinct tracks 
than bobcat. 

Bobcat
•	 A Bobcat Harvest Permit and carcass tag are required to be in your possession while 
hunting bobcat (see page 25).

•	 Immediately upon killing a bobcat, the carcass tag must be attached by passing the wire 
portion of the tag through the animal’s mouth to eye opening, just beneath the skin. The 
tag must be validated by slitting the month and date of kill and securing it to the carcass 
as directed on the tag.

•	 You must notify the DNR within 24 hours of the harvest by calling 1-800-994-6673 
AND you must exhibit your bobcat to a DNR representative (usually your local 
conservation warden) for registration and tagging no later than five days after the 
month of harvest. The bobcat pelt must be separated from the carcass and both parts 
must be presented at the time of registration and tagging.

•	 The pelt and registration tag shall remain attached to the pelt until removed by a fur 
dresser or taxidermist at time of preparation.

•	 You may not possess bobcat pelts longer than 5 days after the month of harvest without 
registering the pelt with an authorized DNR representative.

•	 No person may transfer, give, trade, sell, or purchase any bobcat pelt unless it bears a 
DNR carcass tag and registration tag attached by an authorized DNR representative.

•	 The bobcat carcass will be retained by the DNR for research purposes. Carcasses are 
used for determining population trends which aid in establishing harvest quotas. See 
2012 Trapping Regulations for more information.

You must skin your bobcat and separate the pelt from the carcass before registering 
the pelt at designated DNR registration stations. The only exception is for the 
specimens going to a taxidermist; you must retrieve the carcass from the taxidermist 
and deliver it to the DNR within 30 days of registration. There is no requirement 
that a bobcat be registered in the zone of harvest, but it must be registered by a 
Conservation Warden. Watch for newspaper notices prior to the season, or contact 
the DNR Call Center (1-888-936-7463) for tagging dates, times, and locations. 
Carcass Collection for 2012: The DNR will collect bobcat carcasses statewide. The 
DNR retains the carcasses for important species management and research purposes.
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Fall and Spring Wild Turkey Season Limits and Regulations
Wild Turkey Hunting Seasons and Regulations
In addition to the general small game hunting regulations listed on pages 4–10, 
the following are regulations specific to the fall and spring wild turkey seasons.

Season Bag Limit Area Opens Closes

Fall 
2012

1 turkey of any age or sex per permit. 
Applicants with more than 1 permit may harvest 

more than 1 turkey on the same day* 
You may only hunt in the zone specified on your 

turkey hunting permit. 
See map on page 19.

All zones Sept. 15 Nov. 15

Zones 1 - 5 Nov. 26 Dec. 31

Spring 
2013

1 bearded or male turkey per permit issued. 
Applicants with more than 1 permit may harvest 
more than 1 turkey on the same day only if the 

permits are for the same time period.* 
You may only hunt in the zone and time period 
specified on your turkey hunting permit. See 

map on page 19.

Period A Apr. 10 Apr. 16

Period B Apr. 17 Apr. 23

Period C Apr. 24 Apr. 30

Period D May 1 May 7

Period E May 8 May 14

Period F May 15 May 21

Spring 
2013 
Youth 
Turkey 
Hunt

1 male or bearded turkey only during this 
two-day hunt.*

Youth hunters are 
limited to the turkey 
management zone 

for which their 
carcass tag was 

issued.

April 6 April 7

* Turkeys with white plumage may be harvested and must be tagged in accordance with proper 
tagging procedure. Note: A bearded turkey is a turkey with a bristle-like appendage protruding from the upper 
part of the breast.

Note: Preliminary permit levels will be made available prior to each application deadline, and final 
permit levels will be posted prior to the opening of each season. Go to dnr.wi.gov, keyword: turkey, 
for the latest numbers.
Hunting Hours (see pages 30-32 for hunting area map and hunting hour charts):
	 Spring Turkey: Hunting hours begin ½ hour before sunrise and end at sunset. Hunters 
must subtract 20 minutes from the P.M. column in the hunting hours charts on pages 31 
and 32, adjusted by zone as shown on page 30.

	 Fall Turkey: Hunting hours are from ½ hour before sunrise to 20 minutes after sunset.
Weapons and Ammunition: See pages 4-6 for regulations.
Tagging, Transport, and Possession:
•	 Upon killing a turkey, you must immediately validate the carcass tag by slitting the 
corresponding month and day of kill, then attach the tag to the featherless part of the 
turkey’s leg with a string or other tie.

• 	 You may not carry by hand, possess, or transport a turkey unless you have lawfully 
killed and tagged the turkey.

Turkey Registration Procedures
All harvested turkeys must be registered either online (dnr.wi.gov, keyword: turkey) or by 
phone (1-888-HUNT-WIS [1-888-486-8947] - touch tone entry only) by 5:00 P.M. on the 
day after harvest. No in-person registration stations are available. Hunters will be given a 
harvest registration confirmation number to record on their harvest permit after registration.
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Licenses/Stamps/Permits
•	 Hunters must purchase a turkey license, turkey stamp, and permit (also called a carcass 
tag) valid for the specific season in which they are hunting. The turkey license/stamp/
permit combination must be carried while hunting, and displayed to a conservation 
warden upon request. Permit levels are set prior to each season, and permits are awarded 
to applicants via preference drawing. Successful applicants will be notified by postcard 
following the drawing (permits will not be mailed). Exception: Patron License holders 
successful in the fall turkey drawing will receive their tag in the mail. Patron License 
holders successful in the spring turkey drawing will be issued a permit at the time they 
purchase their patron or spring turkey license for the upcoming license year. Senior 
Citizen Recreation Card holders who are successful in either drawing must present their 
card to a license agent to obtain their free permit.

•	 Permit Drawing System: Turkey permits are distributed by a drawing using a preference 
system that determines when applications go into the drawing. First preference is given 
to resident landowners (owning 50 or more contiguous acres); second preference to 
residents who applied for but did not receive a permit for the same season (i.e., fall or 
spring) the previous year; third preference to all other residents; fourth preference to 
non-resident landowners; fifth preference to other non-resident applicants. Cumulative 
preference is used for spring and fall turkey hunting permits. Spring and fall applications 
are tracked separately.

•	 Deadlines: Application deadlines are August 1 for the 2012 fall hunting season and 
December 10 for the 2013 spring hunting season. A $3.00 application fee is required 
except for Conservation Patron license holders. Turkey applications must be submitted 
online at dnr.wi.gov or postmarked by the deadline dates. Application materials are 
available from DNR Service Centers, licensed sales locations, or by applying online at 
dnr.wi.gov.

•	 Leftover Fall or Spring Turkey Permits: If the number of turkey permits available 
exceeds the number of applicants for a specific zone and time period, the DNR will sell 
the leftover permits at license sales locations. Check online at dnr.wi.gov or call the DNR 
Call Center to find out how these tags will be distributed. Residents and non-residents 
will have equal opportunity to purchase these permits. Purchasing these permits will 
not affect your preference status for future spring or fall turkey permit drawings.

AGING AND SEXING EASTERN WILD TURKEY
Gobbler or Hen?

Beard

Gobbler or Tom

Hen

BREAST FEATHERS

SPUR

Adult or Juvenile?

Adult: Outer 2 Primaries more rounded with white barring extended to the end
When fanned out, tail forms an even, unbroken outline

Juvenile: Outer 2 Primaries pointed with no barring near the tips
    When fanned out, outline of tail appears broken

Adapted from the Ohio Division of Wildlife
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•	 Transfer of Turkey Permit: A turkey permit awarded through the drawing process 
may be transferred ONLY to a person aged 10 – 17 using transfer application form 
9400-403Y which must be received at least 15 days prior to the start of the turkey 
season. Preference points or approvals can be transferred to a minor from a deceased 
customer using form 9400-592. A youth may be transferred each of these ONE time 
only. Leftover permits cannot be transferred to another hunter.

Assisting Other Hunters
•	 During the spring turkey seasons, you must possess a turkey hunting license, stamp, 
and valid, unused carcass tag if you possess a firearm, bow, or crossbow and:
	 a)	 a turkey decoy or calling device; or
	 b)	 a member of your hunting party possesses a turkey decoy or calling device

•	 No license is required to call turkeys for another hunter if the caller does not possess 
a firearm, bow, or crossbow. However, a guide license is required if a fee is charged.

Fort McCoy conducts its own spring and fall turkey hunts, independent of the state season. 
See page 27 for how to apply. You may not apply for a Ft. McCoy fall turkey permit if 
you plan to or have already applied for a fall turkey permit in a Wisconsin turkey hunting 
zone. You may not apply for a Ft. McCoy spring turkey permit if you receive an approval 
to hunt turkeys through the state drawing in a Wisconsin turkey hunting zone for the 2013 
spring season. However, if you are issued a Ft. McCoy spring turkey permit, it does not 
prevent you from being able to purchase a leftover permit from the state of Wisconsin.
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Special Turkey Hunts for Disabled Hunters
Hunters with a Class A or C permit, or a Class B permit issued for more than one year 
and which authorizes hunting from a stationary vehicle are eligible to participate in a 
special disabled spring turkey hunt on private land. Interested hunters are required to 
obtain permission from a landowner willing to sponsor a hunt and meet all application 
requirements. Note: A hunter who applies for a disabled turkey hunt on private lands 
may not apply for a permit through the regular spring turkey drawing. For information or 
special hunt applications (Forms 2300-271 and 2300-271A) please contact the DNR Call 
Center (1-888-936-7463) or the Assistant Upland Wildlife Ecologist at 608-261-8458, 101 
S. Webster St., P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707-7921.

Learn to Hunt Turkey
Hunters interested in learning more about turkey hunting are encouraged to participate in 
one of the ‘Learn to Hunt Turkey’ events, held statewide just prior to the opening of the 
spring turkey season. These events combine classroom instruction and field work before a 
novice goes hunting with an experienced hunter. To learn more, visit dnr.wi.gov, Keyword: 
‘Learn to Hunt’.

Youth Hunt Rules and Regulations
Youth Turkey Hunt: April 6 & 7, 2013
•	 Open to persons 10–15 years of age (residents and non-residents) who possess a spring 
turkey license, stamp, and valid permit for spring 2013. Youth ages 10-11 and youth 
without hunter education must hunt under the Hunting Mentorship Program. See page 
26 for rules.

•	 Permits issued for any hunting time period of the spring 2013 season may be used during 
the Youth Hunt, but youth hunters are limited to the turkey management zone in which 
their permit was issued.

•	 Youth hunters may hunt turkeys on April 6 and 7, 2013 in state parks that are currently 
open to spring turkey hunting, so long as they possess a valid permit for that zone.

•	 Youth hunters may harvest only one male or bearded turkey during the two-day youth 
hunt. Additional permits that the youth possesses must be used during the time period 
for which they were issued.

•	 A youth who does not successfully harvest a turkey during the two-day youth hunt may 
use their unfilled permit during the time period and in the zone for which the  permit 
was issued.

•	 Youth hunters must be accompanied by an adult 18 years of age or older during the 
two-day youth hunt. 
-	 FOR HUNTERS 12 - 15 YEARS OF AGE, who possess a hunter education certificate: 

‘accompany’ means the adult is within both visual and voice contact of the youth. 
The adult does not have to be a licensed hunter or a hunter education graduate, and 
can accompany up to 2 youth at one time.

-	 FOR HUNTERS 10 - 11 YEARS OF AGE, or youth hunters who do not possess a 
hunter education certificate: “accompany” means the adult must be within arm’s 
reach at all times during the hunt. Adult mentors must possess a valid Wisconsin 
hunting license for the current year (for any type of game). If the mentor was born 
on or after January 1, 1973 they must be a graduate of a hunter education course or 
have completed basic training with the U.S. Armed Forces. Mentors may only mentor 
one youth aged 10 or 11, or who has not completed hunter education, at a time. Only 
one firearm, bow, or crossbow may be possessed between the mentor and youth. A 
concealed weapon, legally possessed by a permit holder, is counted toward the one 
weapon limit. Certain exemptions apply to the license requirements if mentoring 
on a licensed bird hunting preserve or on land the mentor owns or occupies; contact 
DNR for details.
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Private Lands and Landowner Information
License Requirements
A landowner is required to have a license to hunt deer, bear, turkey, game birds, migratory 
game birds, and bobcat, or to trap otter, muskrat, mink, bobcat, or fishers. The owner or 
occupant of any land and members of their family* may, without a license and subject to all 
other restrictions except seasons, hunt or trap on their own property for beaver, fox, coyote, 
raccoon, woodchuck, rabbit, and squirrel year-round, and unprotected species causing 
damage or a nuisance, and may sell the skins of these species (except for woodchucks); 
however, hunting with a firearm is not allowed during the 24-hour period immediately 
preceding the regular gun deer season, and hunting is illegal for anyone under the age of 10. 
Mentorship rules apply to youth ages 10 and 11; see page 26. Note: Grackles, red-winged 
blackbirds, and cowbirds are protected species and may not be hunted for recreational 
purposes. They may be killed on private lands without a hunting license or federal permit 
ONLY IF they are causing damage or are about to cause damage to trees, crops, livestock, 
or wildlife, or if they are concentrated in large numbers that may constitute a health hazard 
or other nuisance. Crows may also be killed without a federal permit and outside the normal 
crow season in these situations. Non-toxic shot is required when shooting crows outside 
the normal season and when shooting grackles, red-winged blackbirds, and cowbirds which 
are causing damage or a nuisance.
* Family members who do not live with the owner or occupant of the land may also hunt 
or trap certain species without a license on this land only if they are siblings and/or children 
of the owner or occupant and are under the age of 18.
Liability: Under sec. 895.52 of the Wisconsin Statutes, landowners are generally immune 
from liability for injuries received by individuals recreating on their lands. This law provides 
landowners with liability protection for injury or death of individuals participating in outdoor 
recreational activities, such as fishing, hunting, trapping, hiking, camping, boating, and berry 
picking, on their land. This immunity does not apply when the landowner receives more 
than $2,000 a year in income from the recreational activity or when the landowner acted 
maliciously with an intent to harm the recreator. There also is an exception for social guests 
invited specifically for an occasion on residential or platted property or property within 300 
feet of a commercial building or structure. Courts have consistently interpreted this statute 
to protect landowners and encourage them to allow others to recreate on their lands.
Trespassing: Landowners suspecting that individuals are trespassing on their property 
should contact their local sheriff or other local law enforcement. Conservation Wardens 
do not have the authority to investigate trespassing complaints. Any person convicted 
of trespassing is subject to a penalty of up to $1,359. According to sec. 943.13  of the 
Wisconsin Statutes, it is illegal to:
•	 enter land of another without the express or implied consent of the owner or occupant 
of the land. This includes railroad tracks/adjacent properties.

•	 enter or remain on land after having been notified by the owner or occupant not to enter 
or remain. A person has received notice from the owner or occupant if he or she has 
been notified personally, either orally or in writing, or if the land is posted.

Remember: Although hunters are required to make a reasonable effort to retrieve game 
they have killed or injured, hunters may not trespass to retrieve game, even if it was shot 
from outside the posted area.

Managed Forest Law and Forest Crop Law
This section refers to rules on private forest lands enrolled in either the Managed Forest 
Law or Forest Crop Law programs. It is illegal to:
•	 build or use a ground blind or any elevated device unless it does not damage the tree 

and is completely removed from the property each day at the close of hunting hours.*



22

•	 damage trees. Note: Cutting shooting lanes and use of screw-in tree-stands or steps are 
considered damaging and are illegal.

•	 operate any vehicle including, but not limited to, snowmobiles, bicycles, trail bikes, and 
all-terrain vehicles except where their use is authorized by posted notice or permit.*

* This does not apply to owners of land enrolled in either program or to those who have 
the landowner’s authorization.

Tribal Lands
Special rules apply on tribal lands in portions or all of Ashland, Bayfield, Forest, Iron, 
Menominee, Oneida, Sawyer, and Vilas counties. For more information, contact the tribal 
chairpersons.

State-Owned Lands (including State Forests)
This section refers to rules for all lands and property owned by or under control of the 
Department of Natural Resources, which includes lands under easement to or lease by the 
state of Wisconsin. State-owned lands do not include lands enrolled in Managed Forest 
Law or Forest Crop Law programs. See above for rules regarding these properties.

It is illegal to:
•	 hunt or possess a firearm or bow in a wildlife refuge, or possess a firearm*, air gun, slingshot, 
or bow in a state park, state fish hatchery, or within 100 yards of a state campground, picnic 
area, or within the exterior boundaries of a state recreational trail (except as posted open 
to hunting) unless it is unloaded and enclosed within a carrying case. A bow/crossbow 
must be unstrung or enclosed within a carrying case.

	 * This section does not prohibit a person authorized to possess a concealed weapon from 
possessing a loaded, uncased handgun on these properties.

•	 pursue, drive, or chase animals on lands that are closed to hunting.
•	 use a ground blind during any open season or special hunt for deer with firearms unless a 

minimum of 144 square inches of solid blaze orange or florescent blaze orange material 
is visible from all directions.**

	 Note: Blinds used for waterfowl hunting are exempt from this rule.
•	 build or use a ground blind or any elevated device unless it does not damage the tree 

and is completely removed from the property each day at the close of hunting hours.**
	 Note: Blinds used for waterfowl hunting do not need to be removed daily. See waterfowl 

regulations for details.
•	 leave a tree stand or ground blind unoccupied during legal hunting hours unless the 
owner’s customer ID number or name and address have been attached in a manner that 
is visible and legible to a person on the ground.

	 ** Except: Ground blinds constructed entirely of dead vegetation found on the property 
do not need to be removed at the end of each day, do not need to display blaze orange, 
and do not need to have name and address displayed.

•	 damage trees. Cutting shooting lanes and use of screw-in tree-stands or steps are 

Finding Land Open to Hunting
The DNR website provides detailed information about public and public-access lands 
in your area. Go to dnr.wi.gov, keyword: hunting. Look for the ‘Where to Hunt’ link in 
the ‘Your Season’ section of the page.
Voluntary Public Access (VPA) is a voluntary program offered that provides financial 
incentives to private landowners who open their property to public hunting, fishing, 
trapping, and wildlife observation. Properties open to public access through the VPA 
program and information on enrolling can be found by visiting dnr.wi.gov, keyword: 
VPA, or contacting the VPA program coordinator at 608-266-5560.
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considered damaging and are illegal.
•	 possess any loaded or uncased firearm or air gun while within the exterior boundary of 
state-owned lands posted with department signs in Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Jefferson, 
Juneau, Kenosha, La Crosse, Manitowoc, Milwaukee, Outagamie, Ozaukee, Racine, 
Sauk, Sheboygan, Walworth, Washington, Waukesha, and Winnebago counties or on 
State Recreation Areas or state forest lands in the Kettle Moraine or Point Beach State 
Forests except as follows:
1.	 while engaged in hunting in accordance with the open seasons listed on pages 10-17.
2.	 while shooting at an established target range (this is the only target shooting permitted 

on these state lands).
3.	 while training or trialing dogs under department license within designated areas.

•	 camp on any state lands except in designated campgrounds or on state-owned islands on 
the Mississippi and Lower Wisconsin State Riverway unless a special camp registration 
permit is obtained from the DNR prior to setting up camp.

•	 allow dogs to run on DNR lands from April 15 through July 31 unless the dog is on a leash 
no longer than 8 feet. This rule does not apply to Class 1 field trial grounds, DNR lands 
open to dog training, or to training dogs to track bear from July 1 - Aug. 31. Also, there 
are exceptions for the training and trialing of dogs on raccoon and rabbits with a training 
license. See the Wisconsin Dog Training and Trialing Regulations (PUB-WM-444) for 
more information, license requirements, and restrictions.

•	 operate any vehicle including, but not limited to, snowmobiles, bicycles, trail bikes, and 
all-terrain vehicles except where their use is authorized by posted notice or permit. This 
prohibition does not apply to public roadways and trails held open to the public for the 
type of vehicle being operated. Bicycles are permitted in all areas of the northern state 
forests and the Turtle-Flambeau and Willow Flowage Scenic Water Areas, except where 
posted against such use.

•	 operate motor vehicles, including ATVs and snowmobiles, except for in areas posted 
open to such use or by permit.

State Park Hunting
Starting on January 1, 2013, there will be expanded opportunities for hunting and 
trapping in most state parks. Visit the DNR website at dnr.wi.gov, or contact the DNR 
Call Center (1-888-936-7463) for more information.
Limited small game hunting is offered in Governor Dodge, Mill Bluff, and Mirror Lake 
State Parks. Special regulations for hunting in these parks include:
•	 All approved hunting areas will be designated (contact the park offices for a map of the 
areas open to small game hunting).

•	 All hunters must register at the state park entrance station prior to hunting (contact the 
state park for details on gaining access to the park).

•	 All hunts are limited to shotgun, muzzleloading shotgun, and bow (no rifles or 
handguns). Shotguns and muzzleloaders may not fire single projectiles, slugs or 
buckshot.

•	 The discharging of firearms is not allowed outside of the designated hunting area.
Small game hunting in state parks will follow established regulations for small game listed 
in this pamphlet except as follows: 
•	 Small game hunting is by special access permit only (contact the state park for information 
on obtaining this free access permit).

•	 Small game hunting is permitted only between November 1 and December 15 (except 
where the season ends earlier for a particular species—see pages 10–17). Bag limits 
applicable to the land surrounding the park would apply to the park as well.

•	 Small game hunting is permitted only from one half-hour before sunrise until 12 noon 
each day.
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•	 Waterfowl hunting in Mirror Lake State Park is permitted for the full, regular migratory 
waterfowl hunting season (see 2012 Migratory Bird Regulations).

Spring turkey hunting is allowed in certain State Park Hunting Zones (see page 19 for 
map of zones).

Federal Lands
Chequamegon-Nicolet National Forest information
Headquarters Offices—Park Falls: 715-762-2461, TTY 715-762-5701 and
Rhinelander: 715-362-1300, TTY 715-362-1383.
Additional information and regulations may be found on the web at 

www.fs.fed.us/r9/cnnf/.
Notice: Motorized access to these forest lands has changed. Contact above for details.

National Wildlife Refuge and Waterfowl Production Area Regulations
Portions of National Wildlife Refuges (NWRs) and Waterfowl Production Areas (WPAs) 
are open to hunting and trapping in accordance with state and federal regulations. Federal 
regulations will vary. In order to avoid violating federal regulations contact the office of 
the NWR or WPA you will be hunting to get regulations specific to that property. Contact 
information for properties can be found at the following website: midwest.fws.gov.
The following is a partial list of general NWR and WPA regulations. Blaze orange on 
ground blinds is currently not required on federal lands, but it is recommended on these 
lands during gun deer seasons. Be sure to check with the property you will be hunting 
on for complete regulations.

It is illegal to:
•	 Possess any firearm, bow, or other weapons unless engaged in legal hunting. 

Note: Concealed weapons are illegal unless you are authorized by law to possess a 
concealed weapon in Wisconsin.

•	 Possess lead shot. Note: Only non-toxic shot may be possessed for hunting game birds 
and animals, including wild turkeys, on WPAs, Horicon NWR, Necedah NWR, and 
Upper Mississippi River National Wildlife and Fish Refuges (UMRNWFR). This rule 
does not apply to hunting small game mammals or deer with rifles and shotguns loaded 
with a single projectile (slugs).

•	 Leave spent shells on the ground. Spent shells are considered litter on these properties 
and must be removed. Federal citation for littering is $125.00.

•	 Build or use a ground blind or any elevated device, unless it does not damage the tree 
(i.e. no use of screws, nails, etc.) and is completely removed from the property each 
day at the close of hunting hours.

•	 Construct permanent blinds out of man-made materials. Note: Portable blinds constructed 
of man-made materials are allowed, but must be removed from the property each day 
at the close of hunting hours.

•	 Possess alcoholic beverages while hunting.
•	 Camp, horseback ride, or have overnight use or campfires on WPAs.
•	 Shine wild animals at any time.

Remember The Basic Rules Of Firearm Safety
•	 Treat every firearm as if it is loaded.
•	 Always point the muzzle in a safe direction.
•	 Be certain of your target and what’s beyond it.
•	 Keep your finger out of the trigger guard until you’re ready to shoot.



25

Small Game License, Stamp, and Privilege Information
Applications for Permit Programs
The following permits to pursue the listed species are required in addition to hunting (or 
trapping) licenses and/or stamps.
Program	 Application Deadline	 Fee
Horicon Zone Goose Season	 August 1	 $3 
2012 Fall Turkey	 August 1	 $3 
Sharp-tailed Grouse	 August 1	 $3 
Bobcat 	 August 1	 $6 
Otter	 August 1	 $3 
Fisher	 August 1	 $3 
2013 Spring Turkey	 December 10	 $3 
2013 Bear	 December 10	 $3

To obtain a permit, a customer must pay the required application fee (unless 
exempt) and submit their application choices prior to the application deadline. 
Preference Points: If an applicant is drawn for a permit, he or she will NOT receive a 
preference point. If a valid application is submitted and the applicant is not successful in 
the drawing, a preference point is recorded. Applicants with preference points who submit 
valid applications will have a better chance of being drawn for a permit than if they had 
no preference points. Unsuccessful applicants will not be notified.
Customers may apply for a preference point only for bobcat, fisher, or otter. Applicants 
who will not be hunting or trapping these furbearers in 2012, but would like a preference 
point, need to pay the application fee and submit their application choices by August 1, 
2012 to be awarded a preference point.
Visit dnr.wi.gov to check for drawing results or for information on preference point status 
and transfers.

Licensing and Stamp Requirements
•	 No person may hunt without first obtaining the appropriate license, permits, and tags.
•	 Hunters must carry a valid hunting license and necessary stamp privileges on their person 
while engaged in hunting and present it to a warden upon request.

•	 Hunters must meet hunter education requirements in order to obtain a license (see page 
26), except for those hunting under mentorship program rules (see page 26).

•	 It is illegal to allow someone else to use or carry your license or tag, or for you to use 
or carry another person’s license or tag when engaged in hunting.

•	 No person younger than 10 years old may obtain a license which authorizes hunting.
•	 To receive a duplicate license, you must turn in all remaining parts of the lost or damaged 
license to a license agent. Duplicate licenses are available from all license sales agents.

•	 First time purchasers of a Wisconsin hunting license must provide their social security 
number.

Resident Licenses
Residency Requirements to Purchase a Resident Hunting License
•	 A person must have maintained a permanent residence in this state for 30 consecutive 
days immediately before purchasing a license. Domiciliary intent is required. Evidence 
of domiciliary intent includes, but is not limited to, where the person votes, pays personal 
income taxes, or obtains a driver’s license. Mere presence in the state for a 30-day 
period or ownership of property is not sufficient to establish residency. Non-residents 
ages 10–17 who have a parent that is a Wisconsin resident may purchase licenses 
at resident rates.
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Non-resident Students Attending School in Wisconsin
•	 Full-time students in residence at a public or private Wisconsin college or university 
and foreign citizens residing in the state and attending a Wisconsin high school or a 
university agricultural short course may purchase deer gun, archery, small game, fishing, 
and sports licenses at resident prices.

Effective Dates
•	 All hunting licenses are effective immediately after purchase and with the opening of 
the specific seasons except for the following:
-	 Non-resident 5-day Small Game Licenses which are valid beginning on the date 

specified on the license and for 4 consecutive days thereafter.
•	 All 2012 hunting licenses expire on March 31, 2013, with the exception of the non-
resident 5-day Small Game License, which expires on date stated on license.

Armed Forces Members
Armed Forces members are entitled to the following:
•	 Exemption from hunter education requirements (see below).
•	 A U.S. Armed Forces member who exhibits proof that he or she is a Wisconsin resident 

in active service with the Armed Forces and on furlough or leave may receive a 
free Armed Forces Small Game and Fishing License (available at any ALIS agent).
Note: The state Waterfowl, Pheasant, Great Lakes, and Trout Stamps are not required 
with this free combination license.

•	 Any non-resident active duty U.S. Armed Forces, Reserves, or Wisconsin National 
Guard member stationed in Wisconsin may purchase a hunting, trapping, or fishing 
license at the resident fee.

• 	 Any non-resident active duty U.S. Armed Forces or Reserves member NOT stationed 
in Wisconsin and who was a Wisconsin resident when they entered active service may 
purchase a hunting, trapping, or fishing license at the resident fee.

• 	 Any U.S. Armed Forces member who is unable to use his/her bobcat, otter, fisher, turkey, or 
sharp-tailed grouse permit due to active duty service may request to defer use of the permit. 
Contact the DNR Call Center for more information.

Hunter Education Requirements
Persons born on or after January 1, 1973, must present their Hunter Education certificate, 
last year’s hunting license, or proof of successful completion of basic training in the 
U.S. Armed Forces, Reserves, or National Guard to purchase any hunting license, unless 
participating in a mentored hunt (see below). A certificate of successful completion of a 
Bow Hunter Education course can be used to purchase an archery license. Contact the 
DNR Call Center for course information.

First-time Hunter Education Graduates
Residents 10 years and older, graduating from a Wisconsin Hunter Education course for 
the first time are entitled to the following:
•	 Certificates issued after January 1, 2012 will serve as your Small Game License and 
are valid for hunting small game until March 31, 2013. You must carry your Hunter 
Education Certificate with you while hunting if it is acting as your Small Game hunting 
authorization.

•	 Exemption from the requirement to purchase the pheasant and state waterfowl stamps 
while the certificate is valid for small game hunting.

Note: The above does not exempt a person from the requirement to purchase goose permits, 
a federal waterfowl stamp if age 16 and over, or from becoming HIP- registered (page 3).

Hunting Mentorship Program
This program allows a person aged 10 or older to obtain a hunting license and hunt without 
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the need to first take hunter education provided the hunter does the following: hunts 
within arm’s reach of a mentor regardless of the age of the hunter; possesses the appropriate 
hunting license, permits and tags; and complies with all other hunting laws, seasons, and 
bag limits. Mentors must: be at least 18 years old; be a hunter education graduate unless 
born before January 1, 1973 or have completed basic training with the Armed Forces; be the 
hunter’s parent or guardian, or have the permission of the hunter’s parent/guardian before 
acting as a mentor for a person under 18; and possess a current license year’s Wisconsin 
hunting license (type of license does not matter unless they will also be attempting to 
harvest game). Only ONE firearm, bow, or crossbow (if eligible for a crossbow permit) 
can be possessed jointly between the hunter and the mentor if the hunter is either age 10 
or 11 or was born on or after January 1, 1973 and has not yet taken and passed Hunter 
Education. A concealed weapon, legally possessed by a permit holder, is counted toward 
the one weapon limit. Note: Youth ages 10 and 11 may only hunt under these mentorship 
rules even if they already completed Hunter Education.

Adult Supervision Required
A parent or guardian (at least 18 years of age) must accompany hunters ages 12 and 13. 
Accompany means within sight and voice contact without the aid of any mechanical or 
electronic amplifying device other than a hearing aid. Persons under the age of 12 may 
not hunt unless participating in a DNR Learn to Hunt event or the Hunting Mentorship 
Program. Persons under age 18 may not possess firearms for non-hunting purposes 
unless accompanied by an adult, except persons age 14-17 who have completed hunter 
education can possess legal shotguns and rifles without being accompanied by an adult.

Disabled Hunters
Qualified disabled persons may obtain a permit to hunt from a stationary vehicle and/or use 
a crossbow. Visually handicapped persons may be able to obtain a permit to include the use 
of a laser sighting device while hunting with a firearm, bow, or crossbow. Contact the DNR 
Call Center for further information or go to dnr.wi.gov. Allow six weeks for processing.

Disabled Veteran Recreation Card
Resident disabled veterans who have at least a 50% disability rating or receive disability 
compensation are eligible to receive the annual Disabled Veteran Recreation Card which 
includes the small game hunting and fishing privileges.

Senior Citizen Recreation Card Holders
The Senior Citizen Recreation Card was once issued to persons born before 1927, but it 
is no longer offered. It continues to convey lifetime privileges to the holder as long as the 
holder possesses the card and remains a resident. Please contact the DNR Call Center for 
the privileges conveyed by this card.

Special Hunts
Hunting on School Forest Land
A school board may decide to allow hunting for game in its school forest consistent with 
the open and closed season for game on adjacent land.
Badger Army Ammunition Plant
For hunting information, send a self-addressed, stamped envelope to: Commander’s 
Representative, Badger Army Ammunition Plant, ATTN: SMCBA-NR, Baraboo, WI 
53913-5000.
Fort McCoy Military Reservation
Hunting information can be found under ‘Hunting and Fishing Information’ at 
www.mccoy.army.mil or by calling the Permit Sales Office at 608-388-3337.
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*	 Small Game means all varieties of wild mammals and birds for which there is an open season, but does 
not include deer, moose, elk, wolf, bear, or wild turkey or endangered, threatened, or protected species. Non-
residents need to purchase the Furbearer Hunting License to hunt furbearers as defined on page 3.

License Resident Non-Resident Privileges Included
Conservation 
Patron $165 $600 Small game*, spring and fall turkey licenses and 

stamp, pheasant stamp, deer firearm, archery, 
trapping, fishing, state fishing and waterfowl 
stamps, most permit fees, DNR magazine 
subscription, vehicle admission to state parks 
and related areas (including State Trail Pass). 
Non-resident license does not include hunting 
furbearing animals. Junior license does not 
include the DNR’s magazine or park sticker.

Junior 
Conservation 
Patron 
(ages 10-17)

$75 $77

Sports $60 $275 General fishing, deer firearm, small game* 
(excluding furbearing animals as defined on 
page 3, for non-residents). Bobcat requires a 
permit - see page 25.

Junior Sports 
(ages 12-17) $35 $36

Archery $24 $160 Small game*, deer, and unprotected species 
(bobcat requires a permit, see page 25) may be 
harvested with a bow. Non-resident license 
does not include hunting furbearing animals.

Junior 
Archery 
(ages 12-17)

$20 N/A

Small Game $18 $85

Small game* and unprotected species (bobcat 
requires a permit, see page 25) may be harvested 
with a firearm and bow. Non-resident small 
game license does not include hunting of 
furbearing animals as defined on page 3.

Junior Small 
Game 
(ages 12-17)

$9 N/A
Small game* and unprotected species (bobcat 
requires a permit, see page 25) may be harvested 
with a firearm and bow.

Senior 
Citizen Small 
Game (age 
65 or Over)

$9 N/A
Small game* and unprotected species (bobcat 
requires a permit, see page 25) may be harvested 
with a firearm and bow.

5-Day Small 
Game N/A $55

Small game* and unprotected species may 
be hunted with a firearm or a bow during a 
specified, consecutive 5-day period. Does not 
include hunting furbearing animals.

Furbearer 
Hunting N/A $160 

Hunting skunk, raccoon, fox, weasel, opossum, 
coyote, and bobcat (with permit, see page 25) 
with a firearm or bow.

2012 Fall 
Turkey $15 $60

Hunting wild turkey during the 2012 fall season. 
An additional $5.25 turkey stamp privilege fee 
will automatically be added at time of purchase 
unless the customer purchased a 2012 Spring 
Turkey License, Stamp, and Carcass Tag.

License Types and Fees
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Reduced Rates For Qualifying Hunters
Qualifying hunters can purchase certain hunting licenses and permits at reduced rates. 
Visit the DNR website or contact the DNR Call Center for more information. Reduced 
rates are available to:
•	 youth aged 10 and 11;
•	 hunters purchasing a qualifying license for the first time;
•	 hunters who have not purchased qualifying licenses in the preceding 10 years; or
•	 hunters who recruit a minimum number of first-time hunters, trappers, and anglers.
License Sales and Applications
All licenses are available at License Sales Agents, over the phone at 877-WI-LICENSE 
(877-945-4236), or online at dnr.wi.gov. Resident and non-resident customers can purchase 
their hunting licenses and submit their permit applications online 24 hours a day, 7 days a 
week. Licenses purchased online that do not have a back tag, carcass tag, or harvest report 
card must be printed at home (other licenses will be delivered by mail within 7-10 business 
days). When submitting permit applications purchased online, customers will receive an 
immediate printable confirmation that their data was received. Visit the DNR website or 
call the DNR Call Center toll-free at 1-888-936-7463 for more information.

License Resident Non-Resident Privileges Included

2013 Spring 
Turkey $15 $60

Hunting wild turkey during the 2013 spring 
season. An additional $5.25 turkey stamp 
privilege fee will automatically be added 
at time of purchase.

Additional 
Fall or Spring 
Turkey Permits

$10 $15

If the number of turkey permits exceeds 
the number of applicants for a specific 
zone and time period for either the fall or 
spring turkey season, the DNR may sell 
them at license sales locations. Call the 
DNR Call Center or check online for how 
these permits will be issued.

Armed Forces 
Small Game and 
Fishing

FREE N/A 

Small game* (bobcat requires a permit, see 
page 25) may be hunted with a firearm or 
bow and arrow (see pages 25 and 26 for 
stamp exemptions and qualifications).

Disabled Veteran 
Recreation Card $7 N/A

Small game* (bobcat requires a permit, see 
page 25) may be hunted with a firearm or 
bow and arrow (see pages 25 and 26 for 
stamp exemptions and qualifications).

Waterfowl 
Stamp $7 $7

Required for hunters aged 16 and older 
for waterfowl hunting, in addition to the 
Federal Migratory Bird Stamp and a Small 
Game, Archery, or Sports License (see 
pages 25-27 for exemptions).

Pheasant Stamp $10 $10 

Required statewide to hunt pheasants 
in addition to a Small Game, Archery 
or Sports License (see pages 25-27 for 
exemptions).

Turkey Stamp $5.25 $5.25
Required statewide to hunt turkeys in 
either the fall or spring season in addition 
to a fall or spring turkey license.
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Hunting Hours
No person shall hunt any game before or after the hunting hours listed in the tables on  
pages 31-32, unless other hours are specified in this pamphlet in the species specific sections 
found on pages 10-17. ‘Hunt’ or ‘hunting’ includes shooting, shooting at, pursuing, taking, 
capturing or killing, or attempting to capture or kill any wild animal.
•	 Times listed in the hunting hours tables are one-half hour before sunrise to 20 minutes 

after sunset.
•	 Most firearm hunting is prohibited on Nov. 16, except for waterfowl hunting, hunting 
on licensed bird hunting preserves, and small game hunting in CWD Zones.

•	 Calculating Hunting Hours: Determine your location in either the Northern or Southern 
Area and add the minutes shown in the zone in which you are hunting to the opening 
and closing times listed in either the Northern or Southern Area Hunting Hours table.

•	 Night Hunting: Coyote, fox, raccoon, and unprotected species may be hunted without 
hunting hour restrictions except:

1.	during the bear and archery deer seasons, when hunting hours listed on pages 31–32 
apply to archery hunting all species.

2.	normal hunting hours (listed on pages 31 -32) apply while hunting all species from 
November 17-25 if hunting outside of CWD zones.

	 Note: Coyote, fox, and raccoon may be hunted at night during the muzzleloader, CWD 
deer gun seasons, youth hunt, and antlerless-only October and December gun hunts.

Note: Mourning dove, 
woodcock, snipe, and 
rails are migratory game 
birds and hunting hours 
for these species end at 
sunset. Hours also end 
at sunset for the spring 
turkey hunting season. 
You must subtract 20 
minutes from the P.M. 
column on pages 31 and 
32 to determine the daily 
closure for mourning 
dove, woodcock, rails, 
and snipe, as well as 
for turkey during the 
spring season.
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