
NEW IN 2016!
•Back tags are eliminated. They are no longer required 

or issued.  You are still required to purchase a license.

•Class B licenses are eliminated. See first NEW item in 
“Licensing Requirements” section.

•Application fees for Class A  licenses have increased 
from  $3 to $4.50.

 • Class A licenses may now be transferred to Purple 
Heart recipients, current active duty U.S. Armed Forces 
members and holders of Class A, B, C and D disabled 
permits.

•Because of changes to the licensing system, hunters 
should note the following:

--Carcass tags will be printed on regular paper. 

--Tagging requirements have changed. See NEW items 
in “Tagging” section.

-Rules regarding proof of licenses have changed. See 
second NEW item in “Licensing Requirements” section.

--Hunters must  carry a pen or pencil with them in the 
field for validating carcass tags.

-Tags must be kept intact and legible.

Bear or Wolf Conflicts
Those experiencing conflicts with bears or wolves in 
Wisconsin should contact USDA Wildlife Services: (800) 
228-1368 in northern Wisconsin, (800) 433-0663 in 
southern Wisconsin.

Licensing Requirements
Class A License Cost: Residents $49, Non-Residents $251
A  Class A license is required to shoot and tag a bear. Hunters 
may only hunt in the management zone indicated on their 
license.
License Issuance
The number of Class A bear licenses available per management 
zone is based upon previous hunter success rates and current 
bear population estimates.
.•	 NEW! Residents and nonresidents may now participate in 

the following bear baiting, hunting and training activities 
without a Class B license if those activities are permitted 
and in compliance with applicable regulations: bait bears 
for hunting purposes (recreational feeding of bears remains 
illegal); train dogs to track bears; act as a backup shooter; 
assist hunters with pursuing bears, provided that a person 
does not shoot, shoot at, capture, take, or kill the bear (unless 
acting as a backup shooter).

Questions?
Contact the DNR Call Center (888) WDNR INFo 

(888-936-7463) • local (608) 266-2621 •DNR.WI.GOV 
TTY Access via relay - 711

Available 7 days a week, 7:00 AM until 10:00 PM.

Spanish and Hmong speaking representatives are available. 

Wisconsin
BEAR HUNTING

Regulations

2016

  Southern Area Hours Northern Area Hours
September 2016

Date A.M. P.M. A.M. P.M.
7 5:52 7:35 5:49 7:36
8 5:53 7:33 5:50 7:34
9 5:54 7:31 5:52 7:32
10 5:55 7:29 5:53 7:30
11 5:56 7:27 5:54 7:28
12 5:57 7:26 5:55 7:26
13 5:59 7:24 5:57 7:24
14 6:00 7:22 5:58 7:22
15 6:01 7:20 5:59 7:20
16 6:02 7:18 6:00 7:18
17 6:03 7:17 6:02 7:16
18 6:04 7:15 6:03 7:14
19 6:05 7:13 6:04 7:12
20 6:06 7:11 6:05 7:11
21 6:08 7:09 6:07 7:09
22 6:09 7:07 6:08 7:07
23 6:10 7:05 6:09 7:05
24 6:11 7:04 6:10 7:03
25 6:12 7:02 6:11 7:01
26 6:13 7:00 6:13 6:59
27 6:14 6:58 6:14 6:57
28 6:16 6:56 6:15 6:55
29 6:17 6:55 6:17 6:53
30 6:18 6:53 6:18 6:51

October 2016
1 6:19 6:51 6:19 6:49
2 6:20 6:49 6:20 6:47
3 6:21 6:47 6:22 6:45
4 6:23 6:46 6:23 6:44
5 6:24 6:44 6:24 6:42
6 6:25 6:42 6:25 6:40
7 6:26 6:40 6:27 6:38
8 6:27 6:38 6:28 6:36
9 6:29 6:37 6:29 6:34
10 6:30 6:35 6:31 6:32
11 6:31 6:33 6:32 6:31

This pamphlet is a summary of Wisconsin’s bear hunting laws and regulations. For a complete 
set of laws and regulations, please refer to the Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Code of the 
Department of Natural Resources. The Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources provides equal 
opportunity in its employment,programs, services and functions under an Affirmative Action Plan. 
If you have any questions, please write to Equal Opportunity Office, Department of Interior, 
Washington, D.C. 20240. The Department of Natural Resources is committed to serving people 
with disabilities. If you need this information in an alternative format, please call (608) 266-8204.

Jillian Kaefer, 18, harvested this bear while hunting near 
Grantsburg in September 2015.  Jillian participated in the Learn to 
Bear Hunt Program in 2011 when she was 13 years old.  After this 
positive experience, she started applying for preference points and 

was drawn for a harvest tag in 2015.  “I applied what I learned and 
harvested this really nice bear pretty much on my own,” said Jillian.

• 	 Transfer recipient will retain his/her accumulated preference 
points.

• 	 Transfer application shall be submitted at least 15 days prior 
to the start of the bear season.

• 	 Upon request, the DNR will defer the use of a Class A 
bear license approval for members of the Armed Forces or 
National Guard who are on active duty and unable to hunt.  

•	 Bear transfer applications and information can be found at 
dnr.wi.gov keywords “permit transfer” or at DNR Service 
Centers.

Youth-Specific Information
•	 Youth under age 10 may engage in all bear hunting activities, 

except that they may not possess a firearm or shoot a bear. 
Youth applicants must be at least 10 by the first day of the 
bear hunting season that immediately follows the date of 
application.

•	 Youth ages 10–11 may only shoot a bear as a backup shooter 
or possess a firearm if they are in compliance with all the 
Hunting Mentorship Program requirement..

•	 Youth ages 12–13 who have not yet completed hunter 
education must be in compliance with all the Hunting 
Mentorship Program requirements. Youth ages 12 –13 who 
have completed Hunter Education must be under adult 
supervision, within visual and voice contact of the adult, and 
must be in the presence of the Class A license holder to act 
as a backup shooter.

•	 Youth ages 14–15 who have not yet completed hunter 
education must be in compliance with all the Hunting 
Mentorship Program requirements. Youth ages 14–15 who 
have completed hunter education do not need to be in visual 
or voice contact with an adult while in possession of a firearm, 
but must be in the presence of the Class A license holder to 
act as a backup shooter. 

Hunting Mentoriship Program
Under this program, adults and youth age 10 or older may 
obtain a Class A hunting license without first completing a 
hunter education certification. Individuals utilizing this program 
are required to hunt within arm’s reach of a mentor and may 
only possess one firearm, crossbow, or bow jointly between 
the mentored hunter and the mentor. A concealed weapon, 
legally possessed by a permit holder, is counted toward the one 
weapon limit but a youth age 10-17 is not allowed to hunt with 
a handgun. Visit dnr.wi.gov keyword “mentored hunting” for 
more information.

2016 Season Dates
Zone A, Zone B, Zone D
September 7 to September 13
• with aid of bait
• with other legal methods not using dogs

September 14 to October 4
• with aid of dogs
• with aid of bait
• with all legal methods

October 5 to October 11
• with use of dogs only

Zone C
September 7 to October 11
• with all legal methods not using dogs

Report Natural Resources Violations
CALL or TEXT

(800) TIP-WDNR
(800-847-9367)

Toll Free • Statewide • 24-Hour • Confidential 

Registration and Submitting Tooth 
Samples

•	 Registration is mandatory.
•	 Successful hunters must electronically register bears they 

harvest, in the management zone of kill or in an adjoining 
management zone, by 5 PM the day after the kill. There 
are three ways to do this:

	 -Go to gamereg.wi.gov.
	 -Call (844) GAME REG (844-426-3734).
	 -Visit an in-person station. Call (888) 936-7463 or go to 

dnr.wi.gov and search “registration stations” to find a list. 
•	 When registration is complete, you will be given a 

confirmation number. Record this number in pen/pencil 
where indicated on the carcass tag.

•	 Keep the carcass tag, which has been marked with the 
confirmation number, until all meat has been consumed.

• 	 This year, successful hunters are required to provide 
one upper pre-molar tooth from each harvested bear 
to determine the bear’s age. Instructions for collection 
of the teeth will be mailed to hunters who draw Class 
A licenses, and is also available at dnr.wi.gov.keyword 
“bear registration.” Hunters will be notified of the bear’s 
age after samples are analyzed.

•	 If hunters do not have DNR-provided materials, they 
should write their name, customer ID number and 
registration confirmation number on a piece of paper and 
affix the tooth to it with tape. Enclose this in an envelope 
and mail to: Bear Tooth, 107 Sutliff Avenue, Rhinelander, 
WI 54501.

Photo by Gary Kaefer

• 	NEW!	Holders of a Class A license must carry proof of their 
license while engaging in any of the activities requiring the 
license and display it to a warden upon request. See dnr.wi.gov 
and search “Go Wild” for acceptable forms of proof in lieu of 
original license issued at the point of sale.

• 	Hunters are selected using a cumulative preference point system. 
Applicants receive a preference point every year they apply and 
are not drawn for a Class A license. For each zone, applicants 
with the greatest number of preference points are chosen first 
to receive a Class A license. Hunters who apply as a group will 
enter the drawing with the preference point total of the group 
member with lowest preference. Hunters must apply for a 
license or preference point at least once every 3 years to retain 
their preference points.

•	 To be considered for a Class A bear license in 2017, an applicant 
must pay a $4.50 application fee and provide zone preference 
to the license agent at the time of purchase. Applications go on 
sale in March and the application deadline is midnight, Dec. 
10, 2016. If a zone is selected at the time of purchase and you are 
selected in the drawing, your preference points will be reset to 
zero even if you do not purchase a Class A license. Unsuccessful 
applicants automatically receive a preference point. 

•	 Applicants who will not be bear hunting in 2017 but would like 
a preference point should inform the license agent at the time of 
purchase.

• It is the hunter’s responsibility to determine if he or she was selected 
in the drawing. Preference points will not be reinstated for hunters 
who were unaware of their drawing status.

•	 Applicants may submit applications online at gowild.wi.gov. 
There is an additional $1 convenience fee for submitting online

•	 Non-residents may purchase Class A licenses at the resident rate 
if they are current active duty members of the U.S. Armed Forces 
and were Wisconsin residents when they enlisted.

•	 Hunters drawn for a 2016 Class A license can purchase their 
license at any time beginning March 2016. However, licenses 
purchased after Sept. 6, 2016 are not valid until three days after 
the purchase. For example, a license purchased on Monday is 
valid on Thursday.

• 	 Anyone charging a fee to provide bear hunting services must 
possess a guide license; a guide license  does not grant Class A 
privileges.

Class A Bear License Transfer
•	 NEW! A person may apply to transfer their Class A bear license to 

a  Purple Heart recipient, a current active duty member of the U.S. 
Armed Forces or holder of a valid Class A, B, C or D disability 
permit issued by the Department.  (Documentation required).

• 	 A person may apply to transfer their Class A license to a minor 
age 10-17. 

• 	 Preference points or Class A bear licenses can be transferred to 
a minor from a customer who is deceased.

• 	 Recipient of the Class A bear license must be eligible to use the 
approval.

Bear hunting/dog 
training hours 
are 30 minutes 
before sunrise to 
20 minutes after 
sunset. The table 
below lists these 
times for Zone 
A. To determine 
opening (AM) and 
closing (PM) times 
for other zones, 
add the minutes 
shown on map at 
left to the times 
listed in the table 
below.

PUB-WM-197 2016

Department of Natural Resources 
P.O. Box 7921 
Madison, WI 53707 
(888) 936-7463

Finding Land Open to Hunting
Wisconsin has nearly 7 million acres of land open to 
public hunting. Information on various land types and 
programs can be found at dnr.wi.gov. Search the following 
keywords: public lands, public access to tax law land, 
voluntary public access lands, and wildlife damage 
abatement programs.



Backup Shooters
Backup shooters must adhere to the following rules:
•	  may only shoot for the purpose of killing a bear that was shot, but 

not killed, by a Class A bear license holder;
• 	 may only shoot if the Class A bear license holder possesses an unused 

bear carcass tag valid for the zone being hunted;
•	  may only shoot if killing the bear is necessary to protect the safety 

of the members of the hunting party or others.
Firearm and Archery Restrictions
It is illegal to:
•	 hunt bear with any rimfire rifle, air rifle, centerfire rifle less than .22 

caliber, .410 shotgun, handgun loaded with .410 shotgun ammunition, 
fully automatic firearm or with ammunition loaded with non-
expanding type bullets;

•	 use handguns that are not muzzleloading handguns unless they 
are loaded with centerfire cartridges of .22 caliber or larger. These 
handguns must have a minimum barrel length of 5½” measured from 
the muzzle end of the barrel, not including attached muzzle breaks, 
to the firing pin with the action closed;

•	 use a muzzleloading handgun unless it fires a single projectile 
weighing not less than 138 grains and is at least .44 caliber with a 
minimum barrel length of 7 inches measured from muzzle to breech;

•	 use a muzzleloader, unless it is a smoothbore muzzleloading firearm 
of .45 caliber or larger, or a rifled muzzleloading firearm of .40 caliber 
or larger;

•	 hunt bear with a bow having a pull of less than 30 pounds, or use 
arrows with well-sharpened broadhead blades less than 7/8” wide;

•	 possess any poisoned, drugged or explosive-tipped arrow while 
hunting;

•	 hunt bear with a crossbow, unless it has a minimum draw of 100 
pounds, a workable safety and uses at least 14-inch  long bolts or 
arrows equipped with broadheads. Compound bows equipped with a 
drawlock mechanism that is capable of holding the bow at full draw 
are considered crossbows, which are exempt from the 100-pound 
requirement but must meet the 30-pound minimum;

•	 possess in a vehicle or transport in or on a moving vehicle any firearm 
(other than a handgun) or bow unless it is unloaded* or any crossbow 
unless it is unloaded and decocked or unloaded and enclosed within 
a carrying case;

•	 load a firearm other than a handgun while it is in a vehicle, or 
discharge any firearm in or from any moving vehicle** or a. stationary 
motorized vehicle except for certain disabled hunters with proper 
permits.

*A loaded firearm can be placed on, but not in, a vehicle which is 
stationary.** A person may load and discharge a firearm, bow or 
crossbow from a stationary, non-motorized vehicle which is not attached 
to a motor vehicle. 

 	

Hunting Near Roadways
It is illegal to:
•	 hunt within 50 feet of the roadway’s center; 
•	 discharge a firearm, shoot an arrow from a bow or a bolt from 

a crossbow, from or across a highway or within 50 feet of the 
roadway’s center. This prohibition applies to all public roads 
which are either paved or indicated on a current Department 
of Transportation county highway map.

Note: Class A and certain Class B disabled permit holders are 
exempt from certain portions of this requirement when hunting 
from a stationary vehicle. Contact the DNR for more information.
Baiting
1. Bait may be placed and used for the purpose of hunting bear 
or training bear dogs statewide, except that it is illegal for any 
person to place, use or hunt over bait placed for bears:
•	 beginning the day after the bear season closes and continuing     

through the following April 14th;
• 	 in excess of 10 gallons of bait at any site;
• 	 that is not totally enclosed in a hollow log, a hole in the 

ground or stump which is capped with logs, rocks, or other 
naturally occurring and unprocessed substances which 
prevent deer from accessing the material. 

(Note: Liquid scent used for hunting bear or training bear dogs 
does not need to be enclosed, but is part of the 10 gallon limit.)
• 	 unless, when bait site is checked or re-baited, all bait that has 

been uncovered is again enclosed and made inaccessible to 
deer.

(Note: There is no limit to the number of bear bait sites a person 
may establish.)
(Note: Baiting of any sort is not allowed on lands managed by 
the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.)
2. No person may place, use, or hunt over bait or scent that:
•	 contains any animal part or animal by-product. Animal part 

or by-product includes, but is not limited to, honey, bones, 
fish, meat, solid animal fat, bacon grease, animal carcass, or 
parts of animal carcasses, but does not include liquid scents or 
cheese. Attracting bears by the methods commonly referred 
to as ‘honey burns’ or ‘bacon burns’ is not legal;

•	 contains or is contained within metal, paper, plastic, glass, 
wood or other similar processed materials. This does not 
apply to bait placed in hollow logs or stumps or to scent 
materials;

•	 is contained in or deposited by a feeder that is designed to 
deposit or replenish bait automatically, mechanically or by 
gravity;

•	 is located within 50 yards of any established and maintained 
trail, road, or campsite used by the public or within 100 yards 
of a roadway having a posted limit of 45 MPH or more.

3.	No person may hunt over bait material for bear without 
possessing a valid, unused Class A bear license and carcass 
tag.

4. 	No person may place bait material for non-hunting purposes.
(Note: You may hunt over material deposited by natural vegetation or 
found solely as a result of normal agricultural practices.)
5. No person may hunt or train dogs over a bait site that is in violation 
of these regulations unless the area is completely free of bait material 
at least 10 consecutive days prior to hunting, pursuing animals or dog 
training.
(Note: Removal of unlawfully placed bait or feed material does not 
preclude the issuance of a citation for the original placement of the 
unlawful baiting or feeding material.)
Tagging
•	 Immediately upon killing a bear, validate the carcass tag by writing 

the date and time of kill on the tag. 
• 	 NEW: You may not leave the bear carcass unless the validated 

carcass tag is attached to it. In other words, you attach the tag as 
soon as you leave the carcass. Attach the tag with string or other 
fastener as in the past. If you leave it, tag it.

• 	 NEW: Carcass tags must be kept intact and legible; consider 
protecting them inside a zip-top plastic bag.

• 	 NEW: No person may possess or transport a bear carcass unless 
also in possession of the validated carcass tag.

• 	 NEW: No person may possess, while afield, a validated bear 
carcass tag unless that person is also in possession of the legally 
killed bear corresponding to it.

•	  NEW: No person may possess, while hunting or afield, more 
than one unique carcass tag; nor possess, borrow or loan another’s 
license, permit or tag.

• 	 If a backup shooter kills a bear that was shot, but not killed, by 
the Class A bear license holder, it is still the Class A bear license 
holder’s responsibility to validate that carcass tag.

Field Dressing
•	 A bear may be divided into not more than 5 parts, not including the 

hide, only to facilitate removal from the field. The head and neck shall 
remain attached to one of the other parts of the animal, not including 
the hide. A person who divides the bear while afield:

-	  may not allow the bear to be stored or transported with any other 
bear that has been divided prior to registration;

-	 may not divide any bear in a manner that does not keep one part of 
the bear intact to allow it to be measured in a straight line from the 
tip of the nose to the base of the tail to determine it was an adult 
bear of 42 inches or greater;

-	 must remove all parts from the field except the entrails.

Blaze Clothing Requirement
Bear hunters afield during the 2-day youth gun deer hunt on 
Oct 8 and 9, 2016, must wear blaze orange or fluorescent pink.

Other Restrictions
It is illegal to:
•	 shoot or molest any bear in a den, hunt bear in any dump or 

sanitary landfill or kill a cub or any adult bear accompanied by 
a cub or cubs. An adult bear is defined as a bear 42 inches or 
greater in length, as measured in a straight line from the tip of 
nose to the base of the tail. 

Note: The area surrounding the Mondeaux Flowage Recreation Area is closed to all forms of bear hunting and 
dog training from April 1 to September 30. This area is bordered by the following roads: County D on the north, 
County E on the west, FR 102 on the south, and FR 104 and FR 106 on the east. For details, visit fs.usda.gov/
cnnf or call (715) 748-4875.

Black Bear Management Zones/Units Map
Hunters may only hunt in the zone indicated on their license. Bear Management Zone and Game 
Management Units that appear on this map are intended to help successful hunters register their bear.
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Baiting With Chocolate
Solid blocks of chocolate should not be used. Chocolate 
can be toxic or lethal to bears and other wildlife, especially 
cubs.

Hunters concerned with distinguishing a cub from an adult 
bear should consider laying a 42” log next to their bait to 
assist in determining the size of a bear. If you’re not sure, 
don’t shoot!
•sell, buy, trade, or barter bear hides unless the claws, head, 
and teeth are attached. Bear claws and teeth may not be sold, 
purchased, traded, or bartered when separated from the hide. 
The sale of other bear parts is also prohibited.
Transport
While afield, no person may possess or transport another 
hunter’s bear, even after it has been registered, unless 
accompanied by the person issued the carcass tag which is 
attached to the bear, except that anyone may still transport 
another person’s registered bear on a public road or possess it 
at a residence, home, camp or business.
Dog Training and Use
Dogs may be trained statewide by pursuing bear from July 1 
through Aug. 31. It is legal to train dogs in Zones A, B, and D 
during the season when hunting bear with aid of dogs is open. 
While hunting bear, or training dogs to pursue bear during the 
open season for hunting bear, it is illegal to:
•	 hunt or train dogs to pursue bear before or after established 

hunting hours;
•	 hunt bear with dogs in Zone C;
•	 train dogs by pursuing bear except during times stated above;
•	 hunt or train dogs unless one person in the group has on their 

person rabies tags and dog license tags for each dog;
•	 hunt, train dogs, or pursue bear with a dog that is not tattooed 

or wearing a collar displaying the owner’s name and address;
 • 	hunt, train dogs or pursue bear with more than 6 dogs in a 

single pack, regardless of the number of bear hunters or the 
dog’s ownership;

Note: dogs that fall out of the chase may be replaced, but no 
more than 6 dogs may be used to pursue bear.
•	 allow the dogs to kill any wild animal; 
•	  hunt or pursue any free-roaming wild animal with the aid 

of any dog, May 1 to June 30 north of the highways shown 
on the map below, except for approved dog trials and 
training on free-roaming rabbits or raccoons under a hound 
dog trial or training license.


