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Trespass Authority to Conservation Wardens

At present, Wisconsin trespass laws can only issue a standard fine when game and plants are
being harvested while trespassing. As long as the trespasser is otherwise legal with license,
dates, and time of seasons, they are allowed to keep many, if not all of the items they
harvested.

When this occurs on a trespass complaint, the County Officer responding to the complaint
would call a Conservation Warden to investigate. The Conservation Warden then would have
authority to issue fines, revocation of license for up to 3 years, seize any items taken while
trespassing in addition to the County Officers citation.

Be it resolved That the Conservation Congress at its annual meeting held in Sauk County on
April 14, 2014 recommends that the Conservation Congress work with the Department to take
action to correct this situation by giving authority to Wisconsin DNR Conservation Wardens to
investigate, issue citations, seize items taken, and revoke licenses for up to 3 years, when
trespassing occurs while the person was engaged in hunting, fishing, trapping, or other
activities the DNR regulates.
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